We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage in picteresque garden setting”
Review of L'Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Abri
Ranked #2 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in picteresque garden setting”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in the seperate cottage at L'Abri and it was a perfect place to base ourselves and explore the Banks Peninsula. Jane was very welcoming and communicative. Large kitchen and bathroom so self catering was a good option

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltreseder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
153
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I had the privilege of staying at L'Abri. It was wonderful. Unforgettable. The view is breathtaking, the accommodations are top-notch. Quality and elegance. The breakfast is amazing, everything done on time, especially the croissants, simply divine. Ms. Jane is an excellent host, very professional and hospitable. Ah! The Gardens, cats and chickens complement the peaceful atmosphere of the place. Note 1000 for L'Abri. Nivaldo and Gabriela. Florianópolis, Brazil.

Room Tip: Todas as suítes são divinas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivaldo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We could not fault this accommodation in any way. Everything was fantastic, from the room with the lovely extra attention to detail to the wonderful breakfasts and the hospitality and helpfulness that Jane provided. This was the last place we stayed after 3 weeks in NZ and it seemed that we had saved the best till last. I even had to take photos of our breakfast as not only did they taste fantastic but were a work of art.
Thank you Jane for being a wonderful host and for the hard work that you put in to make this such a memorable last few days for us, we will always have great memories of the time we spent with you.
Lin and Mike

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here when we first arrived in NZ. The garden cottage was lovely and Jane left great provisions for breakfast and lovely cookies too. It was clean, comfy and well equipped. We went up to the house to watch the sunset and the B&B rooms there looked great too. Jane couldn't have been more helpful, good views and delightful flowers in the gorgeous garden. A gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Jan is a wonderful host.
the rooms are very nice with grate view from the bed.
the breakfast is rice and good there is t.v and free WiFi
.it is close to Akaroa
very good place to stay in.highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeevZur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for just 1 night, but it was hard not to skip the downtown and just hang out in our cottage (we stayed in the stand-alone cottage instead of the house)!

Breakfast provisions were fantastic, and we brought dinner back from downtown and ate it in the garden. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseAshlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

good breakfast (we love eggs!), wonderful views, close to Akaroa, loved the home made cookies, good to have WIFI, TV. Jane looks after you very well. We were unlucky with the weather but still the vistas were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbrichau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.6 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
10.5 mi away
Annandale
Annandale
#8 of 24 in Akaroa
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abri

Property: L'Abri
Address: 7 Takamatua Bay Road | Rd1, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to expansive water views of beautiful Takamatua Bay, tranquil rolling hills, nature surrounds and charming gardens dotted with nut and fruit trees. Enjoy Jane's special welcome and hospitality and the pleasure of her delicious gourmet breakfast made from fresh produce mostly from L'Abri's own garden! Enjoy the modcons of the light-filled home and your beautifully appointed room and bathroom, or relax in the picturesque ambiance of the deck and let your cares drift away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing