We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home... but better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Abri
Ranked #2 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A home away from home... but better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I decided at the last minute to go to Akaroa for the weekend, and it just so happened L'abri was available. Swayed by the gorgeous views and the promise of a luscious breakfast and friendly cats, we booked a room rather than the cottage. Due to some glitch in the computer system, I received an email saying that "This is not a booking confirmation", but Jane herself called me to confirm that indeed she was expecting us. That was only but the first of few very thoughtful attentions that we were graced with.

We were greeted by my name written on the blackboard in the entrance (and later, Jane added my partner's name just to be fair), and we were soon escorted to our room. The property is very recent (3-4 years old) and beautifully planned to provide optimum views as well as maximum privacy in the rooms. I couldn't resist posting a picture to Facebook right away and making plenty of jealous friends in the process (3G works fine here, just like anywhere else). The view in the main living space is especially breathtaking, as the entire back wall is essentially a large window / patio door.

The room is beautifully decorated, luxurious and plush, with down comforters, ample pillows and electric blankets. With its double-glazed windows and wall heater, the room is plenty warm, but mindful of our comfort, Jane provided an additional heater just in case. In the room there is a kettle with tea and coffee, and amazing homemade buttery walnut cookies made by Jane from her own walnut trees. We spent the evening playing with Jane's two cats (who were fighting each other for our attention), and sitting around the fire talking until it was time to make our dinner reservation in town.

If you enjoy your privacy and want to save some money, you may be tempted to go for the cottage option, which comes with a continental breakfast. However, I strongly suggest you book a room, if only for the feast that will be bestowed upon you the following morning. Besides, I truly think it is a profitable option, as you will be so full you will not need a lunch later on! We started with a glass of orange juice and tea / coffee, a warm croissant, and yogurt, fruit salad and Jane's homemade muesli and tamarillo preserves. I am not usually a muesli person, but the irresistible toasted almonds and coconut had me reaching for seconds. Then, we each had a delicious egg breakfast, chosen from a gut-wrenching choice of 5 delicious-sounding options, and lovingly made with Jane's own free-range eggs. We even got to see the hens themselves later to thank them in person.

All in all, we had an impeccable treat of a weekend, and most of all we were delighted to get better acquainted with Jane, an extremely attentive host and very resourceful woman. We would highly recommend L'abri B&B and would definitely come stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bich-Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
150
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

As mentioned above, this was my wife and my first experience in a BnB and we couldn't have asked for more. From when we first arrived, Jane was an exceptional host.

The accommodation was beautifully presented with stunning views of the harbour and her well landscaped section, which included her free range hens. The room was well set out with it's own bathroom, couch and tv, the bed was super comfy and it was spotless.

Probably one of the highlights for us was the breakfast. pretty much everything was home made and was delicious.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend L'Abri, probably one of our most memorable nights accommodation.

Regards Anna and Neil

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fullonkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Upon reading the preview of the guest in the cottage , I was a little apprehensive about our impending stay . We loved the cottage and stayed another night . It was excellent value at $150. The decor of the room was delightful , lovely bedding , very very clean , and comfortable.
There were homemade biscuits in the room plus a comprehensive breakfast . Jane the hostess made us very welcome and was able to suggest places to visit and restaurants worth a try . We loved the Little Bistro in Akaroa.
Well, I must be on a different planet from the previous guest - their comments were rather strange compared to the reality which we experienced . Thank you Jane for a delightful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazza708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The cottage looks like horse barn from outside, and no WIFI signal in the cottage! The heater isn't warm enough for deep autumn 7 dc. The cooking facility is poor, the most useful tools are not working at all!! The hot water went out when I was bathing in a bathroom that without heater!! Not to mention there is no fresh breakfast!! All we have is bad fruits in the refrigerator, some bread and yoga also in the refrigerator!! Nothing fresh at all!! Soooooooo bad feeling for such expensive price!!!!

Room Tip: Not to choose the cottage if you must live in L'abri!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clover C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takamatua, Owner at L'Abri, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
As the manager/ owner of L'abri I would like to express my deep dissappointment of this review. The reasons being that most points written are completely incorrect. The cottage is small but very well appointed and very warm with ample hot water. A few days prior to the visit by these guests I had just finished painting the inside, replacing all cooking equipment with new, including an induction hotplate, electric fry pan, fridge/freezer and microwave. Also newly purchased were a beautiful bed comforter, cushions, bar stools and board games. The whole of the inside had been scrubbed within an inch of it's life, getting prepared for the new season.
A continental breakfast is stated as being provided for in the cottage. This is prepared with love and is always very fresh, but it is European, Eggs were given as an extra but not touched. Also I placed specialty chinese tea in the cottage especially for these guests. No, the cottage does not have wifi at this stage but I invited the guests to the main house so they could deal with all emails. They refused this invitation. This review has already affected my future business as future guests have cancelled their bookings. For a person who works so very hard for everything to be the very best I can deliver at this beautiful location it is deeply dissappointing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing stay at L'abri. Our room was beautiful with a great view over the Akaroa inlet. L'abri is about 5 minutes drive from Akaroa township and set in a beautiful garden. Our room was very clean and warm (we stayed in early June), as well as tea and coffee there were home-made biscuits and chocolates in our room. Jane is a wonderful host and prepares a delicious breakfast in the morning, including home made muesli, fresh croissants, fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to explore Akaroa.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms off the main house. It was very peaceful and got lots of afternoon su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Loved every minute of our all too short stay at L'abri. Jane was most welcoming and provided excellent information about Akaroa. Views from the bedroom were stunning. The only one tiny downside was that guests could not change the TV channels. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glendajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

In early February, my wife and I [both recently retired] drove from Christchurch, NZ to Akaroa, NZ. It’s a pleasant enough drive the first two-thirds of the trip to Little River—where you should stop for a snack or a meal at the phenomenal Little River Café and Store. But once we were about two or three miles outside of Little River and took the scenic or tourist route [Summit Road], the views became spectacular. And as we came over the mountains we had a stunning vision of Akaroa and the Akaroa Harbor [well, Harbour there]. What a phenomenal drive. L’Abri is up a beautiful driveway off a side road to the bay off the main highway. It’s not difficult to find at all. When you first see the house you know this is going to be good. The house is obviously fairly new [actually just a few years old] and designed with considerable thought. From the driveway [passing a few clucking chicken hens], you pass through a breezeway into a very nice courtyard. The outside entrance to our room was right off the courtyard, and a spectacular room it was. Not huge, but immaculate with a wonderful bathroom, well decorated, and with large glass sliding doors that opened to the yard and a view of Akaroa Harbor. And this harbor is simply stunning!
From the room you can enter the large living, dining, kitchen area—all of which is fronted by glass windows and doors with a sitting porch. From here, you look out over the harbor or off to the mountains you just drove through, around, and over. We were simply stunned with the views, and we spent hours sitting on the porch just gaping at the scenery. That evening, after a nice dinner in quaint little Akaroa, we shared a bottle [or two] of wine with our hostess and one of her friends. What a delightful evening, and we learned so much about New Zealand. Next morning’s breakfast was terrific, absolutely terrific.
In sum, this was probably one of the two best B & Bs we have ever been in. Spectacular drive to Akaroa, stunning surroundings, beautiful room, wonderful hostess, and luscious breakfast; what more could one say—except that we wished we stayed much longer than one night. We heartily recommend a trip to and a stay at the L’Abri Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abri

Property: L'Abri
Address: 7 Takamatua Bay Road | RD1, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to expansive water views of beautiful Takamatua Bay, tranquil rolling hills, nature surrounds and charming gardens dotted with nut and fruit trees. Enjoy Jane's special welcome and hospitality and the pleasure of her delicious gourmet breakfast made from fresh produce mostly from L'Abri's own garden! Enjoy the modcons of the light-filled home and your beautifully appointed room and bathroom, or relax in the picturesque ambiance of the deck and let your cares drift away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing