We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing stay!”
Review of L'Abri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Abri
Ranked #2 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing stay!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Sorry Jane for the late review. It has definitely been a long time coming.

Our stay at L'Abri didn't start off in a great way, due to us putting our faith in the Navman which took us the (very) long way around through Little Akaloa, up long, steep, winding, sheer cliff face roads. Scary stuff!

Once we arrived at L'Abri however, our nerves were instantly calmed, and we felt extremely relaxed. Jane is so lovely and welcoming. First thing Jane did was show us to our room and then offer us a glass of red to calm the nerves, which we gladly accepted.

The room is stunning. Both rooms are stunning. Very clean, spacious, and with the most amazing views of the bay! It was almost like being in paradise. After we'd settled in and unpacked a few things, we decided to wonder on out and explore the surrounds of the property. The house itself is beautiful, and is designed to take in the amazing views of the bay. The lounge/kitchen has uninterrupted views from the floor to ceiling glass sliding doors! Why would you want to leave? Unfortunately, we were a little hungry so we thought we'd go and explore the town and get something to eat. Jane gave us some great suggestions, however due to the time of the year, a lot of places were closed. No biggie.

Anyway, after we'd arrived back, a nice relaxing bath with a glass of red hit the spot, and then off to sleep in the most comfortable bed!

We woke up to a delicious breakfast (see photos). Everything was local or from the property. Free range eggs from the chooks, herbs from the garden, fruit, pastries, toast, etc. What a way to start the day and filling enough to not need to have lunch... or perhaps just a light one, but I digress.

We stayed at L'Abri for 2 nights, which was not long enough. We can't wait to return and next time stay for longer. Thanks Jane for making our stay so special and relaxing!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic with the most amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
153
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed just the one night, and Jane made us very welcome in her lovely home, which by the way is a well considered contemporary design with a beautiful view from both the living room and bedroom. Now I'm not much of a Muesli fan, but, the home made muesli had to be tried, and it was delicious! If you are wondering where to stay around Akaroa, I would recommend staying here..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Host:
Jane is a lovely host, a enthusiastic gardener and a highly gifted cook. She makes us feel like home. Her recommendations were helpful and we enjoyed our stay from the beginning.

House:
The B&B is located on top of a hillock with a great view on the bay and with a beautiful garden. The room was lovely decorated and very cozy. We had our own deck and the bathroom was very modern and convenient.

Breakfast:
The host prepared us a beautiful breakfast with self-made muesli, delicious self-made jam, fresh croissants , fresh fruits, toast, eggs (from her own free range hens) in different styles. So a good start for the day was ensured.

Location:
By car it is a short drive to Akaroa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just imagine that you are sitting amongst floral abundance, mountains behind, azure bay to the fore sipping Champagne, savouring local cold oak smoked salmon with diced freshly laid eggs sprinkled with herbs picked from the veggie patch. This is a reality at L'Abri.
Owner Jane has created this little paradise for her guests. We stayed in the beautifully presented self contained cottage for two nights whilst exploring the Akaroa area, and enjoyed exceptional food at " Little Bistro" both nights.
We can't wait to go back to L'Abri for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed there during our honeymoon for the first night of our trip in nz, setting a very high standard for all other b&bs. Breakfast is awesome and ended up the best in our trip, even the muesli is homemade. Tastes and presentation are both amazing, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceChak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

An excellent romantic getaway. We are here on our honeymoon. The host, Jane, was excellent, very professional, beautiful breakfasts and gorgeous location. We woke each morning to a beautiful view over the bay, all of the fruit veg and eggs are organic and homegrown.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Both rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just loved the little cottage which Jane presents so beautifully. What a lovely host she is. Whilst Akaroa was less than 5 minutes over the hill we looked forward to getting back to the relaxing and quiet settlement of Takamatua & L'Abri. Fantastic waking up to sound of the birds, roosters & cows! No doubt about it, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaroa
24.2 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.6 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abri

Property: L'Abri
Address: 7 Takamatua Bay Road | Rd1, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to expansive water views of beautiful Takamatua Bay, tranquil rolling hills, nature surrounds and charming gardens dotted with nut and fruit trees. Enjoy Jane's special welcome and hospitality and the pleasure of her delicious gourmet breakfast made from fresh produce mostly from L'Abri's own garden! Enjoy the modcons of the light-filled home and your beautifully appointed room and bathroom, or relax in the picturesque ambiance of the deck and let your cares drift away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing