We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly peaceful, and romantic get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredibly peaceful, and romantic get away”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Outstanding!! Perfect get away to relax and be spolit. We loved the outdoor bath and shower, the wood-pigeons, stream and the relaxing setting in the native bush. Katherine (owner) goes the extra mile with beautiful touches to the hut but provides yummy macaroons, and free-range eggs and bacon. Personally i'd like to keep it a secret because it is PERFECT xx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband never forgot mentioning the one night stay in Coombe farm and the best host Hugh when talking about our New Zealand honeymoon. It was the first night of our trip and so impressed that I was afraid of being not excited at all of B&B in rest of the trip. The farm is only 7~8 minutes drive from the main road of Akaroa with 1 minute on unsealed road. The B&B is at the end of a woody road and far from other residencies. Very peaceful environment and surrounded by trees and flowers. The decorate inside is just perfect in every details for honeymoon stay, romantic, stylish, warm and with fresh flowers of the day. Hugh is very humble and so friendly showing us around, helping us with the luggage, introducing each plant and dogs in the back yard and recommending the best place for dinner in town. We had a perfect morning with a well prepared continental breakfast made by Hugh. We felt just like home and believed it was the best place to start our trip. Thank you Hugh and Katherine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cainfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We enjoyed the lovely place and great hospitality of Katherine and her husband - with fantastic service, great view and nice stroll through their garden. As we came in the right time we also whitnessed the sheep-shearing on the farm - and look forward to coming again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoernrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We found our host's to be 10 out of 10.
Fabulous breakfast lovely rooms and beautiful garden , we found it very restful and Hugh drove us to Dinner in Akaroa and picked us up later in the evening , we were most impressed.

Great place
Bob & Lyn

Room Tip: We had a room with an ensuite the other room had a lovely bathroom down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This beautiful farm is less than 10 minutes drive from Akaroa. Very peaceful setting. I stayed in one of two bedrooms upstairs in the main building. Beautiful views into the valley from your bed. Very nicely decorated. Kathrine will serve you a full kiwi breakfast in her private kitchen. Breakfast includes musli and yogurt, a range of berries, fresh bread, eggs of choice, bacon etc. Very nice living rooms, with TV and movie surround system. Plenty of DVD's and books. Very nice deck with chairs and a beautiful garden. 20 min walk to a beautiful waterfall on the property. Very kind and generous hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed in the Shepherds Hut for only two nights and wished we could have stayed for much longer. It was in an Idyllic setting with beautiful views of the rolling hills with a babbling brook just by our balcony which made it an lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of fantastic New Zealand wine after a day's touring.

At first we weren't too sure about having a shower or bath in the 'outside' bathroom but it turned out to be great fun so completely private and being able to overlook the countryside and hear the lovely birdlife made it a unique experience. We were kept amused by the antics of the farm dogs and one in particular who was determined to show us his skills in rounding up the chickens!

We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_fournel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My family (Parents, brother, husband and a one year old toddler) spent just one night here but we love the whole feel of the place. Kathrine and Hugh are wonderful hosts, really friendly and genuinely nice couple. The place is really lovely too, with little details around the house. We would have loved to stay longer and explore the place a little more but we had a flight to catch in Christchurch the next day. Would definitely be coming back here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiramisuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
2.1 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing