We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, rustic and peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved staying here last year. We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut and it was a wonderful, unique experience. The hut is rustic, secluded and peaceful but wonderfully comfortable. It was lovely to be able to cook and eat local salmon on the BBQ on the deck, followed by an outdoor bath under the stars. The ingredients supplied for (a self cooked) breakfast were delicious, varied and plentiful. It was hard to leave. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EdwinaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 144 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've just stayed for two nights at Coombe Farm - our third stay! Quite simply, it is our favourite place. There are very few B&B's I could return to again and again but Kathrine and Hugh manage to get everything right, apparently effortlessly. There is plenty to do and plenty of interesting books and magazines.
We love "our" room, the beautiful house, the amazing garden, the wonderful breakfasts and, above all,
the opportunity to catch up with Kathrine and Hugh. They are such interesting company and great hosts.
We hope to enjoy many more stays at Coombe Farm.

Room Tip: We love the room with the ensuite shower room but the other bedroom now has a private bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been amazed with the quality of B&B s in NZ. I doubt however if Coombe Farm has an equal anywhere. Katherine looks after the guests while Hugh looks after the sheep and cows as his father did before him. Katherine has renovated the farmhouse transforming it into a perfect B&B which fortunately survived the earthquake.
Our large room was furnished with great taste and overlooked the valley with the waters of the bay visible in the distance. Breakfasts were taken at a large table in the kitchen and were first class...never had quince before!
We went on a walk up the valley to a waterfall without leaving their land. The small town of Akaroa lies on abay some 4 km away and has a number of good restaurants and even a small cinema.
We will be saving up to come back!

Room Tip: Our room had an en suite shower room but the other room has sole use (i think) of a very nice bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Coombe Farm was the last stop on our seven week tour of New Zealand and probably the best. The atmosphere was very relaxing and breakfasts excellent. A beautiful farmhouse and very attentive hosts Kathrine and Hugh. We enjoyed the private walk up the valley, through the sheep, to the waterfall. All recommended restaurants were excellent. We also highly recomment the wildlife sailing cruise from Akaroa, with Hectors dolphins swimming on our bow wave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEWatt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Out of the many highlights my girlfriend and I experienced while travelling through the beautiful country of New Zealand, the Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast and Akaroa as a whole rate very highly and I can only recommend a stay there.

Katherine and Hugh are excellent hosts and the house is so lovely displaying great artwork and an impressive book collection. Breakfast was very delicious, the company delightful and the view in front of the house is breathtaking.

We genuinely couldn't have asked for any more and I can only echo the good and kind words of my fellow travellers, who already complimented Katherine and Hugh for this outstanding B&B and their friendliness.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Shepherd's Hut- external walls peeling paint, just one room, an outhouse and a garden of chooks -really just a timber shed with a balcony perhaps not for everyone but we fell in love with it. Could be a writer's retreat, a romantic getaway, solitude with comfort! Eclectically decorated - red poppies and crisp white lace linen with grandpa chairs strewn with handiworked cushions, comfy timber chairs on the deck and a rocky stream moving at a meandering pace just beyond the decking. Somewhere to ramble. No TV, internet, no one able to reply to my travelsim messages but a large library of books so... glass of wine (NZ Sav Blanc) in hand and a Janet Frame book of short stories, gourmet chicken and tarragon sausages sizzling on the BBQ. A hot bath late at night on the verandah (yes, an open air bath is in the OPEN) the surroundings so silent, stars bright.. Relaxed. I am content.

Room Tip: Something a little different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosebudsAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the first time I've written a review on Trip Advisor.....and having read all the reviews what more can I say except I agree with everyone and everthing they've said! I was travelling with a girlfriend who was visiting from Wales and I was keen she experienced a night at a 'farmstay' - I struck gold with Coombe Farm. Thank you for living up to every expectation one could hope for in a Kiwi Farmstay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 958Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Gullies B&B
Twin Gullies B&B
#6 of 25 in Akaroa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 25 in Akaroa
240 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 25 in Akaroa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: $150 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing