We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shepherd's Hut”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Shepherd's Hut- external walls peeling paint, just one room, an outhouse and a garden of chooks -really just a timber shed with a balcony perhaps not for everyone but we fell in love with it. Could be a writer's retreat, a romantic getaway, solitude with comfort! Eclectically decorated - red poppies and crisp white lace linen with grandpa chairs strewn with handiworked cushions, comfy timber chairs on the deck and a rocky stream moving at a meandering pace just beyond the decking. Somewhere to ramble. No TV, internet, no one able to reply to my travelsim messages but a large library of books so... glass of wine (NZ Sav Blanc) in hand and a Janet Frame book of short stories, gourmet chicken and tarragon sausages sizzling on the BBQ. A hot bath late at night on the verandah (yes, an open air bath is in the OPEN) the surroundings so silent, stars bright.. Relaxed. I am content.

Room Tip: Something a little different
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosebudsAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the first time I've written a review on Trip Advisor.....and having read all the reviews what more can I say except I agree with everyone and everthing they've said! I was travelling with a girlfriend who was visiting from Wales and I was keen she experienced a night at a 'farmstay' - I struck gold with Coombe Farm. Thank you for living up to every expectation one could hope for in a Kiwi Farmstay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 958Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lovely house in a country setting a short drive from Akaroa. We stayed in the ensuite room, which was beautiful and comfortable, with a huge king bed, comfortable armchairs, and a cute bathroom. The owners are lovely and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a lovely home, beautifully decorated and Kathrine's garden is delightful. We enjoyed our stay here away from the bustle of Akaroa. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We enjoyed chatting to Kathrine and Hugh, who are very good hosts, and meeting the dogs!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here as a Valentines getaway with my boyfriend and it was so much better than i ever could have imagined. The location and hut are very beautiful. It was the perfect most romantic place to stay at. We will definitely go back again !

Room Tip: The Shepherds Hut, you will never regret it !
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Coombe Farm in late January 2013 for three nights. We wished we had been able to stay longer. Of all the places we stayed in NZ, this was by far our favorite. We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut, which was absolutely magical. Katharine and Hugh have created a private oasis for their guests. The "hut" has everything you could want: a romantic outdoor shower and tub, a gas barbecue where you cook your own bacon and eggs in the morning (ingredients provided by your hosts) and where you can prepare dinners in the evening, a private deck overlooking a babbling brook and trees, novels by eminent NZ writers and books about the history of NZ and Akaroa, crisp cotton sheets, feather pillows, comfy chairs, etc. This is also a great place for birders: I saw flocks of silvereyes, bellbirds, and grey warblers from the deck, along with a few forest pigeons. There are many thoughtful extras: fresh macaroons, dark chocolate, olive oil for cooking, fresh flowers. At the main house, Katharine's gardens are extraordinary. There's also a nice 20-minute walk that you can take to a small waterfall on the property.

Akaroa is a seven minute drive from the farm. We fell in love with the town. If you like good food, you have to eat at the Little Bistro. We ate there twice in three days. A splurge, but worth every penny. There is an excellent butcher as well as a general store with organic food and coffee. We went swimming with dolphins (Black Cat cruises), which was a lot of fun, and went for a great hike in the hills above town (we combined the north and south woodland hills tracks, which took us about 3 hours if memory serves).

Downsides? There aren't many. If you want to be within walking distance of Akaroa, this is not your place. Also, the outdoor shower and bath could lose its charm in cold weather. The bathroom is connected to the hut but you need to walk outdoors to reach it and it's not covered, so if it's raining you'd get wet. We didn't have any rain so this wasn't a problem for us.

We really hope that Katharine and Hugh continue to run their B&B, because we hope to return in a year or so.

Room Tip: We loved the shepherd's hut.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank proseccolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dear Reader,

My partner and I have just left Coombe Farm after a month of staying in b and b's throughout NZ. This is quite simply a cut above the rest. We stayed in the King bedroom. This is how it is.

- Best breakfast we had of all the b and b's by a country mile. Cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt, Eggs of your choice, Bacon, toast, juices. 3 course meal. If you are watching your weight, it might be in your interest to avoid this mecca of culinary wonderment.

- Brilliant location. 5 Minute drive to Akaroa town centre. Set on a 1500 acre farm. Beautiful, picturesque location. The house itself is done up beautifully. Lovely mix of luxury and traditional. Heated mirrors in the bathrooms- nice touch.

- Rooms- luxurious, comfy.

Hosts- I really enjoyed Kathryn and Hugh. Hugh is a humble guy,handy man. Kathryn is a great host, friendly, honest, easy-going. We even enjoyed the company of Stuart, Kathryn's brother who was travelling around himself- nice chap.

This place, as I advised Kathryn, is grossly under-priced. Prices of 145 and 165 do not correspond to the quality of this place and the service afforded.

Cannot rate it higher. We stayed 3 nights, then left for another b and b and within minutes of viewing this more expensive accommodation, we returned with great alacrity to Coombe. Different level, standard, experience.

If we return to NZ, which is doubtful, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: $150 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing