We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Incomparable Coombe Farm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Incomparable Coombe Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dear Reader,

My partner and I have just left Coombe Farm after a month of staying in b and b's throughout NZ. This is quite simply a cut above the rest. We stayed in the King bedroom. This is how it is.

- Best breakfast we had of all the b and b's by a country mile. Cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt, Eggs of your choice, Bacon, toast, juices. 3 course meal. If you are watching your weight, it might be in your interest to avoid this mecca of culinary wonderment.

- Brilliant location. 5 Minute drive to Akaroa town centre. Set on a 1500 acre farm. Beautiful, picturesque location. The house itself is done up beautifully. Lovely mix of luxury and traditional. Heated mirrors in the bathrooms- nice touch.

- Rooms- luxurious, comfy.

Hosts- I really enjoyed Kathryn and Hugh. Hugh is a humble guy,handy man. Kathryn is a great host, friendly, honest, easy-going. We even enjoyed the company of Stuart, Kathryn's brother who was travelling around himself- nice chap.

This place, as I advised Kathryn, is grossly under-priced. Prices of 145 and 165 do not correspond to the quality of this place and the service afforded.

Cannot rate it higher. We stayed 3 nights, then left for another b and b and within minutes of viewing this more expensive accommodation, we returned with great alacrity to Coombe. Different level, standard, experience.

If we return to NZ, which is doubtful, I would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our last port of call in New Zealand and it proved to be the best for us. Having said this, I must admit the other accommodation we stayed in, were also of a high standard. So what sets this apart from the others? First of all the location: Akaroa is breathtakingly beautiful. Furthermore the location of the farm is splendid, just a few kilometers outside of Akarao. We stayed in the Shepherd Hut, situated at the courtyard of the farm. The interior is wonderful with lots of nice details. We loved the immense porch with its outside bath. When we arrived the fridge was fully stocked for our three day stay and we liked the home made biscuits. The hosts thought of every single detail in the hut. Besides this we liked the quietness of the place, the sound of the river beneath the porch and the soothing sounds of the farm. Also the hosts shouldn't be forgotten: very friendly and helpful. I am already looking forward to our next stay in this truly amazing place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For my husband and me, this place was magical. Like most of the people who stay in the Shepherds' Hut, we were charmed by the outdoor bath, shower and sink and we started trying to figure out a way to add one in our own home (the rooms in the main house are less rustic). We were lucky enough to be at Coombe Farm on the day the hosts were bringing in the sheep for shearing, and they let us ride up with them for easier photographs of the well-trained dogs working with Hugh and his neighbor guide the sheep into the paddocks. Watching that--and staying at such a tranquil and delightful place--was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand.

Room Tip: The Shepherds' Hut is really special--see above note about the outdoor bath. Rooms inside the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank durangotraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Kathrine and Hugh are great hosts. Their farmhouse is so beautifully renovated, the room is spacious and the garden with all the flowers is a wonderful place to relax. We could walk through the farmland and along the river to a 'private' waterfall. The breakfast was delicious. We felt like in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The location and the house are absolutely gorgeous. It's a bit of a drive but absolutely worth it! Akaroa is a lovely little town and the house is stunning... the farmhouse has been lovingly restored and its interior immaculately decorated. The hosts are extremely warm and made us feel at home during our short stay. Great food, great people, and beautiful setting! Stay an extra day, it's worth it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alfonso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the most amazing BnB I had ever stayed in, and was really a childhood dream come true. The farmhouse is beautifully renovated with all the modern amenities, and charming decor. We loved our room with a wonderful bed and fresh, soft linens.

The hosts are just wonderful. We had the most divine breakfast with farm fresh eggs, bacon, homemade yoghurt and marmalade that the hostess made for us in her very adorable kitchen. We got a tour of the grounds, which include beautiful English-inspired gardens, and a little bush in the back with a waterfall, and fallen-tree bridge.

The hosts also have a hut in the back that comes with its very own romantic outdoor bath, which I would love to stay in next time, it's very private and you can hear the babbling brook in the back.

We absolutely loved the Banks peninsula - it's absolutely magical, and no trip to NZ is complete without a visit here. With all the beautiful hilly green pastures, we really felt like we were visiting the Shire.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jqwu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Kathrine and Hugh are very genuine, informative and friendly hosts. It was a privilege to stay in their lovely farm house for 2 nights. The location was truly spectacular and the room was spacious, comfortable clean as well as being nice and quiet. Breakfasts were outstanding and generous in portion. We had a simply magical stay at Coombe Farm. Thank you both very much Kathrine and Hugh for a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing