We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect farm life experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect farm life experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

It was our first night on the south island and what a pleasant surprise! Catherine and Hugh have set a very high standard of hospitality that is hard to match. The farm is huge, sits on a 500 acre of land. The main house is nestled at the foothill, surrounded by a lovely garden. The picture at the website does not do justice to the beautiful surroundings.

At the back of the house, there is a farmyard where the dogs and hens run. Cathrine took the trouble to find and introduced her pet lamb Marshall to our daughter, and she was absolutely thrilled. The dogs are friendly too. Hugh and Catherine are friendly and we had long conversations of sheep price, farming life etc...

There was no WiFi, but they have a computer and internet connection that we can use for free.

The breakfast was the best we had so far in NZ, and they are always willing to offer more choices until we are completed filled. We took the two bedrooms on the first floor and they re spacious. The bathroom was renovated and clean. Cathrine introduced "Trader's Room" for our dinner, and it was fantastic too. We will certainly recommend Coombe to anyone wishing to visit Akaroa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacoPoloinBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2012

As frequent visitors to Akaroa we were delighted to find such a delightful B&B. Hugh and Katherine made us fell so welcome and relaxed. The house has been wonderfully restored and our bedroom was gorgeous. Breakfast served in the farmhouse kitchen was plentiful with lots of farm fresh produce. We loved Katherine's garden - its straight from 'House & Garden'! Akaroa is only a short drive and we got to sample a few of the many fine restaurants Akaroa has to offer. Thanks Hugh and Katherine - we will be back, but next time we want to stay in the Shepherds Hut!

Room Tip: Take Hugh up on the offer of a farm tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KStuart60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had wanted to visit Akaroa for a long time & it was our priority this trip down to South Island NZ.Coombe Farm's website present a dream of a place & it was everything it portrayed. Lovely gardens, well decorated home and very friendly and genuine hosts, Katherine & Hugh Fraser.

We felt like one of their family. We would love to see Hugh's farm & explore more of their property...this we'll definitely do when we next visit.

Thanks, Katherine & Hugh for the kind hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at the Coombe Farm for three nights. We had the ensuite bedroom in the house. Hugh and Katherine are naturals when it comes to running a B&B. They genuinely seem to be interested in their guests. Hugh is a thoughtful and well educated man with a seriously witty sense of humor. Katherine is just full of energy and good ideas. I really enjoyed getting to know them over tea or wine and cheese. I really think that the layout of their home is ideal because there are two living areas on the main floor, so that guests can enjoy TV or music in their own space. We were able to use the washing machine. Unfortunately, the computer was not functioning, so we had to go into town to use the Internet. The farm and gardens are beautifully kept. Breakfasts were served in the cozy kitchen and they were out of this world. Our hosts gave us good advice about what to see and do in Akaroa. I would love to return to this beautiful place and delightful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

There was only this one last night left before we had to catch our flight back home from Christchurch and we even had to drive a long way from Dunedin on that day. And yet, we decided to stay this last night at Coombe Farm. After looking at their website, we were sure that this would be the perfect place to end our so far wonderful three weeks of vacation. So our expectations were high. We left Dunedin as early as we could in the morning in order to get the most of our very short stay in Akaroa. This was clearly the right choice! Katherine and Hugh welcomed us warmly and we could immediately enjoy their exceptional hospitality and beautiful home. As we were lucky with the sunny weather, we could also enjoy their blooming garden and have some afternoon coffee on the porch. Originally we had planned to have Pizza for dinner, but the restaurant was fully booked. So we headed for the supermarket instead. Probably, this was even better, because we could have our dinner in Katherine and Hugh's garden and watch the sun go down! It is the details that make a wonderful stay - not only is their home tastefully furnished and decorated in every detail and their gardens so very lovely that they could easily appear in one of those home and garden magazines (maybe they have appeared in such a magazine already?! The pictures on their website look professional and already give an impression of how lovely their home is - they would deserve it!). But more importantly did we enjoy the nice chats that we had with Katherine and Hugh despite our lack of time. And the food was delecious: we enjoyed the delicious cookies in our bedroom and even more were we excited about the breakfast which Katherine prepared. This was easily one of the best breakfasts or maybe THE best breakfast during our whole 3 weeks of vacation. Probably the best muesli, yoghurts (even plain unsweetened one - you don't find that a lot in NZ), a bowl of fresh berries, delicious fruit preserves, croissants, toast, and a large cooked breakfast, too! I skipped the latter, because that would have been way too much. And to make this lazy Sunday morning even better: Katherine played Buena Vista Social Club... What a nice coincidence that this is one of my favorites. Unfortunately, we had to check out in a hurry to be in time for our harbour cruise and therefore, could not sign Katherine's guest book. We would have loved to stay longer and we would have loved to be shown around the farm. Next time. Thank you, Katherine and Hugh for your hospitality which allowed us to have a wonderful last night of our vacation!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bulafiji0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Kathrine and Hugh have created a haven for those wishing to enjoy peace, quiet and tranquility. Situated behind the main house at Coombe Farm, is the Shepherd's Hut - a beautiful, rustic hut overlooking the creek and offering gorgeous views of the surrounding hills. Having arrived after work, there was no difficulty in relaxing as we watched the sun retreat over the hill, prepared our evening meal on the BBQ and enjoyed the sound of nature whilst sat outside on the decking. The outside bath was a perfect end to the evening and a star gazer's delight.
The morning after, we made a delicious breakfast of sausages, bacon and eggs - all provided in the fridge - and enjoyed a lazy morning wandering around the beautiful and immaculately maintained gardens which were in full bloom. Heaven! Eventually we made our way to Akaroa - Coombe Farm is perfectly situated for those who want to be close to the harbor and indeed those who want to explore more of what the Banks Peninsula has to offer.
Although the Shepherd’s Hut is set apart from the main house, I have no doubt that the accommodation there is equally as wonderful. It is clear that Kathrine and Hugh are passionate about providing a service of the highest standard and their hospitality is unquestionable. Personal touches, such as the homegrown strawberries in the fridge as well as the homemade gingerbread and chocolate chip cookies, were certainly winners with my husband.
We enjoyed two days of complete self indulgence in the most stunning location and will, without a doubt, return. Wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CooperChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Kathrine and Hugh are considerate, interesting and generous hosts, proud of their beautiful home and farm. Comfortable, casual, and warm hospitality welcomed my husband and I for a two-night stay. Kitchen- cozy breakfasts, lit fireplaces, wine and cheese ensured our visit was enjoyable and relaxing. We highly enjoyed this special place of peace in the countryside , very close to Akaroa. It was also a bonus to spend an evening talking with the hosts and their friends about the impact of the past years earthquake activity.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
1.6 mi away
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
#11 of 24 in Akaroa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing