We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to end a wonderful holiday!”
Review of Fox II

Fox II
Ranked #6 of 23 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail with dolphins in the crater of an extinct volcano on New Zealand’s oldest gaffed rigged ketch, the Fox II. Relax and soak up the sun, sea and hills or take part as one of the crew. See Hector dolphins, New Zealand fur seals, blue and yellow-eyed penguins, albatross and other sea birds. You will be surrounded by giant volcanic sea cliffs, caves and rock formations along the journey. A guaranteed highlight of you trip, that you will remember for the rest of your life.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
cairns
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end a wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are so pleased we chose Fox ll to explore the harbour on. The skipper Roy and his crew were very knowledgable and a lot of fun. It was a small tour group and felt very personal and a lot ... romantic, seriously! The beautiful music set the mood.
The Dolphins danced all morning for us. We saw a lone penguin, lots of seals and birds.
While we were out in the open waters of the sea with the sails up, we sat quietly and watched the Albatross.
Very special, we loved it all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank goodtimesCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Texas
1 review
“Great adventure”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

While on a cruise we were lucky enough to have booked the Fox II for a sightseeing tour. We thought this was one of the best tours of many we took in New Zealand. We saw a lot of wildlife, some incredible scenery. The information from the captain was very informative and well presented. When we return to New Zealand we will do this tour again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“First Class-All the way!! Worth your time !!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Owner Roy and his crew are so friendly and personable in making this Harbor tour a highlight of the day in Akaroa!! On a beautiful day they made sure we saw the Hector Dolphins swimming all around the Fox II in the harbor. We also saw a number of Sea Lions resting on the rocks along the coast line, and sheep grazing HIGH up on the top of the slopes. Roy also took us right UP CLOSE to Cathedral cavern and past Elephant point. They even furnished jackets to those on the boat that could not handle the cool breeze off of the beautiful harbor water. Free tea was available for those that wanted it, and other drinks were available for a small fee. Being able to see the ancient Volcanic crater harbor from a restored sailing boat was an experience that few people can have. The small quaint village of Akaroa is quite a contrast to the busy cities of Wellington, Dunedin, Auckland, etc. and viewing the area in a 'laid back, up close' atmosphere is an experience you need to have. TAKE A RIDE ON THE FOX II

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Fox II at Akaroa”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A wonderful trip on the Fox Ii. Roy and his team did an excellent job to bring us to see the dophines, sea lions etc.. The weather on that day was beautiful and the crew is very helpful. I enjoyed the trip very much and would recommend anyone to experience the Fox II when you are in Akaroa.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank martintsang888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“FOXII at Akaroa”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First class all the way - should be rated #1 attraction in Akaroa. Wildlife was great, the crew was better - couldn't be happier with our experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox II also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fox II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing