We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in our tent. Great hilltop location with views across the harbour, to die for. The facilities are all well equipped and modern. The endless hot water shower was bliss. Outdoor BBQs and communal dining area made it easy to talk to others. The TV/lounge room is huge and was a welcome retreat from the sun. The pool was also lovely. Thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa-holidaypark, Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments as we try to provide the best possible service and facilities at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 523 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Thoroughly appreciated "T47" tent site even though we were exposed to three very strong wind events and the adjacent facilities were great. Of camping sites we have experienced, the instant, free hot water showers were most appreciated.
Our hosts were approachable, unobtrusive, and most obliging.
A great relaxing time and have booked forward for same time next year.
Thanks Holiday Park - YeOldeCampers

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa-holidaypark, Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nice location but tent sites were very small. Owners are new, I'm sure they will settle into the business by next year. Lovely bellbirds in the flax bushes in front of the tents. Facilities generally clean but BBQ did not work and was not fixed in the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa-holidaypark, Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We thank you for your comment. Unfortunately being in Akaroa it is sometimes very difficult to get workmen out to fix things promptly. We also had to locate the manufacturer of the bbq. We However we do have to bbq's and the second was working. It is now operating as normal and we apologise for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A beautiful Top Ten site: possibly the nicest we have stayed at in our motorhome. Very popular, and sites all quite close together, but the view is amazing and the site is very clean, very green and beautifully cared for. Only one facilities block that we could see, but there's a good open air swimming pool. The walk down into the outskirts of Akaroa is incredibly steep and a tough slog coming back up if you're not over fit, but not as difficult as you might think. No hesitation in recommending this lovely site.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa-holidaypark, Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We thank you for your comments. There is also a facilities block at the swimming pool providing toilets, showers, guest lounge and guest internet facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Banks Peninsula is often overlooked by travellers heading for the big name spots but is really well worth a visit. A giant volcanic crater surrounded by very steep hills has produced a stunning landscape. This campground is on the hill overlooking Akaroa. A well maintained and lit track from the camp gives an easy walk down of only a couple of minutes to the town (bit more challenging to walk back up though!). Campsites are generally quite small but they managed to find us a large one for a large tent. Plenty of nice clean toilets and showers, never seemed to be a queue even though showers were free, nice to not have to find 50c pieces and rush! Big kitchen with good facilities too. We enjoyed the sunsets from our campsite, kayaking in the harbour (didn't see the Hector's dolphins though) and the cute township with well kept historic buildings and gardens. Okains Bay was a good day trip, the high road has spectacular views and kayaking out of this bay to see the seal colony and the big sea caves nearby was well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robandnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa-holidaypark, Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We like to sincerely thank you for your positive comments. We endevour at all times to provide the best possible service and facilities and comments like yours make our efforts worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our first stop on our NZ tour in a motor home.We arrived from Christchurch on a beautiful sunny day. The drive from Christchurch, although a bit scary in places was absolutely great. The views over the mountains and in the bays were fantastic. We had pre-booked our site from the UK, having asked for a pitch with a view over the town and harbour. If you go, ask for one of these pitches as the views are fantastic, especially at sunset. The sites facilities are really good. The showers were very clean. The walk down to the town is about 500 metres. I hope you are reasonably fit, as the trek back up is not for the faint hearted, but do it, you only live once. The camp site staff were really friendly and helpful. All in all a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNA1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa-holidaypark, Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We thank you for your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in November and took one of the fully equipped chalets which we found to be comfortable and adequate. The view is great and we walked around the site and sat overlooking the town for quite a while. We are not campers by nature but we walked around the kitchen and shower facilities and they seemed fine to us. The site must be well liked by Caravan lovers as there appears to be a lot of permanently sited Caravans there. I found the Internet room useful and i borrowed books from the library for the evening. The Management were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trainman34014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa-holidaypark, Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#21 of 24 in Akaroa
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chez La Mer Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 96 Morgans Road, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $56 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star TOP 10 holiday park in a premier location above the village. Full park facilities, including self contained studio and one bedroom park motels, plus cabins. Children's playground, trampoline, swimming pool and paddling pool. All weather van sites and grass tent sites amongst shady trees. Great views of Akaroa harbour and village from most units and sites, on a quiet road yet only 300 meters from main street and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing