We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous view”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We arrived at the Akaroa Top 10 after a harrowing first day of driving on "the wrong side of the road", in our Britz campervan. The campground did not disappoint. The view over the city to the bay was spectacular. The communal facilities were clean and well equipped. You can walk to town, but it is rather steep walking back. The town is lively especially if a cruise ship is anchored off shore. This is a great first night destination after picking up a camper in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Ask for the first row of "powered" sites. They have the most spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    183
    58
    30
    7
See reviews for
132
232
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are now ending a 10 day motorhome trip in NZ. We started in Christchurch and spent the first night in Akaroa Holiday Park, where we arrived without daylight. The person attending us was not very helpful, I had the feeling I was disturbing. On the other side he charged us 85NZD for one powered camper site, which was by far the most expensive night of the whole trip. The best part was that he "allowed" us to leave the site at 11 AM of the next day. I now know I threw my money through the window that night. I wonder what they did to be part of the top ten....but price and kindness were definitely not considered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MauroFadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our unit may have been old but it recently been repainted, carpet had been cleaned that morning and kitchen well appointed and bathroom clean. Sitting on out on our own little veranda having a drink whilst looking out to the Harbor....magic. The staff, not sure if they're are owners or managers.. either way absolutely brilliant staff and very helpful. Just sad it was only a two night stay...can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Visited the Akaroa top 10 site in November, only had a powered site but had one with a view over the town. It's quite a drive from Christchurch into Akaroa, and the roads are very windy. When we arrived it was raining heavy, but I am not writing the review with that in mind. The site is very clean and staff are friendly. We went into the town, and it’s a pretty little place, but in all honesty I don’t think I would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in camper van site overlooking the town. Fantastic site for views with power and water. Amenities were clean with great hot showers. As men's amenities were being painted the boys had a hike uphill to other amenities in drizzly rain. TV lounge had Sky which was great for rugby fans. Walk into town was 500m downhill but is a steep return hike requiring a level of fitness. If intending to come back at night bring a torch or use flashlight on phone as not all lights on path were working.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The unit was very basic but kitchen area seperate which was good. Very cold and took a while to heat up but electric blankets helped and bed was comfy. Large flat screen tv for the dark evenings. Own deck area for sitting out if weather allows. Great view of the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the first night of our South Is. campervan tour.
Naturally, being our first night from Christchurch we hadn't any other holiday parks to compare it with so were really blown away by the views we got from our camper site. Right on the edge of the park overlooking the town of Akaroa and stunning harbour.
Being mid April there were not many other campers there and as we subsequently made a habit of arriving mid afternoon at all our destinations we got the pick of some good sites.

The girl in reception was lovely and friendly and let us choose our site. We backed in and lapped up the views while sitting in our camper having a drink.
We didn't eat down in the town as it was too expensive and pretentious, trying to be "French".

We cooked in the van and enjoyed the views at sunset...much nicer...and cheaper!

From memory all the amenities were fine but a bit old and in need of some maintenance but as we were self contained we only used the shower and toilet to save the camper.

There was, however, a very sharp ditch at the edge of the road which we had to drive over to our site and needed some 'infil' in the way of some old timber fortunately lying around to stop bottoming out.

The park is set high up a steep road but this is what commands a great view. There is a walk track down to the village from the park but it tests out your fitness coming back up. Instead, we parked our camper down in the town up a back street as they discourage campers in the main street area. Fair enough.

We thought the tariff of $44 per night was a little on the high side for a slightly off peak time but guess the views and the fact that it is the only park in town makes it a 'take it or leave it' place.
They charge (like most parks in NZ) for internet or WiFi and it's quite expensive. We had our own mobile Telecom broadband stick which served us well on the laptop.

Apart from that we enjoyed our stay and probably would come again but not by the sounds of it in peak holiday times.

Room Tip: check before you intend to arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westwanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 24 in Akaroa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 96 Morgans Road, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star TOP 10 holiday park in a premier location above the village. Full park facilities, including self contained studio and one bedroom park motels, plus cabins. Children's playground, trampoline, swimming pool and paddling pool. All weather van sites and grass tent sites amongst shady trees. Great views of Akaroa harbour and village from most units and sites, on a quiet road yet only 300 meters from main street and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing