We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week from 1st January, so it really was peak season, and the camping ground was full. This is our third visit here, we like this place mainly because it is much cheaper than the fancy hotels in the middle of town, and yet it is in a great location. If you picture Akaroa as a beautiful harbour surrounded by steep bush clad hills, then most of the accomodation is on the waterfront at ground level, so views from your room are limited, but Akaroa Holiday Park is a 15 minute walk up a steep path, so you get great views over the entire harbour. You can sit on your balcony and watch the cruise ships come and go. The only drawback is the walking path, it is very steep. It is safe, there are handrails and lights. It takes probably 10 minutes to walk down the path to town, but you need to allow a good 20 minutes to walk back up - it is hard work and will get you puffing.
We stayed in a standard cabin, quite small with double bed, 2 single bunks, a small table with 2 chairs, small TV and refrigerator. All pretty basic, and all you need in the Summer season, although you may want to upgrade to something better if staying in Winter. The shared kitchen and bathroom facilities were only 20 - 30 meters away, and were quite clean and modern. The showers always had plenty of hot water, and the kitchen had everything you need. There are also gas Barbeques on site, you need to buy a token from the office ( costs approx $1.00 per token, and this gives you gas for 15 - 20 minutes ). The Managers were happy to supply you with anything you need ( utensils, towels etc ). I brought my laptop because there is WiFi here, but I forgot to bring the power adaptor, but the manager lent me one of their own power adaptors for the week ( at no charge ). There is also a shared TV Lounge onsite which is quite good because it is on two levels, downstairs for kids, but upstairs has nice comfy sofas and it is adults only ( no kids ).
The swimming pool is good, but usually overrun by kids - if you want something more peaceful the main beach in the township is only 15 - 20 minutes walk and it is great, clean and safe swimming. We walked to this beach most days, but remember to put a beer in your fridge before you go, you will need it after the walk back up the hill. Alternatively you can walk another 5 - 10 minutes to the main bars / restaurants in the township.
We like Akaroa Holiday Park, it is certainly not 4 or 5 star, and it is a little on the crowded side, especially between Christmas and end January, so probably not suitable if you want a quiet peaceful stay at these times, but it is in a great location, everything you need is within a kilometer or two, and it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 456 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

stayed in 1 bed self contained unit. ok size for 1 night. we had 3 adults the bedroom had tiny window with bunks and no space for suitcases, the double bed was in the lounge. unit was ok really not space for luggage. the plus side is the views over the harbour, set up on the hill looking down over the water and rest of sight. steep walk to akaroa quick drive and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The kitchen was very good so a lot of people could cook at once. However, we did not know that we had to bring own own utensils - Lucky it was only a $5 charge for a box of kitxhen stuff. Pool wan't open, but we had a tv. Nice view overlooking the harbour. Bathrooms were clean. We went mid week so there was not that many people and was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carian_Johnbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a busy campground and the campervans are packed in so that any views are lost and you feel slightly claustrophobic. Despite it being gorgeous weather the swimming pool was not open and had obviously not yet been prepared for the season. The playground for the kids is great but strangely has been put behind a large hedge so that you can't actually see your kids so it doesn't feel very safe. The rubbish bins were not emptied during the 2 nights we stayed so were starting to overflow. There is sadly no other campground in Akaroa but it may be worth considering another site further out instead.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
Thank loveholidays52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lok w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucía G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa757, Public Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.6 mi away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 24 in Akaroa
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 96 Morgans Road, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $50 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star TOP 10 holiday park in a premier location above the village. Full park facilities, including self contained studio and one bedroom park motels, plus cabins. Children's playground, trampoline, swimming pool and paddling pool. All weather van sites and grass tent sites amongst shady trees. Great views of Akaroa harbour and village from most units and sites, on a quiet road yet only 300 meters from main street and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing