We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at Akaroa on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa on the Beach
Ranked #11 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Two nights at Akaroa on the Beach”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A location a fair walk from the town area but in a wonderful position. Unfortunately we found entering via the bedroom on the ground level rather disconcerting. Other guests in other apartments couldn't find their way to their apartment on arrival. No one to help, lives on site. Beds were comfortable. Kitchen was adequate. Two wine glasses and 8 champagne glasses - indicates a review of cutlery/crockery/glassware is needed. Our apartment had a couch which was broken and the owner came in with her handyman to show him while we were there - she did ask, but why wasn't it fixed before we arrived. Being an apartment where people would stay for several nights or more, there was not an iron or board, nor any where to wash clothes. Hand washing was done but had to be hung over outdoor furniture and as it was very windy that didn't last long. Awkward. Upstairs apartments would have more room, and better view if anyone considering this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere and just far enough out of town to provide perfect peace and quiet. Clean and very well equipped we stayed in the two person Beachside apartment. One night was not enough and we could have easily have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vetchick15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We are two couples and had booked the Seaview and Island rooms for four nights. We had a delightful space that suited us perfectly. A well equipped kitchen, lovely sitting room and dining area and a huge deck overlooking the lovely area that is the Banks Peninsula. This accommodation is a little way out of the centre of Akaroa, but we had a car so that didn't matter. Shopping for food in Akaroa is not too exciting, but the fish is good off the wharf each morning. So we cooked for ourselves for two nights. We were disappointed to find that although we had been told the BBQ was ready to go, it is in need of some serious repair. It was frankly bordering on dangerous.
We were able to wash clothes in our apartment, but there was no means to dry them except with a dryer. As we had lovely sunshine we would have appreciated at least a couple of clothes horses.
On the whole though, it was a lovely place to spend our last few days in South Island, NZ.

Room Tip: Seaview is the best room, although the Island room is fine when joined with the Seaview room. Not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My family complete with 6 mth old on her first trip enjoyed the comforts of Akaroa on the Beach this week. The penthouse, deck apartment and smaller apartment were so comfortable, easy to relax in and inviting that we all wished we were staying longer. The access, peace and quiet, bird song and views were fantastic and we all plan a return visit. thanks v m

Room Tip: All are very comfortable I loved the Sea View as I like to cook. BBQ s are on decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniex-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Akaroa on the Beach for New Years Eve as a part of our 17 day South Island trip. We stayed in the Island Room (at the back of the property on the 2nd floor), which has only a bedroom and ensuite (no TV or kitchen, though it did have a bar fridge).

The room was lovely - well furnished, clean and we even had a bit of a view of the water, which we weren't expecting. It was quiet being at the back of the house (except for the drunks staying in the Penthouse who arrived back at about 5am - but you get that with NYE).

We arrived early and the caretaker was just finishing up so let us in early - bonus! She was lovely and did a great job with cleaning and preparing the room for our arrival. Other guests hadn't arrived yet so she let us check out the other rooms and boy, they were amazing! Next time we will definitely stay in one of the apartments because the views are to die for. Having seen all of them, we agreed that the one on the 2nd floor was the best because it was more spacious and well-equipped. But, we were happy for our room for the night.

It isn't too far of a walk into town along the harbour. Stop at the lighthouse on the way for some pics. Good being away from the hustle and bustle because it is quieter, something to be appreciated on NYE.

It was a shame they didn't have a TV (it's perhaps the only thing missing - even a small one in the top corner would be good), but it meant we had a night of playing cards and spending time together.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at Akaroa on the Beach and will definitely be back if staying in town again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were lucky to be able to ring and book the studio apartment on the ground floor at 9pm for the same night and following night. The key was left in a code protected locked box outside the back door. The studio apartment was spacious with one bedroom, modern bathroom, decent sized kitchen and lounge room with glass doors opening onto a small terrace overlooking the bay. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is a car space and laundry upstairs with washer and dryer which we found very handy. There is a queen bed in the bedroom and the two couches in the lounge room turn into comfortable big single beds.

It was a 10 minute walk into the village along the foreshores of beautiful Akaroa where there a number of cafes and restaurants serving great food. I can definitely recommend Akaroa on the Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sydsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a delightful spacious building converted into three self contained units. We stayed in the Penthouse, with a view over the water,a spacious and very attractively decorated room, with oodles on storage/clothing space, a neat, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom (do like electric towel rails!) and virtually everything you could need for a stay in lovely Akaroa, including a guest laundry.

It is in walking distance to restaurants and activities in the main area of Akaroa, but it's about a 10 - 15 minute leisurely walk.

You will need to arrrange to collect the key (at the accommodation, you will get a code to enter a mail box).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.9 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa on the Beach

Property: Akaroa on the Beach
Address: 229 Beach Road, Akaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Akaroa on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Akaroa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing