We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B.G's "This was our favourite"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Reviewed February 23, 2014

During our 4 week tour of Australia and New Zealand South Island, we stayed in 15 different types of accommodation including hotels and private houses. We were lucky to be travelling with friends and family that enabled us to stay in some lovely, larger properties but Akaroa House was the icing on the cake. After the lads cooked a fab barbeque it was a perfect way to end the evening by sitting on the veranda having a glass of wine (or 2) over looking the bay.
Allison and Ross have obviously put a lot of effort into making this a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hello Colin - thanks for your review, and I am sure you had a really fun trip with your friends/family. Hope the UK winter wasn't too much of a shock after leaving NZ :) Kind Regards A :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

The trouble-and-strife's "milestone" birthday saw 9 of the extended family celebrating in beautiful Akaroa and veging out at Akaroa House. A tastefully restored and enlarged heritage home, Akaroa House offers spacious and luxurious accommodation while at once feeling "at home". Alison was an efficient yet unobtrusive host and overall our experience could not be faulted. A sad and reluctant good-bye after only 4 nights.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Alan - that was such a lovely idea for your wife's certain birthday - so special to get everyone together - so pleased the house worked well for you. Kind Regards - Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and i flew over from Sydney with our 6mth old, to meet up with my family in Chch. Akaroa house proved to be the perfect solution to an idyllic getaway for us all.
Alison was more than helpful in the lead up with sorting payment and offering up some local knowledge and tips to assist.
The house itself is nothing short of exquisite, and we found ourselves spending more time than intended soaking up the sun on the porch and simply lazing about under the majestic Norfolk pine which dominates the back yard.
When we did manage to draw ourselves away and venture into the Akaroa village, it was a brief 5-10 minute walk to all the cafe's and shops.
We're back home one week, and already planning our next trip over!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanstills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Such a lovely idea choosing somewhere independent so that even the local family get to be on holiday :) pleased the house worked out well for you all - and the little stroll to the cafes shops - means you can have a food or drink treat knowing you will wear it off (a little!) venturing up the hill!! Kind Regards a :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

After a 10 day South Island trip our party of 8 adults stayed at Akaroa House. We all agreed this to be our favourite accommodation out of several very good ones. Not only was it spacious, comfortable clean and very well equipped, it was stylishly furnished and with views to die for.
Our hosts Alison and Ross were very friendly and accommodating. Thankyou both for the privilege of staying in you home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello John - lovely to have you stay at Akaroa House and nice to meet you all, whilst we were next door. So pleased you loved the house and the views are always stunning :) Trust settling back to work hasn't been too onerous. Kind Regards A :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have stayed at this lovely home three times and it has never failed to delight. Very well equipped with a great kitchen and lots of dishes, serving ware, glasses the lot. The lovely large dining table and all fresco sitting areas lend themselves to entertaining and we always do at least one massive family feast. Everything is top quality, but not intimidatingly so, the slipper bath is a delight and the heat pumps, log burner and gas fire ensures every one is cozy whatever the weather. The rooms are good sizes and have lovely clean linen. Our English son considers this his NZ holiday home, and now wouldn't think of coming without a stopover at Akaroa House. Special place, special memories, lovely hosts, what more could you want?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rokeby481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for the endorsement of your return visits :) Akaroa house is very special for sharing with extended family for some quality time together. Until next time all the very best :) Kind Regards Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

What a fabulous house! A group of friends stayed there for 2 nights after completing the Banks Peninsular Track. The kitchen was to die for! Didn't want to leave the house to eat out so bought supplies from the local shops and cooked up a storm in the kitchen. Only complaint was we didn't have enough time there. Our stay at Akaroa House was the "icing on the cake" after 4 hard days of walking! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and Akaroa House would be a lovely treat after four days of walking the Banks Peninsula Track - well done. The house does provide great dining options - inside or out depending on the season. Kind regards Alison .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had an amazing time staying at Akaroa House - the house was perfect in many ways, and it facilitated a very successful coming together of two families. There were so many spaces for family to hang out, and everyone was very relaxed. We used the house as a reception venue for a small wedding, and it worked incredibly well. We feel very lucky to have been able to have that weekend, and by all accounts it will go down in family history as something special.

The owners of the house are very efficient, friendly and were responsive to our queries. Our family are thinking of doing the whole thing again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing Akaroa House to be part of your intimate wedding weekend - I am so pleased everything went well and the details sound gorgeous. Kind Regards to you both. Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.3 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $164 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Stunning sea views and sun aspect from every room. Set in peaceful landscaped grounds and easy stroll into the village. Offering peaceful Bed and Breakfast in two spacious well appointed rooms. The downstairs Garden room with views to the sea too offers a French Tub en-suite. Or the upstairs two bedrooms for two to four adult guests - share the private family bathroom. Please CONTACT US with your requirements - I'm not sure the calendar is up to date! Working on it. Thx Alison :) Both rooms offer private tea and coffee making facilities and own television. Guests can enjoy the inside living area or relax in the grounds or on the verandah - soaking in the restful view. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering up to three guest bedrooms for a maximum of six adult guests. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. Akaroa is best savoured - as many activities to enjoy at a slow Akaroa pace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing