We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a wonderful house for a group of friends or a couple of families. Beautifully appointed, incredibly well set up, lovely garden, lots of room. A short stroll down the hill into the village. Kitchen was very well set up with everything you need and lots of extra provisions. FAntastic

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaL274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you Victoria - lovely you could get down to Akaroa and spend time with your friends. The house is in a great spot - easy to get to everything but away from the main street hustle. Also very peaceful in it's own grounds - which are looking fabulous with the first season's roses in full bloom - they usually go right through until May!. Happy cooking with the recipes from Ant and Lou at the Akaroa Cooking School : ) Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently state at Akaroa House for a girls weekend. It's a glorious , well appointed house with a beautiful lawn overlooking the beautiful Akaroa harbour. Little details like a welcome basket and milk in the fridge was lovely. So close to everything too. Would highly recommend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyMilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello Penny - thank you for taking the time to review. Really appreciate it. So pleased you had a fun time with your friends. I reckon it's nice when you arrive if you can get straight into rest and relaxation mode and if there's no milk for that arrival cuppa it's a bit a hassle : ) have a lovely summer : ) kind regards Alison : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent location overlooking Akaroa, beautiful house, very relaxing. Would highly recommend for small groups or couples looking for a great weekend away. The provisions (coffee etc) were a nice extra touch

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Thomas - thanks so much for adding your review - so pleased the weekend went well - nice idea getting the guys together :) Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A wonderful place to stay for special family gatherings. The house exudes a warm, relaxed, family home atmosphere. The views from the rooms are stunning. We were able to walk down to the restaurants in the evening, so convenient to everything, no need to drive. Definitely a holiday we will remember for ever!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
So pleased your birthday weekend went well. Akaroa House is great for special family gatherings. Happy Summer :) - the garden is shooting away - even roses wanting to flower already. Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our stay at Akaroa House was one of the most fantastic experiences we have had for a long time. The house was just beautiful and so close to everything. All the bedrooms are beautifully designed and the kitchen was superb to cater for both our families. The scenery from the back porch, you wouldn't get better anywhere else in New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you Aaron for your lovely review. Akaroa House is a fabulous place to share special times with family and friends. So pleased you had a great time. Whatever the season/weather the house seems to provide a lovely break away. All the very best Alison : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is fabulous if you are staying with a group. There are ample rooms with bedding for couples (I think this may have changed since earlier reviews) and several bathrooms. The outlook from all rooms is lovely and the house commands a beautiful view over Akaroa and surrounds.

The house itself is also beautiful as well as functional with a large well-appointed kitchen and dining and a great lounge room with fireplace.

What sets this place apart is the added extras and personal touches. We were staying for a birthday and there was a nice hamper with wine, crackers, juice and chocolate and a personal note awaiting us. There is also free wifi and local calls and Sky TV. The laundry facilities are also good and the kitchen is well-stocked with basics so you don't need to buy things like oil, salt etc if you want to self-cater. The price is also good value if you are travelling as a group.

A short walk from town, this place made our stay in beautiful Akaroa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empyrerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and so pleased the birthday gathering went well. A lovely idea to get the family together, and Akaroa is such a divine spot for special occasions. To clarify - with advance notice we can accommodate up to four king beds (by merging a couple of singles in the twin room and triple room upstairs). then the fifth room is a small twin always :) All the best in the north island. Kind Regards, and thank you for choosing Akaroa House - Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I loved Akaroa and I think a large part of that was to do with this house. I stayed with my mother and sister for 3 nights which was a bit extravagant considering the size of the house but sometimes you need to have a bit of extravagance. I can imagine for groups and family gatherings Akaroa house would be perfect. The house is furnished beautifully with everything you could need. Loved loved loved the French tub. Waking up to the view of Akaroa harbour was so beautiful.
The open plan kitchen/dining/living was so lovely for cooking/eating/relaxing. There was a beautiful big table to share your meals at, beautiful bay windows and such a pretty garden.
We visited in what was a quiet time for Akaroa so having a great base to come back to was great. It was also freezing and when we arrived the fire was going. There are reverse cycle air con/heaters in all rooms, and underfloor heating in the bathrooms (yum). There's also wifi and foxtel, a selection of DVDs and magazines. All sorts of condiments in the kitchen and Alison left us a lovely bottle of wine. The view is stunning and it's only a short walk to town.
At 5am one night there was an aftershock which was quite surreal. When we got up Alison had kindly left us a note advising what to do and that this was a frequent occurrence. They were such gracious hosts- there but not intrusive at all. Really lovely. It shows in the house too- it's got such a great feel, full of warmth and love.
I keep using the words lovely and beautiful to describe Akaroa House as that's what it was. Id love to return and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneEyedBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
It was lovely to meet the three of you and such a great idea having time with your Mum and sister. You did get a cold snap - when we'd had quite a mild winter! but the new log burner has been a terrific addition to snuggle by when that happens. Touch wood the aftershocks are quite rare now - you seemed to get one of the rattler ones! but being a wooden property totally modernised in 2004 Akaroa House takes it all in her stride. Thank you for choosing us and the house does prove more economic for larger groups - up to 11 - five bedrooms, four bathrooms. Happy travelling and hope to see you back with the family sometime :) Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Stunning sea views and sun aspect from every room. Set in peaceful landscaped grounds and easy stroll into the village. Offering peaceful Bed and Breakfast in two spacious well appointed rooms. The downstairs Garden room with views to the sea too offers a French Tub en-suite. Or the upstairs two bedrooms for two to four adult guests - share the private family bathroom. Please CONTACT US with your requirements - I'm not sure the calendar is up to date! Working on it. Thx Alison :) Both rooms offer private tea and coffee making facilities and own television. Guests can enjoy the inside living area or relax in the grounds or on the verandah - soaking in the restful view. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering up to three guest bedrooms for a maximum of six adult guests. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. Akaroa is best savoured - as many activities to enjoy at a slow Akaroa pace! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing