We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, fabulously set up for any grouping.”
Review of Akaroa House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akaroa House
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, fabulously set up for any grouping.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were a group of five sharing this gorgeous residence for 2 nights. Very comfortable bedrooms with plenty of bathrooms. A gorgeous winow seat for reading and the view of the pretty town and environs is just heaven. The kitchen had nothing missing and we cooked a shoulder of scrumptious New Zealand lamb for a memorable last meal. Thank you Alison for all your help and advice. One tip is to drive to the top of the hill behind for a wonderful view at sunset.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hi - Thanks so much for taking the time to review, and nice to meet you all. That window seat is a favourite spot!! So pleased you could make the time to come to Akaroa - it is such a beautiful spot and handy to Christchurch for travelling to airport. All the best - Alison : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our team had our annual planning meeting at Akaroa House. The venue was ideal with plenty of room inside and out. Everything from service, cleanliness and the rooms are A+++. Breakfast was supplied and Alison had cooked up some beautiful apples from the garden. Alison is the perfect hostess from beginning to end. Every room is renovated to the highest standard. You won't be disappointed when you stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Mel - so pleased Akaroa House worked well for you work's planning session. It is such a lovely relaxing spot for small meetings - up to about 12 good. All the very best for the year :) Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Akaroa House is by far the nicest place of any kind that we have ever stayed - I wish I could give it even more stars! I stayed there with my family when they were visiting NZ for my wedding in February 2013. Right from the initial contact, Alison was incredibly lovely and friendly - I felt like she was a friend by the time we actually arrived. She accommodated every one of our requests, including acquiring a cot and highchair for my sister's baby from a friend! She also left a wonderful basket of wine, chocolate, biscuits etc. for us on our arrival, which was such a nice surprise.

When we arrived, I was amazed by the house itself. It is very large, and has obviously been lovingly restored to an extremely high standard. The kitchen was beautiful and made it easy to make great meals - it had everything we could possibly need to cook for a large number of people. The many bedrooms were all wonderful - decorated beautifully, with crisply-ironed linens, and with heat/air conditioning in every room. The bathrooms were also beautifully renovated and luxurious.

The situation of the house itself is spectacular - it overlooks the harbour and has stunning views! The garden is wonderful as well, with beautiful roses all along the back porch. We really enjoyed the use of the barbecue in the lovely summer weather!

My whole family adored Akaroa House and it was the highlight of their trip to NZ. I honestly wish I could live there ;) and can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Victoria - thanks for the neat review. It was so exciting to be part of your wedding trip, and Akaroa House is just perfect for families meeting up from various parts of the world. Large enough to all have space - but all together when you want to be. The views are just fabulous - it is such a great spot. Thx for finding us - All the very best with your plans. Kind Regards Alison :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Akaroa House for 3 nights over the christmas break, and the accommodation was nothing short of amazing. Anything we could possible need had been accounted for, which made the entire trip enjoyable and relaxing. I have already recommended this spot to several friends and my only regret is that we didn't book for longer. Thanks for the excellent hospitality. Cheers, Andrew

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thx for feedback Andrew - so pleased the house worked out well for you, and I remember the weather stayed nice for the wedding too. It's been such a fab summer. Although anytime of the year Akaroa House is a great spot to overlook the village and sea either from the shelter of the verandahs or if too cold inside with fire and/or heatpumps going! sorry for delay in getting this up - forgot how to get in to website to respond - so techno phobic. Have a great year - Alison :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Akaroa House can only be described as magical! Beautifully and comfortably appointed bedrooms, bathrooms and outdoor/indoor living spaces. Our hostess, Alison, was brilliant! Delicious meals/afternoon teas and knowledgeable about all things related to the area. She even went out of her way to assist with forgotten luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouseAkaroa, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Diana - thank you for that - it was fun to meet you all and well done on walking the Banks Peninsula Track - I thought Da Mona Lisa Project did really well. Kind Regards - Hi to all the team

Alison : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Akaroa House was our staring point for a four day walk on Banks Track. Our group consisted of 5 girlfriends about to set out on a trek of a lifetime. Nothing was too much trouble, from the afternoon tea on arrival, lovely dinner, great company, beautiful decor and cosy lounge. The stunning views over the town of Akaroa and the harbour and the recommendations for the cafes, shops and fish monger were unforgettable. There is nothing like local knowledge to aid in enjoying a visit to a delightful part of the world.
I would recommend Akaroa House as a must for any friends or family visiting Banks Peninsula. Alison is a charming hostess and clearly enjoys meeting and looking after her guests. The house is beatifully decorated - all the furnishings, linen, towels are gorgeous and every attention to detail is meticulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrae777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouseAkaroa, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello Lorrae - it was lovely to meet you all, and well done on your tramp of the Banks Peninsula Track in all weathers!. It worked out well that I was in residence and could offer your group DB&B. Akaroa House often offered as a self-catering house. All the very best and hope to hear from you again. Kind Regards - Alison : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Can highly recommend this accommodation if you're heading to Akaroa - any time of year. We visited over a cold winter weekend and were very warm and comfortable in the welcoming home with 7 heat pumps and a fabulous wood burner.

Alison and her team have done a superb job of presenting the home with numerous added extras. We all attended the Akaroa Cooking School and can recommend that as part of a 'girls getaway!'

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaHouseAkaroa, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Girls weekends do seem to love their time at Akaroa House. It is such fun being all together in the one large house - the heatpumps and fire have proved their worth for winter guests : )
thanks Janet for taking the time to review and hope you are enjoying those Cooking school tips : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa House

Property: Akaroa House
Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Offered as luxury holiday home accommodation. Stunning sun and views over Akaroa village and sea - then up to the hills. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering five bedrooms and four bathrooms. The French Tub ensuite opens out to the gardens. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing