We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should have gone!”

Akaroa Jet adventures
beautiful Harpers Ferry WV
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“should have gone!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and 11-year-old took this ride and said they really liked it. 4 1/2 stars. I was too afraid that I would get seasick, so declined. But my wife -- who also sometimes gets seasick -- said it was no problem at all.

They said there were a number of very scenic "stops", and then some fun loop-de-loops at the very end -- so something for everyone.

The trip was only about 45 minutes, but at US$42/person was a decent value. If it were a little longer and a little cheaper, it'd get 5 stars.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpunkyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well worth the experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

thankyou Tracey & Chritter for a wonderful fun experience. the sights we saw out in the boat were spectacular! and getting saturated was so fun. The cost was worth the value for money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annemaree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this ride. The guide was great and informative, got to stop and take lots of photos. The kids had the ride of their lives. Was reasonably priced compared with other jet boats in NZ. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Tayl2tru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I decided to take this ride after reading the other review while we were on a shore day from our cruise ship. The swell was up so we had to go a bit slower around the harbour than usual. We went to see the caves and the other sights around the harbour. 'Critter' threw us into a few spins on the way back just to make sure we were awake. We had the last ride before they closed down for winter. My teenage daughter and I really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DiBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Best Value”
Reviewed February 12, 2010

AkaroaJet is a "low- key" Jet boat experience, That apparent contradiction in terms belies a clever combination of nature sightseeing trip, exhilerating jetboat experience and scenic harbour tour. This is most pleasant experience on all three fronts and offers great value for money, certainly in comparison with some pumped up testosterone-filled conveyor belt versions elsewhere.

Your local owner/skipper is well informed, considerate of his passengers, and inspires confidence whilst his two 300HP engines hurtle you across the extensive and attractive estuaries around Akaroa. He then pauses for breath, offering photo time and insightful information about the most interesting and scenic area that is Akaroa. Then, as a finale, stand by for some fancy turns and spins in front of the watching audiences on the harbour front.

The village itself still owes something to the influence of its French founders and for all that is a little different in atmosphere from most of South Island. The one hour car journey from Christchurch is to be enjoyed not rushed on a good but winding main road. There are a host of attractions, from one-off shops to scenic mini golf, mountain biking to people watching along the beachfront!

Well worth a trip on a nice day and well worth going on the best value Jet boat on South Island.

Helpful?
5 Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaroa Jet adventures also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Jet adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing