We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get”
Review of The Little Bistro

The Little Bistro
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: "...a bistro is a small restaurant serving hearty meals and wine in an unpretentious setting..." European inspired, locally sourced food cooked and served with love, plus a winelist to die for....
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We came here due to the highest of reviews and because Akaroa is very small and has limited options. This place has a cool feel, very tiny, service was good, but unfortunately the food did not live up to its price tag. If you can afford to drop $35 a plate for dinner without expectations, then you might have a different outlook, but we expected good flavour, and were very disappointed. I had the pork belly and thought it was terrible. The skin was supposed to be crispy, but was so hard it was inedible, and the bottom of the dish had so much oil, maybe its just me, but not enough vegetables. My wife had the salmon which was cooked perfectly, but her potatoes has no flavour... The value is not there for me and we would not return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    151
    55
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Maginificent Flavours to Savour”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Small and rustic, with just a subtle hint of quirkiness, Little Bistro is BIG on freshness, local produce and flavours that excite.

Their Seafood Chowder is moorish, their salmon and other seafood offerings delectable, and their desserts too good to refuse.

If you're after silver service, and starchiness, look somewhere else, but if you're open to being treated like a local, and you enjoy small intimate and personal places to enjoy wonderful food, then give it a try.

We'd certainly return here on future trips...a tleast once and maybe more!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MOL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tiny but good food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Little Bistro is nothing less than expected in such a beautiful little village.

Book well in advance during the busy season - the place is tiny. The night we ate there we counted a possible 30 seats, with some double seating throughout the night.
This is perhaps the only disadvantage of the place - we were so crammed in that it was impossible to move. Waiters had to pass dishes across the tables because they couldn't possibly manoeuvre between them. Our table was tiny also with barely enough room for a wine glass and a water glass each, once the bread (delicious) and meals arrived.
Congratulations to the chefs - the combinations of flavours, freshness of products and presentation of each dish - extra fantastic! Don't miss out on the chowder - or the scallops and haggis for starters.
It was an eclectic group of staff, but the evening was enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You have to try the salmon!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We tried The Little Bistro based on TA recommendations and loved it. We went for a late lunch and were the only ones there. It's a small place so it doesn't take much to fill this restaurant up. We ordered the salmon and a salad. The salad was very good but we are still talking about how fantastic the salmon was, the best either of us have ever had. I don't know if it was so melt in your mouth succulent because they get their salmon from the Akaroa salmon farm which is sea-reared (I learned this on the Fox II sailing cruise...also highly recommended) or if the chefs at The Little Bistro are salmon cooking geniuses, or both, but whatever the reason, it was delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant with great food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Very small venue so booking is recommended, food is very flavoursome & delightfully fresh, well worth a visit, serving staff are very friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Bistro also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Little Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing