We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Bistro - a MUST for foodies”
Review of The Little Bistro

The Little Bistro
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "...a bistro is a small restaurant serving hearty meals and wine in an unpretentious setting..." European inspired, locally sourced food cooked and served with love, plus a winelist to die for....
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Bistro - a MUST for foodies”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

In a town with a population of just 500, we were amazed to find such an outstanding restaurant. The quaint little wooden cottage that looks across the Green park, bay and mountains beyond is home to the "Little Bistro". The dining area is efficiently run by Emma with her friendly easy manner, whilst her Welsh partner chef creates dishes of superbly balanced flavours using locally grown ingredients whenever possible (as attested by a handwritten sign at the door inviting locals to present their home-grown produce for purchase at the kitchen door). We were so impressed with the saffron Chowder and the lamb shank pie the first night, we went back the second night and were equally impressed with the beef fillet and the risotto. The desserts were also a visual and taste sensation. Akaroa is a beautiful spot to visit, but the Little Bistro is a worthwhile destination in its own right.
.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    152
    55
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Grand Finale Surprise Of Our NZ Trip”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We never planned to visit Akaroa, but after cutting short our holiday and therefore somewhat disappointed at missing out on a visit to Milford Sound, we found ourselves in need of a consolation dinner!
I must say what a total joy it was to discover this little gem! From the moment we stepped in (without a booking-naughty!) we were welcomed into the cosy room full of happy faces and hearty meals.

Even though they were short-staffed (A waitress at the races!) and fully-booked, they still managed to make two weary travellers very happy indeed!

My partner is a chef and I find it very hard to eat out when the food at home is so great, but honestly, the food here was amazing!
Beautiful flavours, generous portions and friendly atmosphere, we loved it!
I was also pleased to see so many gluten-free options available to me, including desserts.

The next day we decided to stay another night in beautiful Akaroa and this time we booked a table, hoping we could repeat the whole experience without losing any of the magic, and we did!
It was another wonderful evening, a beautiful meal and the nicest way to end a holiday full of so many happy memories and lovely people. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie75_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tiniest bistro largest serves”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fabulous atmosphere, great food, friendly service. We loved the tiny space and had a delicious meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bevw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Don't leave Akaroa without visiting!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were lucky enough to turn up and be seated (had not realised you are supposed to pre-book!) I opted for the 'steal' option which was the risotto while my partner had the fish. We were both delighted to eat such delicious food for a very reasonable price. We are travelers on a budget and wanted to splash out for the evening and it was well worth it! Cheese board and yummy 'bistro' mess finished off a perfect dinner. Will recommend to anyone who is travelling through!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happynomad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cassoulet was perfect”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The title says it all. Seafood cassoulet and house wine made for a very reasonably priced and yummy meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank holmesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Bistro also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Little Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing