We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip”
Review of Akaroa Dolphins

Akaroa Dolphins
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let our crew, including our dolphin spotting dogs, take you on a journey of discovery. Enjoy the fascinating history and amazing wildlife of Banks Peninsula aboard our stylish vessel, 'Into the Blue'. Highlights of our cruises include the rare Hector's dolphins, seals, penguins, sea birds, spectacular sea caves and volcanic formations. We give you an intimate and luxurious experience, starting with home-baking and complimentary drinks, including award winning wine and beer, when you step aboard. Our 100% locally owned and operated team will show you the Peninsula like only a local can. See why we’re winners of the Champion Canterbury Business Award for Tourism in 2015, Rankers winner of Dolphin Watching Experience in 2013, and ranked Number 1 on TripAdvisor for Boat Tours in New Zealand. Our track record for offering an unforgettable nature cruise experience speaks for itself.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went out on the 10.30 trip and had a beautiful morning, the sun was shining and the sea was flat..perfect conditions. Mark and Patsy were very friendly and informative and the wine at 11am was awsome and very nice wine it was too ! We saw loads of dolphins, they were all around the boat and were swimming up front of the bow...just amazing and they were sooo close. Also saw quite a few seals sunbathing on the rocks and a couple of penguins swimming. All in all... brilliant and we count ourselves lucky to have such good weather and could get right up close to the rocks for a better view.

Thank Liz858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa_Dolphins, Public Relations Manager at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you Liz for your review. We’re delighted that you had a lovely morning on the water, and also that you took advantage of the complementary wine which comes with our cruise - you’re right, the Astrolabe Sauvignon certainly is a nice drop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 929 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

A great trip. The boat is smaller and so you get far more personal attention from the Captain and Patsy. Their commentary was excellent covering not only the animals but explaining the geology of the area. We chose to ride up at the front of the boat and got fantastic views of the Hectors dolphins that surfed along with us. We also saw penguins and the seal colony with seals on the rocks and in the water. Apparently a whale had been seen the previous day but we were not lucky in this respect. However this did not detract from a fantastic experience.
We were served a complimentary drink before sailing..and a cookie as we sailed back to harbour what a bonus!!!
All in all this won hands down for us over Kiakora Whale Watching which was a big disappointment...no whales, too rough and far too many people being seasick.
If you only have time to do one trip I would say choose this one.

1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa_Dolphins, Public Relations Manager at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your review Lyn, and for suggesting us as ‘the one trip to choose’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a great afternoon out with Mark, the Captain and Patsy who were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. We were really lucky as saw a pod of hector dolphins who playfully swam with the boat as well as seals and a penguin! We could move freely around the boat, which was very smart, but chose to ride most of it with the captain on the top deck - highly recommended! The glass of Sauvignon blanc and afternoon sunshine were an added bonus!

Thank GalSal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa_Dolphins, Public Relations Manager at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We’re pleased to hear you had a great afternoon out with the dolphins, seals, penguins and our crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Akaroa had one of the worst storms it had seen in quite a while on that day, yet we went out and had an amazing time swimming with the dolphins and watching them swim with the boat. Wished the weather was nicer, but we there was nothing to be done about it. The crew and the staff were helpful and professional, and kept an eye on those of us in the water to make sure we were safe in 12 ft. swells. I would highly recommend them, and would go again in an instant.

Thank SRowbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

From all the team at Akaroa Dolphins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable afternoon with the crew Mark and Patsy. Commentry was excellent, knowledgeable but not to much of it. Saw loads of dolphins swimming with the boat, very exciting! Also saw penguins and seals. Drink on arrival and cookie during tour very nice touches.

We were allowed all round the boat...but we chose to ride up front for the entire trip! Thanks again!!!

1  Thank benm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa_Dolphins, Public Relations Manager at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Good choice riding up the front the whole way, it’s a pretty special spot up there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaroa Dolphins also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing