We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Akaroa
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Black Cat Cruises
from $55.16
More Info
from $58.41
More Info
from $61.65
More Info
from $57.76
More Info
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,374 results
Traveler rating
1,055
209
40
34
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,055
209
40
34
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature cruise partial refund hector dolphins hectors dolphins fur seals wet suits akaroa harbour swimming with dolphins great cruise hour cruise hot chocolate an amazing experience wild animals informative commentary new zealand saw dolphins on the rocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,374 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

We saw dolphins, seals, penguin and other birds. The captain explained very nicely during the whole cruise.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank thomaswZ6674NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

This is a must do adventure when visiting Akaroa. Emmy & Chris took us out and were both fabulous. We quickly found some Hector dolphins and had the most amazing time swimming with them. We were in the water with them for 40 minutes. It was worth every penny and we’ll definitely do it again when next there. Thank you so much for the most memorable day of our holiday.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 528ThomasW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

From the outset it is made clear that the staff at Black Cat really care for the dolphins and their future. No promises are made that you will see anything and the importance of not touching them is enforced due to the dolphin's sensitive skin that can be torn with even a sharp nail.

The boat ride through and out of the bay was great fun in itself, I highly recommend standing out on the bow to enjoy the waves and views!

It was great fun helping our guides Kate and Harry to spot the dorsal fins of the dolphins popping up to get an idea where they were.

We managed to get a great swim with around 14 of them at one point, also managing to see an albatross, fur seal and a penguin!

Kate and Harry were very informative and were just as excited as us to see the Dolphins even though they get to do it every day which made the experience that much better.

Couldn't recommend this tour enough, brilliant day out!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

It was our first day in NZ and we already managed to see few pods of Hector dolphins and NZ fur seals. Swim itself was quite exciting, being dropped off in the Pacific in 3m heigh waves (not breaking so easy) was a little daunting at first but with wetsuit providing warmth an plenty of boyancy we quickly started to look out for little dolphons playing around. Few of them were quite curious and got within couple of meters of us but ultimately it was their choice how much of an interaction with us they will have. In the end we were quite satisfied but to our surprise captain decided that it wasn't enough and gave us generous refund. We very much appreciate the company ethos, they respect dolphins and their choices and nothing is being forced. I recommend them also because part of their fees is used for protection of Hector Dolphins which are unique to New Zealand.

Thank MarcinEgiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

The cruise was the highlight of our holiday in Akaroa. Kate's knowledge and witty commentary added to the experience. We saw penguins, seals and dolphins in their own habitat. We came away with a new appreciation for the natural beauty in our own back yard and the need to be kaitiaki's of this precious and irreplaceable resource. Thank you

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank selwyn187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi selwyn187, thanks so much for taking the time to review Black Cat Cruises on TripAdvisor. Isn't Kate just wonderful! I'll certainly pass this lovely feedback on to her! Thank you for your fantastic review, we hope to see you back on the water with us again in the near future. Kind regards, the team at Black Cat Cruises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews