We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do attraction at Akaroa!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Cat Cruises

Black Cat Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.28*
and up
Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa
Ranked #5 of 23 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We started our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruises back in 1985 and are the original cruise operators so we know the harbour pretty well. Along the way we've been named as the supreme tourism award winner and also hold the Enviro gold award from Qualmark to recognise our dedication to the environment.Your nature cruise will be on the 'Black Cat', a large modern and stable vessel allowing great views of all the scenery and wildlife including dolphins, seals and penguins. If by some chance you do not see dolphins then we will provide a ticket to come again another day. This happens on average 2% of the time across the whole year.We look forward to meeting you and giving you the best stories from the Akaroa Harbour.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must do attraction at Akaroa!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We planned to do swim with dolphins but it is not operated in June (or the water is too cold...), so we went for the harbour nature cruise. We started with a foggy day but it gave us a really beautiful scene with the blue sky and water! We saw Little Blue Penguins, Hector's Dolphins and Seals!! The dolphin was just adorable while jumping in front of the ship!! But wear enough before broading as it's pretty chilly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, it's most appreciated. Do wear warm clothing in the winter. We stock all the essentials like hats, gloves and sunglasses in our shop on the wharf if needed. We want our customers to be comfortable in every aspect. We start the dolphin swimming in September and it runs until the end of May so would love to have you visit us again one day to get that up close experience with the Hector's dolphins in the wild! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    148
    29
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely scenery with interesting commentary”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Akaroa is a charming small town and the Harbour Cruise was a very pleasant experience. Although it is very cold (since its winter), the sights were breath-taking and I was most impressed with the skipper's professionalism and humorous (and informative!) commentary. The Hector dolphins were really adorable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaZsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our cruise. The weather gets chilly out here but what better way to spend a winters day wrapped up watching the wildlife! We pride ourselves on our great staff and skippers. So glad you enjoyed the commentary and experience. Do visit us again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My partner and I spent our last day touring New Zealand in Akaroa with Black Cat Tours. We had a fantastic time and the overall experience was both breathtaking and a definite check mark on the bucket list. We were fortunate enough to spend nearly 45 minutes in the water with the dolphins who, despite being a bit shy by reputation, responded to our (hilarious) calls into the water. At one point one of the dolphins swam around me in circles and we danced together in that way for a few spins which has been one of the best moments of my life as an ocean-lover. I got some amazing footage in and out of the water of the dolphins being close enough to touch and even jumping into the air a few times! On top of all this the animals swam with the boat on our way back to shore and we were able to see some seals and huge albatross as well as taking in the gorgeous scenery.
The crew was highly friendly, informative and evidently loved their jobs. On the ride there we were debriefed thoroughly about the dolphins and their behaviour as well as the conservation efforts in place to ensure their survival.
Altogether, this was an experience definitely worth both the money and time. A lovely day trip and definitely a once in a lifetime experience.
I'd also like to note that the shuttles out to Akaroa were professional, scenic and very reasonable for the price. Enough time to take plenty of pictures and grab a bite to eat after the swim!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meethebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for writing this review and sharing your experience of the day. It sounds like you had the most fantastic time and we're so glad we could deliver that for you...and check the bucket list! There's no place our team would rather be then out on the ocean sharing a slice of our unique setting and native wildlife. This is the only place in the world where you can swim with the Hector's dolphins. Given that they are also the world's rarest and smallest we are so pleased that we can offer this once in a lifetime experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Winter on Akaroa Harbour”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The excuse was a birthday celebration, so we actually hired the Black Cat for our own guests, which is a pretty amazing way to spend a birthday.

It was winter, and the weather was very kind to us – so kind in fact that we were able to go right out of the harbour and explore some parts of the coast that are often difficult to get to. We saw seals and dolphins which delighted the children of all ages. There was a great commentary about the history and ecology of the area which, as we had a boatload of ecologists, was enjoyed by all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank onerosenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate the birthday with us. We're so glad you all had a terrific time and hope to welcome you again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Blackcat tours were very professional abu made us feel very comfortable on our trip, and my swim with the Hector dolphins, as crew helped us by letting us know from which direction they were coming from, although the dolphins came with in a few feet. It was Feburary when we visited, and as you felt the water temp as you got in you very quickly forgot completely about it as full focus was on the dolphins. great morning.thanks to all the crew.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussierenie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pajoChristchurch, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's most appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Cruises also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Black Cat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing