We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottage and gardens”
Review of Halfmoon Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfmoon Cottage
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Halfmoon Cottage in a lovely double room at a very reasonable price. The owners live at the back ot the property and are on hand to offer advice and help. The place is very well run and and welcoming and the gardens are a great source of delight. I will definitely be coming back for a longer stay. Akaroa is a short drive away from the cottage at peaceful Barry's Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belle1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nice, quiet cottage in a very pleasant spot. Convenient to Akaroa but away from the crowds. We only stayed one night after flying in to Christchurch, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMA-PDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We started our 2 week trip to NZ at Halfmoon Cottage staying two nights in the 2 front overlooking the beautiful garden and lake. It is the most comfortable, welcoming home with a really well stocked kitchen, spectacular garden (where we spent hours exploring and taking photos, many worthy of enlarging) and enjoying the herbs and fruits which all guests are encouraged to enjoy, and all just a fifteen minute drive to beautiful Akaroa. There is a terrific walk or bike ride just across the road which can keep a family entertained for hours, the bikes were free so we did both. It really is like a home way from home, Des and Gillian have done everything possible to make this a very special place to stay. We had a family ranging in age from 72 to 12 and all agreed it was one of the highlights of our trip. Highly highly recommend for visitors to the area who have thier own transport.

Room Tip: The family room at the front and the double room were ideal for our family of four plus one Grandpa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheretonextyear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is an excellent place to stay - we had a gorgeous purple room with a double bed and a bunk for our 14yo daughter. The view of the bay out of our bedroom window was lovely and the gardens of this property are beautiful. The kitchen is homely and the dining room and lounge are like you would get in an expensive B&B. Our only regret is that we only had one night to spend here. Great place to stay if you want to explore Onawe Peninsula.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We have been on a round the world trip staying in backpackers in California, New Zealand and Australia, and this was the best backpackers we have stayed in.

The house itself was stunning, as were the views of Akaroa Bay if you crossed the road out the front. It was like staying in a nice B&B with very comfortable rooms and living room. The kitchen was lovely and the gardens were absolutely wonderfully kept. And the prices were incredibly good value - I think it was around NZ$50 for a double room.

Wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honkytonks83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We found Halfmoon Cottage on the BBH website which is a backpacker hostel network. Travelling with a small child and my in-laws, we were a bit dubious about staying at a backpackers' place but this was like a fantastic B&B without the breakfast.
Beautiful deck to sit on. Stunning garden to sit in. Great kitchen. Small enough to meet some new people but not be swamped (5 bedrooms, I think). Our bedroom looked out on to the water. Close enough to Akaroa to pop there ay any time but on its own so peaceful at night. Friendly hosts who gave us fruit from their garden to cook up.
One of the best value places I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

This backpackers is a lovely house set in gardens full of fragrant flowers and herbs, near the beach at Barry's Bay in Akaroa. There's a big veranda around the building which is perfect for relaxing on the sofas with a book. There's also a cosy lounge with log fire, a well-equipped kitchen and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The friendly owners have lots of information about what to see and do in the area, and there are nice touches like hot water bottles you can borrow in the winter. The prices are really reasonable with dorms from $25 to $60 for a double room. If you're staying there, I recommend visiting nearby Barry's Bay Cheese Co for great cheese and local wines.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucyd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
4.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
4.1 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 26 in Akaroa
218 reviews
4.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfmoon Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfmoon Cottage

Address: 5849 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Barrys Bay, Akaroa 7582, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget world traveller accommodation with shared kitchen, dining room and lounge. Located in Barrys Bay at the top of Akaroa Harbour giving easy access to the town of Akaroa, its beautiful harbour and the surrounding volcanic remnants of Banks Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing