We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Indian restaurant”

Mother India Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 333 Restaurants in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Home style Indian food at its best.
Perth
Level Contributor
194 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great little Indian restaurant”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is not at all fancy, non-nondescript in fact but the food is wonderful, Indian food doesn't get much better than this. The price is right and the service is friendly and brisk.
Dine in or take-away

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank murraygray69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
moora
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good curry murray”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Never heard of this place until i googled 'best indian restaraunts in fremantle'. Went with the clan to an out of the way location away from south terrace to this absolute gem. small little joint with nice simple indian decor. Got an entree' which had these prawns, tandoori chicken and vege samosa appetisers. Already i thought "Hey this is orrite aye", got one of them mango drinks forgot what they are called but they are Indian, nice yoghurt drink it was, could have been colder but you cant always win. Then the mains came out, between us we got a Vindaloo Chicken (hot, im tough), butter chicken, lamb korma and lamb coconut curry. We mixed and matched between the 4 of us and ate with rice and garlic naan bread. Each one was the 'best curry ive ever tasted'. Must have sweated out two litres from the vindaloo but it was well worth it. The chicken was so tender and was free range, bread was fresh and the flavours in the curries were sublime. not too thick not too watery, just perfect. Wasnt too expensive, good value for money i think, good portions. The old Indian lady behind the counter was havin a good laugh coz it looked like i just ran a Marathon i was leakin sweat...I said "next time i want a hotter curry"....and we left....definatly coming back! brilliant!, wont get the vindaloo on a hot date.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank moondog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Should keep this a secret just for us!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been going to Mother India for years now and are reluctant to tell anyone about it as we feel it is "our own find". However whenever we arrive there, there are more and more and more people dining in or taking out!
The Butter Chicken is absolutely the best I have eaten as are every other dish on the menu.
I love the atmosphere......love that "Mother India" wanders through the place just talking to everyone.
Amazing value for amazing food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Please write genuine reviews”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I became a member of Urbanspoon and tripadvisor specially to write these reviews about Mother India. Have regularly gone here, from 90's. Pretty much part of the Mother India Family. Recently we visited them and as usual while having a conversation with the "Mother" of Mother India who sometimes come to our table to ask about the food. She casually mentioned how the recent competition around them is trying hard to write bad comments about this restaurants in the internet. They were not so worried competition copying their menu exactly, as they consider this a privilege. Before writing this I went online to check out few Indian Restaurant Menus. I noticed one of them has copied word to word of the "Value Pack Meals" Mother India is serving for ages.

Recently there was a review by BEX295 in urban spoon, And ROSINEB from Tripadvisor. These reviews are identical word to word. Hence it is pretty obvious it is the same person


As a regular, we like to expose this person(competition) and stop them writing these kinds reviews of an establishment we adore. I am sure people read these kinds reviews always use their common sense and judge themselves.

1. Where can you get pappadam and Mint chutney for $3?
2. I have seen the owners always bringing a sample to taste if you order very mild. only after approval they bring out the main. The answer to this is in the review written by "Fabulous Food" in the Urban Spoon. How did they get what they given for tasting and not these people.
3. From our personal experience, after the food is served little later, the "Mother" or Dharshini( Owner) or the lovely gentlemen(who is there for last eight years) come and ask us about the food. One instance, we remember they brought us a new extra dish when we mentioned the meat was little tuff. Doubt they ignored this time for BEX295 or ROSINEB
4. We never had problems with portions. Just go through all other reviews and you can understand the portions are always plenty. If we go with group and request for anything extra including rice we are given free of charge. One day I refused to accept this and they said it is important each customer who come there to go completely satisfied. Actually these small caring gestures made us go again and agian. I am sure if you ask their regulars they will tell the same. By the way regulars of the establishment come for many years and I assume they have never written a single review anywhere. Considering they are busty most of the time we have visited, by now there should be thousands of followers.
5. The cost of the meal for three should be Any chicken 19.50*2+19.50 for lamb+ rice for three maximum they would have paid is $10(1litre)+$3 for Pappadam & chutney = $71.50
These people got it completely wrong. unless they had rice for $28.50???? not possible at all.

Please judge yourselves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Freotodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Ok food with small portions”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went here because of the great reviews. It wasn’t easy to find as we took a bus and it’s in the middle of a residential area. We had booked a table for three but when we got there they had squashed three chairs on a 2 person table. We managed to negotiate a larger table if we only stayed there an hour. We ordered poppadoms and some chutneys. When it came out it was just one chutney, and a very small portion for $3. We ordered a chicken madras, butter chicken and a lamb dish. We asked for a very mild butter chicken and they brought some out to taste which wasn’t hot. They then brought out the full size dishes and it was too hot! The chicken madras was medium but was very hot. So two of us struggled through our dishes and didn’t enjoy them at all. The rice portions were small and we had to order two each.

The server was busy and hard to get hold of even though there were only three tables occupied.

It came to $90 for three people which seemed quite expensive for a poppadom and main meal each.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India Restaurant also viewed

South Fremantle, Fremantle
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
South Fremantle, Fremantle
 

Been to Mother India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing