We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely luncheon spot”
Review of The Red Herring - CLOSED

The Red Herring
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely luncheon spot”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a favourite location for my mother in law who chose it for her birthday lunch. What a lovely choice on a hot day. We enjoyed the beautiful waterfront view, and could actually hear each other without screaming - a more and more difficult going to do in Perth restaurants. The service was attentive and the meals well prepared and presented. The seafood selection was excellent, but I had a chicken Caesar salad that was delicious. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaKayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    32
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place for a business lunch and on a sunny day it guarantees to impress business guests. The food was, as always, good and the fish and chips ordered by one guest was a huge serving.

Helpful?
Thank Mac-Mann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You pay for the view”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A great location, though the strange one-way carpark can be hard to figure out. Despite being billed a seafood restaurant, the menu had just 4 mains that were seafood and as many that were not. They were not that innovative - in fact the whole menu was quite pedestrian. The food was good, but for the price was not great. We are talking $40 mains here. Entrees had little that appealed and I also skipped dessert as not much appealed. All 8 of us agreed it was very over-priced for what it was. This place seems to be trading on past glories and really needs to take a long hard look at its menu and its prices. The service was also poor. We waited 15 minutes for first service (we were one of only two parties in the whole place). Then when we asked for 5 more minutes to think about drinks, we ended up being forgotten and finally had a drink in hand no less than 45 minutes after our arrival! Service was woefully slow (the whole process took 3.5 hours) so I would hate to be there on a busy night! In conclusion - go elsewhere, there is plenty more exciting and better priced food to be had in Perth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over rated establishment”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lunch on October 24th. Nice location, waitress with hard soled shoes bouncing around to and form tables. Very disturbing.
Starter: Danish Feta; nice cheese but nothing to eat it with like bread or toast. Nice try, but not complete.
Main course Beer battered wilting. Which was basically glorified fish and chips, but so greasy if gave me upset stomach.

All in all below average for a restaurant that tries to proclaim in Perth to be upper class.
Disappointed experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SNRMBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic position, very poor food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Well, what a great disappointment. Nestled on the Swan River, this is probably the best restaurant site in Perth/Fremantle. We went for breakfast with a small group and it was really unsatisfactory. we were told this was the first "breakfast" they had put on since the winter. Everyone was disappointed. The juice dispensers were all empty, the bacon raw, the cooked eggs still raw when poached, the pancakes cold, butter was nowhere to be seen, the Danish were old, and on it goes. Our group, usually14-20 eat out regularly for breakfast, and never again here. The actual restaurant looks great, well presented. Maybe lunch or dinner would be better. Such a shame on this occasion as we all would love to return for the location, view and ambiance. Service by the way was scatty....everyone seemed to busy, but not around us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Herring also viewed

 
East Fremantle, Fremantle
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing