We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior pub food with plenty of great beers”
Review of Sail & Anchor

Sail & Anchor
Ranked #89 of 333 Restaurants in Fremantle
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
559 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Superior pub food with plenty of great beers”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Having eaten at Little Creatures the previous day, I wasn’t sure if I wanted another similar style place but in the end was glad I did. Sail & anchor is laid out with lots of tables for sitting and although it is more central and doesn’t have much of a view, it does still have a good atmosphere. The selection of beers is impressive and I do intend to return to take advantage of the 100ml sampling plate they do for them but you will find something for your taste here. The food was much better than I expected – steaks were really good and generally the dishes were well received. Service was friendly and not overly forward. Really enjoyable place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    110
    60
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Not good at Sail and Anchor, took ages to get our meal and then my steak was rare when I asked for well done, my wifes' Red Emperor fish was overcooked. Ended up not having to pay for mine thank goodness. Order was slow to be taken, then took eons to turn up. All in all, very disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earleof2J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch with my hubby they brought my husbands lunch out 20 minutes before mine was ready really!! Then to top it off my ceasar salad was basically lettuce and a few chunks of dry chicken at $25 what a bloody rip off

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swiggy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor service ”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Recently in fremantle and had a gathering with friends there was 12 in total service was slow especially ordering beers

None of us were drunk and we were told we were to noisy and could only order pots of beer instead of pints thought that was absolutely ridiculous we were sitting outside and we were talking probably a little bit louder to hear from the rest of the noise
None of us will be returning shame the good was good

Helpful?
1 Thank Rayakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stopped here for lunch in September 2013 and found the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was lovely. Disappointed we didn't have the opportunity to return but rip wasn't long enough! Would recommend the restaurant

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail & Anchor also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Sail & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing