We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beer”
Review of Sail & Anchor

Sail & Anchor
Ranked #99 of 339 Restaurants in Fremantle
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
perth
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best beer”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The atmosphere in this place is great always someone interesting to talk to and has good views from upstairs

Helpful?
Thank PerthJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    111
    62
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Same ole days”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The beer is excellent.
When the hotel is busy which is particularly Fridays and Saturdays the owners/management of this establishment have NO designated point where people ordering food can be directed to other than the main bar which results in an overflow of patrons just requiring beer/wine/spirits having to wait while food orders are fulfilled. Other times no problems.This is not new.This was still a problem 18 months ago when I returned to Freo after 26 years-get in right

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tourist pub”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Serves fairly good food and drinks, but is definately not a local most of the time, so has a bit of a transient atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ayemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Range of Beers, BUT... ...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been going to the Sail & Anchor for many years, the range of beers is one of the best in WA.

The food however is not as great, I have always been able to convince Mrs. to eat there, because of the great range of beers, but a few months ago she called time & refused to go back because the food was ordinary & the menu never changed. Imagine my joy when they recently announced a new menu! We went on Sunday & unfortunately it was the last time we will go until there is a significant change to the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Prefer to just hang out upstairs”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Sail and Anchor was the place that kicked off boutique beer in Perth in the mid 1980s and is still going strong. I am getting a bit old for Friday and Saturday nights, I prefer Sunday afternoons now. I prefer not to eat out the back instead lounging around upstairs and listen to some live music in the afternoon. I see the food as pub grub and would prefer to eat at many of the other restaurants in Fremantle, that being said, there is nothing wrong with the food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank viatalium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail & Anchor also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Sail & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing