We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Indian Restaurant

Maya Indian Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 325 Restaurants in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took our daughter and family to Maya for her 21st Birthday. It was our first time to visit the restaurant and although we read mostly good reviews , we were nervous ,as we wnated it too be a memorable evening . Well from the booking ,to accepting flowers for us and getting in bottles of Favourite wine - these folk went the whole mile for us and we would like to thank them for that. The food here is just delicious - best Naan i have ever had. The 'cheeky beef dish' , had to be the crowd favourite!! The sevice was really good and although the restaurant was packed out - we didnt wait long at all for our meals. The staff sang happy birthday and we were really chuffed with the attention my daughter received. thank you. The maya will definitely see us again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 255103Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor example of indian food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This restaurant has been around for a long time and it shows.The appearance is good but the food is mediocre and dull .The speciality meal is just a fish curry with a shovel full of chopped raw chillies stirred in. Total contempt for diners tastes and likes. A sorry state, a restaurant cannot afford to let quality or variety go by the board, ashame but give this one a big miss and you will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
“not convinced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very nice decor, ambience and goes for upmarket style service.

But the food was just not that great when we went this week.

Also, we made a change to the entree tasting plate and found a surcharge on the bill at the end due to the swap. This hadn't been mentioned when ordering.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good all round...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Dined here on a saturday night and it was pleasant all round. The restaurant was busy and we could only get an 8.30 reservation, it stayed busy the whole night.

We enjoyed our meal with a bottle of white Indian wine (Mantra) it had a really unusual 'smoked tea' flavour. For mains we had the Masala Prawns and a vegetable curry dish which I cannot remember the name of, pilau rice, a hot vege chutney and some raita which were all pleasant enough.

Overall I found it to be an enjoyable restaurant with good service and fair prices. With the bottle of wine ($38) the bill came to $103.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StarFishR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie food in upscale restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place with the boyfriend recently. We felt a bit underdressed in sweatshirts and jeans, didn't realise its a bit on the classy side. My dinner (vegetable puliyani or something) was DELICIOUS, my boufriend's was above average. Still, $60 on two entrees and some Naan seems a bit outrageous. Portions were medium-small for our nearly $20 entree. Still, overall it was a tasty dinner with decent service in a nice environment. Good vegetarian option so long as you've got cash to spend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Indian Restaurant also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
South Fremantle, Fremantle
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
South Fremantle, Fremantle
 

Been to Maya Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing