We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the people...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's all about the people...”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

OK, so I've finally got around to reviewing Pirates Backpackers! Firstly, my wife and I had a great time here during our stay in Fremantle and made some awesome new friends! If we were returning to Fremantle as backpackers we wouldn't hesitate to come back here. I want to be clear on that before I say a little more about each of the TripAdvisor categories, in case they sound too negative:

Service: the staff were welcoming and friendly. They found me some work very quickly. There are activities organised for most days (some better than others: going on trips on the owner's boat, or trips to Lancelin were brilliant; meeting up for a run or surfing trips that never actually materialised due to lack of numbers were not).

The facilities left a little to be desired: The kitchen is small for the number of people staying, although they do have a well-organised and fair system for fridge and cupboard space. The kitchen has about as many cockroaches as you would expect in a kitchen where 50-odd people are storing and preparing food at all times of day. The staff do their best to keep it clean throughout the day though. Their website claims that they provide free Internet - they do not. They do have 4 PC's downstairs for which they will sell you a voucher. They operate these as an internet cafe so as well as fellow guests there are members of the public using them. There is a communal TV room with a large selection of VHS movies to watch. There is also a BBQ available for use.

Value: Australia is EXPENSIVE, especially when coming from SE Asia. So it's hard to make a meaningful judgement on the value for money here. What I will say is that for our AU$70 per night we got our own room, with a double bed, a fridge, an antiquated TV & VCR, and 1 asthmatic fan. This works out more expensive per month than our 1-bedroom flat in Central London, but it was the cheapest we could find (and we looked hard!). Obviously visitors considering staying here will have to decide for themselves what value for money looks like.

Sleep quality: this varied from night to night. The beds themselves were comfortable (the pillows were a bit thin). On hot nights the fan provided was woefully inadequate, and with the windows open letting in all the noise from the courtyard we didn't get any sleep. Most nights there were gatherings of people in the courtyard, with music being played, drinking and chatting. As most nights we were in those gatherings it didn't really bother us(!), but if you are a light sleeper bring a good pair of silicon earplugs!

Cleanliness: the staff did their best to keep the place clean, not helped by the inevitable few people who didn't clean up after themselves. The bathrooms were kept reasonably clean - although it got a bit irritating when they were being cleaned in the morning when everyone wanted to have their shower before going out. Perhaps start the cleaning a little earlier so the bathrooms are ready for the morning rush, instead of cleaning them during the rush?? We were also a bit surprised to be told that the staff didn't clean the private rooms, only the dorms. For the money we were paying this seemed a bit weird.

Location: perfect. Right by the Cappucino strip; Bathers Beach, a couple of good bottleshops, the Fishing Boat Harbour, Little Creatures, the Esplanade, the Blue CAT bus stop are all on the doorstep. The library, train station, South Beach are all just a short stroll away.

To recap then: this is a small backpackers in Australia, full of young people (and a few oldies too!) coming and going, working and playing, chatting and making friends. The smaller size makes for a great and friendly atmosphere and the location is unbeatable. Thanks to Vaughn, Sarah, Teemu, Baptiste and everyone else we met at Pirates for all the fun and laughter!

Room Tip: If you want a double room go for the one at the front, overlooking Essex Street. The other one overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveRoss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Cheers for your in depth review Dave. Just a quick couple of responses.
1. We do offer free internet for weekly bookings.
2. Unfortunately the cockroaches have been a problem, as they have been everywhere throughout Perth, However we've been constantly laying cockroach baits and spray and we are definitely getting on top of this problem.
3. We have often tried to work out the best time for cleaning, taking into consideration the availability of the cleaners and the usage of the facilities by the guests. Mornings are the best time for cleaning. However, with the 24/7 nature of a backpackers hostel, unless we have the cleaner cleaning in the hours of darkness in the early morning, there is always going to be some inconvenience when closing a toilet for cleaning, and this really is unavoidable.
4. We have chosen not to clean the private rooms when there are guests booked in, as this has been the general wishes of guests in the past, who prefer their privacy and do not want staff coming into the room to vacuum and empty bins, as we do for the dorm rooms. Of course, if a guest wants cleaning of some sort to be carried out whilst they are there, then we are more than happy to do this. Obviously the double rooms are always vacuumed and cleaned between guests.

Cheers and enjoy the rest of your travels guys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    85
    13
    7
    25
See reviews for
2
33
182
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

well what can i say a aweseme place to stay . atoshere 11/10 cleanness 10/10 location 10/10
this is a small hostel sleeps 60 odd i stayed a week and there was always some one around to talk to and have a drink with if nots theres a hostel cat. how cool
it is keep very clean well done pirate staff .& good faclitiys

this hostel really does make you fell like your at home and i will defantly be back again i highly recommend this place as i have stayed in about 7 diffarent hostels in perth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

great staff, comfy lounge area and garden , really homeley atmosphere, real sense of community...extremely good for living while working in Freo, central , close to hungry jacks (bonus) and beach etc...but overall great GET INVOLVED MORALITY....oportunities for adventures, outings with the whole hostel...so go and GET ONVOLVED PEEPS if your wanting to have fun irates is the place to be. love it. thankyou and goodnight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paige a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hello i am very new to this as its my only my second trip away but the trip here is were it began and as i havent been in many b4 this was an eyeopener but i felt good about it and all the people in Freo were nice and helpful and i now know about aussie football so thanks for my first time you have given me a standard

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatterpyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Fantastic hostel, very friendly and clean. Had a great atmosphere and the location is ideal for the Cappacino strip and Little Creatures. Stayed in quite a few hostels however we have not enjoyed them as much as Pirates. We loved our stay here and we'll be sure to be back soon :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pirates backpackers is a small(ish) hostel right in the heart of Fremantle. The hostel has a good, friendly vibe which means everyone finds someone to talk to, no matter what time of the day you turn up in the cozy courtyard. The hostel is not too big so people get to know each other pretty quickly, a brilliant opportunity to make life-lasting friends from all over the globe! The building is not the newest one but staff do make sure it is cleaned and kept in good shape daily. They will also help you make the most of your stay around Perth. Location could not be better, walking distance to pretty much everything. Simply the best hostel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dwi wedi aros yn yr hostel yma am saith wythnos, ag wedi mwynhau'n arw. Mae'n braf cael aros yn rhywle lle mae'r gweithwyr yn gofalu amdanoch, ag efo diddordeb ynddoch. Mae'r perchenog yn gadael i'r lle gael ei redeg gan y rheolwraig, sydd yn beth da oherwydd mae'n creu awyrgylch hamddenol. Mae gweithgareddau yn cael eu trefnu yn aml, rhai am ddim a rhai am bris rhesymol. Weithiau y bydd y perchenog yn trefnu trip i fynd allan ar ei gwch!

Room Tip: Mae'r stafelloedd ar y balconi yn medru bod dipyn mwy swnllyd, a dipyn yn llai hefyd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinsan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We had no idea what this meant (heh heh) so thanks to Google translator, here's what it roughly means in English....
I've stayed at the hostel here for seven weeks, as had a thoroughly. It's nice to stay somewhere where the employees care for you as interested in you. The owner let the place be run by the manager, which is a good thing because it creates a relaxed atmosphere. The activities will be organized frequently, some free and some for a reasonable price. Sometimes the owner will organize a trip to go out on his boat!
...by the way, the original language was Welsh !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Fremantle
Quest Fremantle
#5 of 26 in Fremantle
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Backpackers Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Backpackers Fremantle

Property: Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
Address: 11 Essex St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirates Backpackers is a small unique hostel situated right in the heart of vibrant Fremantle, where the owner and staff know your name! It's a secure and small hostel run by the energetic owner Vaughan, who along with brilliant staff will do everything they possibly can to ensure you have a great stay. We offer the following : - A small clean hostel right in the heart of Fremantle within 5 minutes walk of every attraction including the beaches -A huge variety of activities constantly on the go, including beach volleyball, surfing, diving, boating, rock climbing, scenic tours, dinners, quiz nights, bush walks, sunset drinks and more, all organised by Pirates. -Large individual lockers in your room with padlock provided -Sensational staff who are interested in you and are always here to help -BYO alcohol, saving you money -A brilliant courtyard with BBQ, pool table, table tennis and heaps of plants! A totally relaxing environment! This is truly your "home away from home". The hardest thing is leaving! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Pirates Backpackers Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle Hotel Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing