We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pirates Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pirates Family”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed in Pirates for 4 months! What to say... i had an amazing time here! Really good atmosphere, meeting great people and great parties! Lots of activities provided ( wine tour, rock climbing, surf, BBQ...). Staff excellent (they always look after me, thank you guys ;) )!! So i would recommend that place to everyone who want to stay in Freo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleonoreLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    83
    13
    7
    25
See reviews for
2
31
179
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This lovely hostel served as not only a roof over my head for four months, but also as my home. If you're looking to party until all hours of the night every night this is not the place for you. If you're looking to truly have a unique, active experience in Freo including wicked dance party's, this is the place for you! Vaughan, the owner is such an inspiring, positive, fun-chasin man! He'll drag you out of your room and make you go for a run, (everyone's invited, you'll thank him later!) then he'll take you on a wine tasting tour the next week, (after a few days of beach volleyball and BBQs in between), and to top off the week you'll have a quiz night or a spa night in the winter, jeez, it really just depends! The activities are endless! The hostel is also in a PERFECT location! Walk to the end of the street and BOOM! The weekend markets! Take a 10 minute walk or the free bus in town and BOOM! South beach is right there! Stay at Pirates! Vaughan will make you feel right at home, and the absolutely amazing people who inhabit the hostel will too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Although we specifically requested n they confirmed it's a twin room, when we checked in, we're given a double decker coz they say that's all they got! Not very honest ppl, n parking charges very high coz they don't hv parking place. Would not stay here if u r not de partying type coz the music's loud til late at night. However it's well located n good value for money, probably can invest in a good earplug if u stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We have reviewed our emails with this guest and they are incorrect in what they say about their booking. On 21/07/2012 they sent an email requesting a room for 2 people. On the same day we responded with our standard email outlining all our available rooms and prices. This includes our double/twin room which have a double bed and a single bed on top.
On 22/07/2012 they requested the double/twin room. This is the room they were booked in and received on arrival, so we are unsure as to their criticism. There was nothing dishonest at all in our dealings with them as they allege.
In relation to the parking charges, we have no say whatsoever in what the City of Fremantle charge. We do have our own parking bays but these were all full. But whenever asked we always advise guests of the free parking around the corner from Pirates.
In relation to the noise, we can't comment on the particular nights they were here as to how loud the noise may have been. It was 3 weeks ago now. However, being a mid week booking that they had, the music volume is either turned very low or completely turned off (which is more the norm) and we try to keep the guest's noise down to a minimum....however, one must remember, this is a backpackers hostel, and while we try our best to keep noise to a minimum, there are nights that are noisier than most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

thanks to vaughn, sarah, johnny and hanna for being such a great and warm welcoming crew!!!
not for nothing the best rated backpacker in australia!!! when u leave your i-pod for a week in the lounge area and it is still untouched, u know that this is a home away from home! and read "cammie W" comment...that's all what i would say about Pirates, I'm just to slow in tipping;)

big thanks again, love and peace ben (german)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_guy255122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had an amazing time at Pirates would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good time or for those who won't a helping hand on the work front. Excellent staff, excellent guests and excellent location! Counting down the days till I fly back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yobungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a really wonderful place. It is has been much more than just a hostel for me, it has been my home (and I really referred to it as home, even to my mum!) for the past 4 months. I wasn't planning on staying in Freo this long but it was too hard to leave. Vaughan, the owner, makes everyone feel welcome as soon as you arrive and is always organising different things if you want to join in- my favourites included rockclimbing, games nights and volleyball. The atmosphere here is very homely and welcoming, and there are always some guests who like to do shared meals. The rooms are perfect- lockers, fans, nice beds (I recommend room 7 :D). They are cleaned twice a week and the whole hostel is cleaned everyday. My friend who stayed here did the cleaning for a while and Vaughan has very high standards. I really will miss this place and the people here and whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone who wants to come away with lots of new friends and experiences. But it won't be long before I'm back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Pirates Crew and Hostel is just exceptional... crazy ;) Everyone welcomes you and I made friends (not only small talks) after a few hours. Cooking together and rock climbing were amazing experiences and made me feel being part of the whole young family. There are activities and special offers every day for those who want.
The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are perfectly clean.
1st place Hostel in 4month travelling, especially for the good atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katha173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fremantle Hostel
Fremantle Hostel
#4 of 24 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Backpackers Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Backpackers Fremantle

Property: Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
Address: 11 Essex St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirates Backpackers is a small unique hostel situated right in the heart of vibrant Fremantle, where the owner and staff know your name! It's a secure and small hostel run by the energetic owner Vaughan, who along with brilliant staff will do everything they possibly can to ensure you have a great stay. We offer the following : - A small clean hostel right in the heart of Fremantle within 5 minutes walk of every attraction including the beaches -A huge variety of activities constantly on the go, including beach volleyball, surfing, diving, boating, rock climbing, scenic tours, dinners, quiz nights, bush walks, sunset drinks and more, all organised by Pirates. -Large individual lockers in your room with padlock provided -Sensational staff who are interested in you and are always here to help -BYO alcohol, saving you money -A brilliant courtyard with BBQ, pool table, table tennis and heaps of plants! A totally relaxing environment! This is truly your "home away from home". The hardest thing is leaving! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Pirates Backpackers Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle Hotel Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing