We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottage with Freo character, fantastic location great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Terrace Central B&B Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage with Freo character, fantastic location great value for money”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the one bedroom cottage next to the b&b. Free parking was available in front of the cottage and the cottage was just gorgeous and very quaint and much larger than we were expecting. When we arrived the heating was on and lamps and overall a very cosy cottage with a charming blend of antique and modern decor with all the mod cons you need in self contained accommodation including a very comfortable bed!!! Barry was lovely and welcoming and the booking overall went so smoothly. The location is fantastic with some cute chafes and boutiques nearby and a short stroll to the heart of Freo. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer!!! Highly recommend this cute cottage for its great location, homely feel, cosy Freo character and value for money. Thanks Barry :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fleur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you, you make my day when you have anjoyed your time in my accommodation. Our aim is to make you feel comfortable and at home in Fremantle, I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Fremantle.Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
63
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 4 nights when a close relative went in for an operation over the road at the Fremantle Hospital. But we have stayed a few times before and like to think of Terrace Central as our "apartment in Freo", without the ownership worries. Christina was a gem in looking after us and mother-in-law and the rooms (we could not get 4 nights straight in one room because we booked late) were ideal for 3 of us. Relatively quiet, comfortable, and warm. We like the fact that each room has its own personality - but we are not telling you of our favourite because we want to book it next time! The only downside were very minor cleaning issues but that is being harsh - we've seen far worse in major hotels globally.

Location is outstanding and you can walk to all the sites, with buses at the door.

If you are shopping around you've found the place!

Thanks to Barry and the team.

Room Tip: Plenty of info and pics on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riconleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for the review, it was our pleasure having you stay with us please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Fremantle. We arrived at 1am on a cold night to find the heater on so that the room was warm for us.

We stayed in suite 35A, which was spacious and had two balconies: one on the street and one out the back. The bed wazzup comfortable. There was the usual tea and coffee selection in the room.

The breakfast was an adequate selection of toasts, crumpets, English muffins, raisin toast, spreads, cereals, fruits and yogurt in a 'help yourself' breakfast room.

I felt totally at home and the owner was friendly.

The location is perfect for exploring Fremantle. Everything is within walking distance or you can catch the free Blue Cat bus to travel further afield.

We enjoyed a relaxing and romantic stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure having you stay at Terrace Central please come again. Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I changed our arrangements a few times before arriving and after staying for 3 nights can recommend the Terrace Central B & B, and can also recommend the great people who own/manage this accommodation! Beautiful building, fantastic room (we had an apartment downstairs) and a fantastic breakfast available.

Close to EVERYTHING, clean, safe and remarkably quiet - I would recommend this B & B if you like to meet other people (over brekky or in the courtyard!) and want to be in the middle of everything. I have already recommended this to friends and family.

The only 'down-side' (for us) was the smokers (other residents) and we seemed to be walking through groups of smokers in the courtyard every time we went out and returned.

Room Tip: You can't go past the downstairs apartment (1 bedroom) if you are staying a few days because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hi Jenni, Thank you for your kind review, my staff and I really enjoy our work and it makes us happy when our guests are satisfied...I fully understand about the smokers and look forward to the day when smoking is not permitted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great B&B accomodation.
We chose this place as it seemed close to everything and we weren't dissapointed. We were able to park our car for free at the back of the hotel, and then everything was only five minutes walk away - the esplanade, the markets, cafes and pubs and even the Fremantle Goal.
The hotel itself was clean, the rooms were large withupdated modern bathrooms, The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The continental breakfast which was included was excellent with a good range of breads, cereals and fruit/yoghurts.
We would definately use this hotel agaian on any future trips to Fremantle and would highly recommend it for anyone wanting a central, very affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: The enclosed verandah is great on cool winter afternoons for sitting watching the Fremantle traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingaussie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Terrace Central.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for the reviews on the Fremantle attractions this is a great help to other guests.
I look forward to looking after you when next in Fremantle. Best regards, Barry & Cristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our stay at Terrace Central was an experience, a pleasant experience. In the evening we would sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine and a good beer and watch Fremantle go by. The breakfast was very good, you had a chance to chat to other guests. The laundry was also very good. Our room was big with all that was required but it was a bit on the dark side. we had a few niggles with our room being cleaned. Our bathroom was not cleaned for the first six days. I mentioned this to the staff and the following day it was sparkling but was not cleaned again until the vend of our stay. We also found another guests rubbish left on a chair in our room

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing my property. I like guest feed back. I appologise for the inferior cleaning service, we had 2 new staff, sorry this is not an excuse and we have dealt with this problem. thank you again for bringing this to my attention. Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in this B&B over Easter and it was a great choice. It is located just opposite the hospital, a 5 min walk from bars/restaurants etc.

We stayed in room 7 which was a little cheaper, but were more than happy with it. Room was clean when we arrived, and cleaned daily. Tea/coffee provided, and there is a TV and DVD's available also. The shower was great and the beds were comfy. Breakfast in the morning was nice, choice of cereal, toast, crumpits, fruit, yoghurt etc...

The only downside is that it was a little noisy. You can hear people walking around upstairs and the noise from the street could be quite loud, but as it was a cheaper option for us I guess you pay for what you get.

The staff were very friendly although we didn't see much of them, reception wasn't often occupied but you could help yourself to leaflets, maps etc to help you get around so we didn't actually need to speak with them.

I would definitely return to this place and would recommend if you are looking for a cheaper option in Fremantle.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubi2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us, looking forward to seeing you again. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
1.8 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fremantle
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Central B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Central B&B Hotel

Property: Terrace Central B&B Hotel
Address: 79-85 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Terrace Central B&B Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small B&B Hotel in the city centre of Fremantle, close to the Markets, , Ferry to Rottnest Island. and all tourist attractions. All rooms have ensuite bathroom, aircon, TV & DVD, Fridge/tea/coffee, Free wireless broadband internet, Free parking[subject to availability], Continental breakfast included [7.30 to 9.30 am in the dining room] . We also have executive Apartments one and two bedroom. Arrival time is needed...check in is by prearranged time only...afterhours we have a locked box facility for key collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrace Central B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing