We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little B&B in the heart of Fremantle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrace Central B&B Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrace Central B&B Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Fremantle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrogate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little B&B in the heart of Fremantle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in this B&B over Easter and it was a great choice. It is located just opposite the hospital, a 5 min walk from bars/restaurants etc.

We stayed in room 7 which was a little cheaper, but were more than happy with it. Room was clean when we arrived, and cleaned daily. Tea/coffee provided, and there is a TV and DVD's available also. The shower was great and the beds were comfy. Breakfast in the morning was nice, choice of cereal, toast, crumpits, fruit, yoghurt etc...

The only downside is that it was a little noisy. You can hear people walking around upstairs and the noise from the street could be quite loud, but as it was a cheaper option for us I guess you pay for what you get.

The staff were very friendly although we didn't see much of them, reception wasn't often occupied but you could help yourself to leaflets, maps etc to help you get around so we didn't actually need to speak with them.

I would definitely return to this place and would recommend if you are looking for a cheaper option in Fremantle.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubi2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us, looking forward to seeing you again. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
20
61
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed at the Terrace Central B&B for 2 nights in March. The best thing it has going for it is its location -- just blocks from all the action in Fremantle. The free parking in the inner terrace is nice too. But once you check in, you're really on your own. Manager checked us in, but when we needed an extra key and reported problems with in-room WiFi, there was no one to help us after a certain hour. We mentioned our issues to staff member at breakfast time and he literally rolled his eyes -- first time I've ever seen this by someone who's supposed to be providing customer service. I'm an experienced and self-sufficient traveler, but at these prices and by billing itself as a boutique B&B, you'd expect a little more serivce. Also found some things that could have been maintained better - a broken tea kettle, mold in the shower, garbage not emptied. There aren't many choices in central Fremantle, and this is probably the best one --- but don't expect great value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, this is how we improve. I am sorry if my breakfast staff did not attend to your requests properly, I have dealt with this.
Regarding staff available for service, this is as we advertise and reflects in our price [$50 per night lower than properties with 24 hour front desk] Regardsing pricing and value, it seems that you have not researched prices in Fremantle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Booked a little late for conference accommodation which was to be held at the Esplande. For those considering it, most of my collegue who stayed on site were disappointed. Not so, the terrace central. Unfortunately based on my research, quality budget options in Fremantle are few and far between. Certainly value for money was excellent. Comfort, space, good internet, reasonably quiet and good location all met expectations. Room serviced every day even though it wasn't part of the main complex. Breakfast standard continental but perfect prior to facing a day filled with endless morning and afternoon teas. Recommended (even if this sounds a little good to be true)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berri_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the positve review, we look forward to having stay again when next in Fremantle. Cheers Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The most charming, warm welcome when we arrived and all the information we needed was provided. Loved the fact we could park our hire car in the car park free of charge - WiFi was also free. We were physically taken to our room by the Manager and also given a key to the main building to access the Breakfast Room and the balcony with gorgeous couches and sofa chairs where one could read, share a drink with partner or friends or just soak in the atmoshere of South Terrace below. The minute our door was opened both my husband and myself fell in love with the ambience of the room. It was quirky yet very functional and decorated beautifully and this was only the lounge area. We stepped down to the bedroom off this and were in awe as it was built around the original 1888 Bakery and housed the ovens which have been turned into a great feature of "The BakeryRoom". There was also a kitchenette to the side of this and a step up to the bathroom which had piping hot water the minute you turned on the tap. Off the living room was a small terrace where you could sit and sip your coffee and relax with the daily paper. What blew us away the most was the cleanliness of the whole apartment and the breakfast room - they were spotless!!! We have stayed in 5 star in Australia and overseas and never have we had such pristine rooms. Terrace Central is one block from the beginning of the cafe strip and also a small strip of cafes and funky shops in the other direction. It took us 10 minutes to walk to Little Creatures Brewery so was extremely central to the buzz of Fremantle. Breakfast was a good choice of continental breakfast dishes and the staff were very friendly and helpful and constantly cleaning and topping up food items - great to have real sugar in a bowl and spreads in bowls or jars - not in packaging as most places serve. Our son lives in Perth so we are usually there once or twice a year and we will now never stay any where else but Terrace Central and I am in the throws of trying to organise a few of our friends from Echuca to join us for a week over there as the prices are very reasonable!!! A must visit place - perefect in every way!!

Room Tip: The Bakery Room if you love history and a quirky feel to a room - we adored it and would always ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
I really apreciate the time and effort that you have taken to write this review, I love being in this business and meeting folk like you...thank you. Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, air conditioned, quiet and comfortable. The small fridge is topped up with a little jug of fresh milk each day which was a nice touch to accompany the tea and coffee that you could make yourself.
the bathroom was large and airy with a reasonably strong shower.
Although free wifi was provided, we couldnt get the signal from our downstairs room so made use of the wired in desktop on the first floor instead. there was also plenty of communal sitting areas upstairs that you could use which were within wifi range.
Breakfast was lovely - a range of specialty breads and muffins to toast, cereals, fruit and yoghurt.
the only downside we found was that housekeeping seem a bit lazy. they would top up the fresh milk in the fridge each day but not the teabags? they made the bed but didnt ever sweep the floors, and the shower stall and bathroom floor were never cleaned over the entire five night stay and the tiny complimentary soaps were not replaced once used. I would still recommend this place though as its lovely, comfortable and in a great location just a short walk into the main town.

Room Tip: If you want wifi to work in your room, ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LT1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review my property. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the housekeeping, we have a high turnover of cleaning staff, seems we just get them trained then they move on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband had to have a medical procedure at Fremantle Hospital so we decided to spend two nights at Terrace Central. As well as its proximity to the hospital (my husband is unable to walk far without getting short of breath) we loved our comfy spacious room wth its quirky accessories, the staff were helpful and obliging and the free internet enabled me to keep family and friends informed. My favourite spot was the enclosed verandah overlooking the terrace (the dining area came a close second).
Pat.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the owner prior to booking like I did and he will help you select the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you Pat, Both Cristina and I loved having you and your husband in our property and are happy you felt at home. Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babylove1979
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great location, only a short walk away from the town.

Staff friendly and helpful.

There's limited parking on site, which saves money! Free internet available. And there was a payphone on site, which was handy.

Continental breakfast available, which was great - but there was more on offer then usual & more then filled us up in the morning.

We loved the quirky, charming antique furniture and overall look and feel of the place. There is a beautiful conservatory room to relax in. Our bedroom was cosy but comfortable, filled with Gaudi memrobilia... with lots of charm, only downside was that there was no bath, but that was fine for a couple of days.

Nice and clean - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babylove1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracecentral, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Hey, thank you for the great review, nice you like the quirkiness this is what we tried to achieve...thank you for taking the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Central B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Central B&B Hotel

Property: Terrace Central B&B Hotel
Address: 79-85 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Terrace Central B&B Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small B&B Hotel in the city centre of Fremantle, close to the Markets, , Ferry to Rottnest Island. and all tourist attractions. All rooms have ensuite bathroom, aircon, TV & DVD, Fridge/tea/coffee, Free wireless broadband internet, Free parking[subject to availability], Continental breakfast included [7.30 to 9.30 am in the dining room] . We also have executive Apartments one and two bedroom. Arrival time is needed...check in is by prearranged time only...afterhours we have a locked box facility for key collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Terrace Central B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing