We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Ranked #1 of 22 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding in Fremantle. As discussed in previous reviews rooms are quite small however perfect if you plan to get out and about during the day. Enjoyed the free nibbles and drinks between 5-6pm. Staff very accommodating. Good little cafe opposite (The Attic) with nice breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello Sharn P,

Fantastic review and we thank you most sincerely for making the effort to post your comments. Thrilled that you enjoyed the inhouse guest cocktail hour of our near by restaurants. Our staff are our most important asset and i am very happy to read your comments regarding staff. Our rooms are small but we do offer all guests great service and everything they could need for a few nights in Fremantle.

Thanks again.

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    85
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
185
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Good location in quiet street, close to restaurants and the docks , all walking distance, car parking excellent.
Very modern style building.
We had a Stateroom which has very good size bathroom.
We arrived on a public holiday and the staff contacted us to ensure our arrival time as they closed the reception at 5pm - very good. If we were to be later we could still access the hotel.

Room Tip: Book the Stateroom if size is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Peter G,

Great to receive your review and many thanks for taking the time to share your recommendation on line. Our hard working staff sincerely appreciate acknowledgement of their efforts and for this we are particularly grateful. To their great credit, our dedicated staff take great personal pride in the knowledge that our Guests have enjoyed their experience at the Hougoumont Hotel, and ensure we follow up with every guest to ensure they arrive safely on site.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Hougoumont Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Located just off the main South Terrace Road in central Fremantle. Beautifully decorated reception. The rooms are small but very well organized. Really appreciated complimentary Nespresso in each room. TV sat dish would be an plus for non Australians.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Jean,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your very positive review. Guests frequently comment on our location, as it really is in an ideal spot for enjoying everything Fremantle has to offer. Great to hear that you enjoyed your Nespresso Coffee selection every morning and that you took advantage of this.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Timothy Buckton
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Great room with fantastic staff. Very welcoming from the moment I got there.
Very centrally located, close to restaurants, etc. Nice new bathroom, bedroom. Comfortable bed, choice of pillows! Overall design is well thought out. Very well priced
Would definitely come back again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Luke A,

Great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at the Hougoumont Hotel and enjoyed everything the Fremantle has to offer. The Hougoumont is definitely located close to key attractions throughout the city and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Im also very glad to read that you found our beds comfortable. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We found the Hougoumont Hotel via the internet. As we had never stayed there before, we took the chance that it may not have been as good as it looked as it was shown on the web site. It turned out to be much better than we hoped. It is so very modern, good facilities, close to coffee shops, restaurants and local transport. The staff were wonderful, particularly Kobie who checked us in. She is such a friendly person and she helped us so much in our first stay in Fremantle. My wife and I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Hougoumont Hotel and I am delighted to hear our team where accommodating and we were able to assist you. Thank you for making a special mention of Kobi- she will be very happy to read this.

Hopefully we can accommodate you again in the future and you come back to Fremantle soon.

Kind Regards,

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a fantastic stay for our anniversary recently and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

The town of Fremantle is lovely and this hotel perfectly captures it's essence.

In particular, one of the receptionists Nicola was very helpful in advising us where to eat and what sights we should see while we were in town.

We would happily stay here again and recommend it to our friends and family.

Thank you to the amazing staff for their friendly & professional service.

:)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidayer12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle and chosing to spend you aniversary with us, we very much appreciate you taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive Feedback regarding our hotels Facilities and Services, I will certainly be sharing this feedback with all of our Team and will make special mention of Nicola in our staff meeting we have every week.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle again in the near future and thank you for reccommending us to your friends and family.

Warm Regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
173 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I had read the reviews prior to arriving so was well aware of how small the rooms would be. I was staying here alone and the room was just the right size. May have been a bit too small if I had my boyfriend with me.
There is a car park next door to the hotel that you buzz to get in. After that your room key lets you in.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the after work drinks are a nice touch.
Great location and the hotel accepts charge backs from the Decca restaurant (which is actually a bit pricey).
Nice amenities.
The one thing I have negative to say is that I don't think the cleaners did a good job of cleaning the bathroom daily. They did refresh the towels though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carinee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Carinee26,

Thank you both for your warm, positive, comments regarding your stay with us at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle. It is always a pleasure to receive guest feedback such as yours. I will share your comments with our team; I am sure your feedback will serve great encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. i will also be checking with our housekeepers today to ensure rooms are cleaned perfectly. Thank you for bringing this to my attention

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle

Property: Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Address: 15 Bannister St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome aboard the Hougoumont. Business or pleasure, the Hougoumont offers affordable luxury accommodation for the mobile, modern citizen in the heart of Fremantle. Your selection of accommodation comprises Superior Cabin and Stateroom. Opting for style and substance over unnecessary space, each lodging combines luxurious comfort with ultimate connectivity, including smart TVs and free Wi-Fi. 
 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing