We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I had read the reviews prior to arriving so was well aware of how small the rooms would be. I was staying here alone and the room was just the right size. May have been a bit too small if I had my boyfriend with me.
There is a car park next door to the hotel that you buzz to get in. After that your room key lets you in.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the after work drinks are a nice touch.
Great location and the hotel accepts charge backs from the Decca restaurant (which is actually a bit pricey).
Nice amenities.
The one thing I have negative to say is that I don't think the cleaners did a good job of cleaning the bathroom daily. They did refresh the towels though.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Carinee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Carinee26,

Thank you both for your warm, positive, comments regarding your stay with us at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle. It is always a pleasure to receive guest feedback such as yours. I will share your comments with our team; I am sure your feedback will serve great encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. i will also be checking with our housekeepers today to ensure rooms are cleaned perfectly. Thank you for bringing this to my attention

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 346 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great central Fremantle location, modern decor, superb bed and clean with attentive service but disappointing nonetheless. The room was small but adequate for a couple overnight. Some shortcomings, however: no chair; odd, lingering smell; tiny fridge was off and didn't cool down overnight; only one key-card for a couple; paid parking chaos (spots not marked); and no drinking glasses in bathroom.

Fantastic potential but, as is, ordinary for the price

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Jeff,

Clearly we are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and please accept our sincere apologies in this regard.

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and welcome the opportunity to qualify some of the matters raised.

I will address the key issues. First of all, a second key card will be cut in a moments notice should it be requested .Furthermore we have chairs on each level ready for any guests who need to make use of the desk/ work space. Please also note that we are in the process of changing the parking system of the hotel on site car park. In regards to the fridge, as we do not have a set mini bar, we do leave this off as many guests dont need to use it. We are simply trying to reduce power consumption. I have investiagted if their is a fault with the mini bar and it seems to be working now. In regards to glassware, there are two water glasses next the the complimentary bottles of water in every room, just by the Nespresso Coffee machine.

I do hope that the above explanation has served to clarify some of the issues raised.

At the Hougoumont Hotel we strive to provide a superior service to every Guest and therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that that we take all appropriate measures to address issues brought to our attention. I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and hope to see you again.

We thank you for your contribution in this regard.

Warm regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Hougoumont Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As far as I'm concerned the owner of this place can read me a bed time story anyday...a Justin timberlake lookalike, I'd come back here just for the views #tapdat...on a more serious note, this place is in the heart of freo, 'off' the main strip so a sound silent night sleep is easily obtained while the nightlife is a mere 20 or so meters if ur keen for a party...this place is perfect! Staff are superb, always making an effort to ensure the guests are happy. The room sizes are stated on their website so be sure to take note of this, however if u do read their website you will be nothing short of pleased at the end if ur stay. Ill definitely be coming here again, if not for the eye candy alone -the rest of the aspects of this hotel are more than pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IfTheSunshineWasMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very for your interesting feedback regarding your recent stay at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to post your views on TripAdvisor. I can honestly say this is a very different to some of our other reviews we have received but im glad the general feedback is that you enjoyed your time here.

Yours sincerely,
Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The location is great, walk to all the restaurants and can have a wine and not worry about driving. Room size although small was adequate to sleep, watch tv and shower, location made up for it, gorgeous old building with character.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi Carly,

It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your long stay with us. Indeed, we are located in one of Fremantles top locations and we trust you were able to take advantage of our proximity to visit many of the city’s highlights. Hopefully, your memorable experience and nice impressions will bring you back to the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle in the not so distant future. Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

Yours sincerely,
Timothy Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a great time at the Hougoumont staying in a Superior Cabin. I was expecting a "Formula 1" style really small room based on other reviews so was pleasantly surprised that the room, while small, was perfectly adequate for our needs (a quiet crash pad at night from enjoying family and Fremantle). The staff were fantastic, polite, genuine and personal in their service - none of this conceited and pompous "sir" business with noses in the air that some places seem to pride themselves on. The happy hour is a great idea to meet other guests if you so choose. The little coffee machine in the room was good too but they should ban decaf in the shots distributed or make sure 2 others are available to choose. The Hougoumont is ideally located to enjoy all the best that Freo has to offer very easily accessible on foot. We'd definitely choose to stay there again when in Fremantle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi Simon,

Thank you for staying at the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle. We are grateful for your review and for taking the time to post your views on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that overall you were happy with our location, service and facilities. On the other hand, we apologise most sincerely for the inconvenience cause with the decaf coffee instead of the real stuff. Rest assured I have shared your feedback together with our exec housekeeper who will no longer put decaf in the rooms unless on request. Thanks for the gift of feedback and your recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next travelling our way.

Yours sincerely,
Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I read reviews where people were not happy with the size of the hotel room, but honestly I found it fantastic.

Sure the bathroom is only suited for one person at a time but that suited me fine.

I expected the room to be tiny but there was well and truly enough space and quite frankly, it stopped it feeling so hostile as most hotel rooms do.

It was fantastic to be able to open a window and also to be able to control the airconditioning that worked superbly.

You are right in the heart of the cuppaccino strip. Yes you pay $22 a day parking but you can go in and out as you please. My previous nights hotel in the CBD was $30 each time I left! It already costs you to park in the streets here so really it is worth it.

Everything is at your fingertips and wifi is free (which is not that common) and a good speed with no measly little download limit.

The staff are very polite and helpful and the check in and check out process was very quick which was greatly appreciated.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to people.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Nic,

Thank you for your favourable review! We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel and we are pleased to know that all aspects of your stay have met your expectations. Your highlights on our caring service, comfortable rooms, and your enjoyable experience at the Hougoumont Hotel are most appreciated. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at The Hougoumont. I was so interested in the design of this hotel as its clear combining the old with the new is expetionally cool. As a regular business traveller - I loved that everything you needed from the room was contained in an economical space. Amazing finish to the rooms, with thoughtful touches. Staff were attentive and friendly. Location is outstanding - easy to pop out for a drink / dinner by foot. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDavid75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy B, General Manager at Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi David,

It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us! We are grateful to receive such delightful feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We hope your nice impressions will bring you back to the Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
29 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle

Address: 15 Bannister St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: $137 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome aboard the Hougoumont. Business or pleasure, the Hougoumont offers affordable luxury accommodation for the mobile, modern citizen in the heart of Fremantle. Your selection of accommodation comprises Superior Cabin and Stateroom. Opting for style and substance over unnecessary space, each lodging combines luxurious comfort with ultimate connectivity, including smart TVs and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing