We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs a lot of work”

Ruocco's Pizzeria e Ristorante
Ranked #51 of 332 Restaurants in Fremantle
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“needs a lot of work”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

had a quick dinner here after the football one Sunday night.

was very noisy inside but that wasn't a problem. ordered drinks quite quickly and they took about 20 minutes to arrive; glass of red and a vodka soda. I watched them sit on the bar ready to go for about 15. the waitstaff instead just continued to walk backwards and forwards around the restaurant without actually doing much.

we ordered a pizza bread to start then chilli mussels and a pasta. the pizza bread never came. our meals came maybe 20 minutes after ordering.
the mussels were really good,except the bread they came with was very hard, almost stale. the pasta with the rabbit was full of flavor but also bones which was a let down.

we ordered dessert to take away. it was revolting. the tiramisu had separated and was all watery and the mousse had no flavor. I definitely recommend skipping dessert.

there is obviously no management running ruoccos. there needs to be someone running the floor cause it is just one big mess at the moment and it could be so much better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctkt199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    64
    20
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We drove past here on a wet, windy night and saw the place was packed. No wonder, if you want a fabulous Italian meal that's generously sized, delicious and served with a smile, you must try Ruocco's. It's filled with families, and groups intent on having a good time, so if you're looking for a cozy rendezvous, this isn't the place for you. The selection is huge, and best of all, the wine is so reasonably priced that you may as well get a whole bottle rather than limit yourself to a glass.
It appears to have a thriving take-out section as well, so you might have a slight delay in settling your bill. We've been back to take away some of the frozen home-made gnocchi and we'll absolutely have to try the calzone they make fresh on the premises. It has an old-fashioned, good feeling appeal that's a winner. I'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth ausralia
1 review
“birthday dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went here on Saturday night I had been here several years ago and liked it this time was a lot different don't go there if you don't like noise we got there before 6.30pm we finally got served dinner after 8pm I ordered Gnocchi it was terrible other people In the party ordered chilli mussels which needed more chilli they also ordered scallops which like rubber the steaks were very good and the other people in the party had pizzas which they loved

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Does dessert and coffee well”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of six dining for a birthday celebration. We had booked in advance which is advisable as it was busy. We were seated in a side area down from the kitchen. The first thing I noticed was the lack of atmosphere, there was no music, there was no low lighting, there were no tablecloths, it was like a school canteen.

We waited around an hour for our main meals and had some garlic pizza and wine whilst waiting. The place was busy so the wait, whilst long, wasn't completely unreasonable.

I ordered spaghetti with garlic and olive oil, it was very poor. It was not a fresh handmade pasta, it was a poor quality light olive oil with no flavour and there was far too much garlic and not enough herbs. Very disappointing. The veggie calzone without cheese that husband had was better but nothing to write home about. Around the table, a seafood pasta was reported to be very good, steak and pork were also good but a seafood risotto was barely touched.

The dessert selected is impressive although no cheese board much to the disappointment of birthday boy. Coffees were good, go for the affogiato if you eat dairy, it is apparently fantastic.

It was around $275 for our meal which included four bottles of wine, 2 starters, 6 mains, 4 puss and 4 coffees. Not great value but not the worst in the area. They no longer take the entertainment book voucher as they've changed owners, not very helpful for all those that have paid for their vouchers!

I won't be returning, overall pretty poor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth (Coogee)
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantstic Food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went to dinner last nite at this restaurant which I believe had closed down for several months. It has opened again to better service and better food. OMG my scallopini mushroom was beautiful with 6 pieces of veal which I struggled to finish with the husbands help. He had 500g rib eye cooked to is liking Med rare this too was beautiful.
We bought a take away pizza for our teenage kids to take home without dissapointment.
Will be going again soon, dirnks very reasonable $6 a glass of wine & Heineken $6 a bottle

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oxysPerth_Coogee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruocco's Pizzeria e Ristorante also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
South Fremantle, Fremantle
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Ruocco's Pizzeria e Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing