We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Quick Visiting

After a seafood lunch, we’ve been to this popular visite point. Situated in Fremantle, Western... read more

Reviewed yesterday
mintsmoii
via mobile
Amazing place and a must see

We visited and you can see a little for free. To truly see the prison you need to take one or more... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Graeme M
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 3,564 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Fremantle
from $25.70
More Info
Reviews (3,564)
Filter reviews
3,347 results
Traveler rating
2,278
923
120
22
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,278
923
120
22
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tunnel tour night tour great escapes great tour torch light tour world heritage site exercise yards solitary confinement a real eye opener informative tour sense of humour great insight visiting fremantle interesting place well worth the visit western australia tours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,347 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

After a seafood lunch, we’ve been to this popular visite point.

Situated in Fremantle, Western Australia, this is not only the most ancient prison out there but a World Heritage Site. Initially used for convicts transported from Britain, but was transferred to the colonial government in end of 19th century for use for locally-sentenced prisoners.

There are few prison tours for tourists, as we were quite in a rush, just had a look of Gallery, Contact Visit room or so, hope that we can come again for joining their tours.

Thank mintsmoii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

We visited and you can see a little for free. To truly see the prison you need to take one or more of the guided tours, each having a different emphasis. The tours cost about $25 for the first one and $10 for each extra one.

The place is a photographers dream and it is very large, about 4x the size of "the rock" Alcatraz in San Francisco so allow plenty of time. Each tour is an hour so allowing for the free stuff and time between tours it takes 3 hours to do two tours.

The guides were really good and informative.

Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This is an authentically brilliant experience. Fun fact is that it is the most intact building, built by convicts, in the country. You will not appreciate the significance of this place if you do not just bite the bullet and pay for a tour - just do it. The tour guides are amazing and the insights are brilliant. To learn about the history of the property and some of the people who called this place home and many years. Gives you a real perspective of how tough times were back in the day. Book it!

Thank 525liamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

On a recent visit to Perth we decided to take in a prison tour.
I found Brett a most knowledgeable and amusing (given the nature of the location) tour guide I have encountered in a very long time.
His depth of knowledge and ability to relate to the entire group is a credit to him.
The tour in general was well put together and most informative.
A very worthwhile tour FOR ANY visitor or those who are interested in local and recent national history.
The graphic nature of some of the information and material may make it unsuitable for younger folk but only serves to enlighten everyone the trials and tribulations faced by inmates in this facility.
VERY worthwhile.
Noteworthy is parking adjacent to the prison is NOT FREE, the local council enforce the car park fees passionately

Thank DJ j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Public Relations Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi DJ j, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Fremantle Prison and your tour with Brett. He is a passionate and entertaining Guide and will be so pleased to know how much you enjoyed his tour. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to WA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The Fremantle Prison was operational till 1991. The guided tour gives you an overview of the prison operations and views of the prison rooms which remain unchanged till today. Worth a visit when you are at Fremantle.

Thank Ong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is a must do for anyone looking to get a better understanding of Western Australia's history. The guided tours offer a wealth of information not only about some of the prisons previous guests but also about the history of the prison itself and the living conditions experienced. We opted to do a double tour, 'Behind Bars' and 'True Crimes'. 'Behind Bars' was our first tour and this was fascinating. Unfortunately 'True Crimes' was almost exactly the same and therefore a slight waste of our time and money. Having said that, we had a lovely day and would certainly recommend either the 'Behind Bars' OR 'True Crimes' or any of the other tours on offer.

Thank Eleanor_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Public Relations Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Eleanor_Matt, thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Fremantle Prison. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your tour/s, although disappointed to hear your True Crime Tour was similar to your Behind Bars Tour, as this certainly should not be the case. Whilst there can be some cross minor over in locations, the information and stories on the True Crime Tour should be completely different than Behind Bars. We'd love to address this with your tour guide and would appreciate it if you could let us know the name of your Guides (or the date and times for your visit) so we can ensure visitors in the future do not have a similar experience. If you can please email us directly on info@fremantleprison.com.au that would be great. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to see you again on your next holiday - perhaps for the underground Tunnels Tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Talked the Missus into going to the Prison. It is National Heritage.
We did the convict tour and it was jaw dropping stuff.
The guy we had was very informative and knew his stuff.
We looked through all the main parts of the prison and for me, it was a remembrance that we live in a time and a country where we are very fortunate and should be grateful.
The stories related to prisoners and prison cells and their individuality were amazing.
Would have liked to done all the tours but ..
This is a must tour if you are in Perth / Fremantle.
Cheers

Thank partersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

When you see the tour list you might be a little put off by the prices, but the tour guides are really great, and I’d say it’s well worth it.

Thank nhajare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We did a tour which was very informative and gave a lot of stories and a general overview of the workings of the prison. Really enjoyed the tour - more than what I thought I would!

Thank dsilver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We went on this trip as part of the Ghostly Tram Tour of Fremantle which includes a fish & chip supper from Ciscerelos (bonus) The tour was excellent from start to finish. Our guide was Randall who was a cool guy and very entertaining ~ he told all the stories so well. There were many spooky moments and a few pranks by "prisoners'and also my 83 year old Dad who thinks it's hysterical to scare people in the dark. Well worth the trip as you learn the history of the prison, get totally scared and have a right laugh. Thanks Randall.

1  Thank Namaste1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FremantlePrison, Public Relations Manager at Fremantle Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Maria T, thank you for letting us know about your visit. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your Torchlight Tour with Randall, he will be so pleased. We hope to see you (and your dad) again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews