We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lock for tourists” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fremantle Prison

Fremantle Prison
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Fremantle Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #1 of 75 things to do in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fremantle Prison is one of Western Australia’s premier tourist attractions and the only World Heritage listed building in the State.The Prison was built by convicts in the 1850s and was used as a place of incarceration for almost 140 years. With solitary cells and gallows Fremantle Prison is a monument to a system of punishment that is uncomfortably recent. Fremantle Prison now holds the key to history, mystery and fun. Step inside and do time with experienced guides on a fascinating Prison Day Tour. Explore the labyrinth of tunnels 20m beneath the Prison by foot and by boat on a Tunnels Tour adventure. Feeling brave? Delve into the darker side of the Prison’s history on an eerie Torchlight Tour.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lock for tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Fremantle Prison tour is excellent. Our guide Brett was not only knowledgeable but he was funny as only Aussies can be. The 75 minute tour flew by as he took us thru every aspect of the former prison (1991) highlighted by anecdotes from events that occurred there.
The city of Fremantle is a beautiful, old port city and the prison is in within walking distance of many of the city's tourist attractions - the market, the harbour, the main street shop and restaurants, Fremantle Dockers field. We enjoyed it so much we visited twice from Perth.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TowelboyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,806
    794
    123
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunshine coast aust
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding, History at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Upon entry of the prison you are greeted by a team of passionate people who work at the prison...Costing Fantastic, well worth the $19 for an 11/4 tour. Our tour guide David was so knowledgeable and he really loves his job.

It is worth more than a look, If you are a interested in the true history of Australia this should be on your to do list.
The indigenous are people are well respected and there art is hung with pride.
I will defiantly go back to do the tunnel tour...Thank you to all ....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cosykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Freo Prison ghost tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We did the Freo Prison Ghost Tour a couple of years ago and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I am not one for these tours, however it was amazing, with unexpected scares round the corners and great stories throughout. I must say the actors are amazing! Loved it! Will be going again when I visit Perth in July this year :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank katiebabesxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Attended here 21/2/14 as a couple in late 20s with a 3 month old in a pram.

Both of us have previously been to Port Arthur in Tas and Pentridge, Melb. We also work in the law enforcement field.

We completed the 'doing time' tour with Andrew, whom was a fantastic host who was full of knowledge, interesting facts and numerous little tidbits about bits and pieces from not only Fremantle's Correctional history, but also that of other states of Australia to put things into perspective. Pretty good for a bloke to remember details of specific dates for minor things when I could barely remember what I had for dinner 3 nights earlier. Coupled with the fact he told us he holds a degree in History, it probably shows we had a good tour leader.

The site itself was extremely interesting, well maintained and gave a great insight into what prison life would have been like for inmates. It appears substantial funds have been put into maintaining the premises since it was vacated in 1991, meaning it looks very authentic as though prisoners and staff left just a few days earlier.

We toured the prison with our son in a pram and had no hassles getting about. There were also several other people with young children on the tour (aged 5-10) and the tour wasn't inappropriate/gory/too confronting for them at all.

Photos and videos were welcome to be taken and encouraged.

Highly recommended and as another author said, where else can you get cheap entertainment for so long!

Helpful?
Thank Markyj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Never heard of it before but glad I found it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Decided to hop the train from Perth to Freemantle to see what everyone was talking about. Freemantle is a neat, well preserved Australian town, but when I saw the signs pointing to the prison how could I resist? We were very short on time but the guide at the gate was fabulous and convinced us to stay and wait for the tour start at 10 am. We did and it was well worth it. Some say it is as good or better than the Alcatraz tour. This is my first prison tour. All I can say is who needs capital punishment if you are locked up in a prison for life. That is a fate worse than the easy exit death would offer a convict!

But as usual it was the guide who made the tour. Crisp, clear commentary honed down to the best facts and delivered with enthusiasm and sensitivity. He brought the place to life. For the price, the time and the experience this is a great find in Freemantle and well worth the trip from Perth.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Prison also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fremantle Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing