We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent!”
Review of Fremantle Prison

Fremantle Prison
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Fremantle Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #1 of 81 things to do in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fremantle Prison is one of Western Australia’s premier tourist attractions and the only World Heritage listed building in the State.The Prison was built by convicts in the 1850s and was used as a place of incarceration for almost 140 years. With solitary cells and gallows Fremantle Prison is a monument to a system of punishment that is uncomfortably recent. Fremantle Prison now holds the key to history, mystery and fun. Step inside and do time with experienced guides on a fascinating Prison Day Tour. Explore the labyrinth of tunnels 20m beneath the Prison by foot and by boat on a Tunnels Tour adventure. Feeling brave? Delve into the darker side of the Prison’s history on an eerie Torchlight Tour.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Indifferent!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I really think your prison experience depends on the guide you get on the day. I think 'Brett' our prison guide liked the sound of his own voice and considered himself a bit of an actor. Honestly if I had to listen to one more gaol pun badly delivered I'd have run screaming from the prison. The 5 minute talk on the price of cigarettes and comparing brands with smokers in the tour group and Brett informing us of how many he used to smoke a day was not at all informative or appropriate for the children in the group. We were interested in the history of the place not participating in a bad version of 'Prisoner'. It was interesting to see the inside workings of the prison. We enjoyed a coffee at the cafe.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belgian_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,947
    854
    130
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Very interesting and breathtaking!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I highly recommend going on this tour because it is so interesting and amazing! I did the torch night tour and my tour guide was simon who was excellent, when he was talking he was saying it in a friendly way and he always kept you watching! He wasn't a boring guide he was a fantastic one! I suggest doing the torch night tour which was fantastic, but also do the other tour as they were also very amazing and interesting as well. I would defiantly do these tours again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank saaraah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for Adults and Students”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a must do in Freo. Don't take yourself on a self guided tour, Guides such as 'Sarah' make it an entertaining and informative afternoon. 2 adults n 2children (11-8) spent hours listening looking and developing a real sense of life in the Prison. My 8 yr old had learned about Moondyne Joe so they discussed it and things were explained at a level for him. 'Sarah' also was able to explain several things in the native tongue of other visitors to the jail which would have heightened their experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I did the Tunnels Tour with friends (male and female) and it was fantastic. Our guide (Sarah) was amazing and made the experience even better. It is great value for money and historically interesting to learn the importance of this prison to the early settlement of the region. I would recommend a visit by locals and tourists alike.

Helpful?
Thank Jol_Jol_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent step back into history”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Amazing place, tours are FANTASTIC and well worth the money spent. We did a couple of tours, both during the day, and found the guides to be knowledgeable, passionate and interesting. Be prepared to walk, up stairs, down stairs and remember it was a working prison at a time when they were not soft, warm and fuzzy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fleurby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Prison also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fremantle Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing