We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trading on its reputation?”

Sala Thai Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 339 Restaurants in Fremantle
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Trading on its reputation?”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Sala Thai is an institution in Fremantle and we have been many, many times over the years and it used to be a regular haunt. We went recently on a Friday night with friends and think it is about a year since we were last there. We booked for 6.30 and I was running late. With 3 of 4 at the restaurant by 6.40pm, they were told we had to be out by 8pm. I arrived at 7pm with my entree chosen for me on the table. Sala Thai is fully licensed but allows BYO at $8 per bottle. Varied entrees were considered to be good by all - prawn wraps are recommended. Main was not bad - deep fried whole barramundi in tamarind sauce - tasty (we have had this many times before), but this time it was $65 (no-one on the table knew the price charged - 'market price'?). Another main was duck salad - which was a very ordinary, predominantly iceberg lettuce salad with a sliced single duck breast in a very sweet and only vaguely Thai dressing that lacked any hint of freshness/ zing at a rather pricey $29.90. Only one other main of pork stir fry and despite bringing our own drinks, with no dessert and a rushed Friday night dinner, we got a bill close to $200 for 4. Not a bad meal, but you can do much better than this, even in Fremantle.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A small restaurant with very attentive service.
The food was excellent. I had the NEUA YANG NAM TOK (Grilled Marinated Beef served with Spicy Hot Sauce). This particular dish comes with a health warning - it is HOT!!!! - but that's the way I like it is was delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai in the heart of Freo”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sala Thai is really delicious and for those of you who are gluten-intolerant, they offer most meals gluten-free or can sometimes make them gluten-free upon request.
I highly recommend the Red Duck Curry, Garlic & Pepper Prawns and the Chef's Special Prawns with Cashews in Tamarind & Dry Chilli sauce - all of these dishes were fantastic, as was the fried tofu as entree (not greasy or oily, very light tempura-like batter and beautifully cooked). They don't offer coconut rice which I do find a little strange as most Thai restaurants do, but this is just me being picky. None of us could fault the food at all and enjoyed regular visits whilst living in Perth. I highly recommend you try Sala Thai!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai dinner”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Six of us including two children went to this lovely restaurant for a birthday dinner on a week night. We were greeted at the restaurant entrance (I assume by the manager) and shown to our table. We had plastic chairs at our table (which wasn't a problem) however he got two cushions for my children to sit on. Service during the evening was consistent and friendly. I had the Thai beef salad which was full of flavour- yum!

I brought a cake, which after dinner they brought to table (with out me asking) with lit candles, once blown out they took cake and cut portions and delivered to our table.

We Will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love Sala Thai!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Fantastic find! Up a quiet street in Fremantle, enjoy a delicious meal and great service from Sala Thai. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HMM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Thai Restaurant also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Sala Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing