We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place but overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

These apartments are located in North Fremantle, with sea views in the pier. The neighborhood looks very fancy and beautiful but you need car to go around or to Freo city centre.
We spent three nights there, during Christmas holidays, and we really love the place. The rooms are big and comfortable, with a balconny to the pier offering sea views, small kitchen, fridge, big tv and a bath/shower bathroom. Also you have a small outdoor pool, another small indoor pool with a jacuzzi, tennis court, gym and a restaurant.
On the other hand, I think they are two negative things to take care:
- the room rates are really expensive, we paid $195 per night (it was a special online rate disccount). Considering it's not in the city centre I think is quite expensive (but the apartments worths it, just for the location)
- the internet, I don't understand how customers needs to pay for the internet connection. And, even if it isn't complimentary, $11,95 per hour I think is out of market.

Dispite of these two things, we really enjoyed our stay there, the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the rooms and location is wonderful.
Enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xaviur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Xaviur,

Greetings from the team to our friends in Spain it’s wonderful to know that so many guests from around the world are choosing to stay at Pier 21. I would also like to pass on our thanks for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community, its positive reviews like yours that encourage more readers to choose Pier 21 and I sincerely appreciate your endorsement.

It certainly sounds that overall you were able to enjoy many aspects of the hotel and I was especially delighted to read that you really 'loved the place' and found the staff to be 'very friendly'. I also noted your feedback regarding our room rates and was glad to read that although you believed they were quite high that overall they were worth it. You will also be glad to know that we have recently reviewed our internet pricing and decided that we will not only reduce the price but also increase the associated limits giving our guests even better value. Readers might also be interested to know that they never need to pay for internet, simply choose one of the many rates available on the hotels website that offer it for free. By booking through the website you can also be assured of the best rates and packages guaranteed.

Thank you again for your review and I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 429 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked Pier 21 for two nights for our wedding and it was very good. The rooms are very well appointed and the huge bed was incredibly comfortable. The block out blinds were amazing and allowed us to have a sleep-in. In the morning, we drew back the curtains and opened up to a beautiful view of the river, it was a real treat.

We made use of the pool and bbq facilities, both of which were very good. The one downside is that the complex doesn’t have direct access to the water front. You have to walk out past reception and walk around the resort in order to get to the park that is infront of the resort – this was really disappointing and really inconvenient as we wanted to sit on the grass while we ate the food we cooked on the bbq.

There are some other minor picky points – the hot water in the shower was too (scolding) hot and there were no toothbrush/toothpaste in the bathroom amenities.

I would highly recommend Pier 21.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear TamaraW10,

It's wonderful to hear from our friends in Japan and I extend a sincere thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pier 21. It certainly sounds like you had an enjoyable time and It's rewarding to know that we were able to play our small part in ensuring your wedding was a memorable one.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding access to the water side of the property, although there are several apartments and suites that feature riverfront access we do have plans to establish a new walk way which will provide all of our guests with direct access to the water and trust we will have this finalised in the near future.

It was certainly our pleasure to host you and I trust that when you next travel to Fremantle you will again consider Pier 21 for your accommodation and I look forward to welcoming you back then.


Sincerely,



Tim Newson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights was greeted very nice although when we asked if the freo markets were open we were told they weren't but in fact they were, went to our room on the 2nd floor very clean and spacious, there were tvs in both rooms which was good the view on our balcony wasnt much but it was ok, lots of kitchen utensils and pans and pots as well, the two pools were not the best as one was suppose to be heated but it wasent they were very small not a pool you wanna share with another bunch of families, bbq area was good very clean, the down sides to this hotel was no 24 hour reception no room service or lunch and dinner restaurant only breakfast so u have to drive 15min to freo cbd to see a restaurant. Other then that I wouldn't class this as a 4 star only a 3 or half at the most if they had a restaurant for lunch and dinner as well it would be a 4 star

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rhyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Rhyan S,

Greetings from the team at Pier 21 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I was delighted to read that your welcome to the hotel was 'very nice' and that you found your accommodation to be 'very clean and spacious'. On the whole though it seems that you had mixed feeling on other aspects of your stay and I apologise for any short comings that you may have experienced.

If I may respond to a couple of points you raised, I noted that you believed that the pools were not heated which I must admit comes as a surprise as we maintain the indoor pool at 30C and the spa at 34C which generally appears to be a good balance. As you correctly point out the hotel’s restaurant currently operates during breakfast only however we continue to monitor demand for other times and will certainly take your feedback into consideration when reviewing its future opening times. With a myriad of restaurant options within a 5 minute drive guests can look forward to some of Western Australia’s best food and wine. And if you’re not too sure where to dine our friendly reception team is only too happy to make recommendations, bookings and travel arrangements on your behalf. Readers interested in learning more about our beautiful city and the region in general are encouraged to visit the hotels website which offer extensive insight into the hotel and many of Fremantle’s iconic attractions and events.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel your feedback is genuinely appreciated and I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here on short notice. Fitted out in modern style. Best impression: sliding doors to balcony facing the water. Did not sued the facilities but looked to be a good gym, tennis court and pool. Not in the thick of things, so you'll need a car to drive. Thought it was quite reasonable Perth value for what is was. Friendly reception.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westsidejoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Westsidejoff,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Pier 21, I was glad to read that you found the accommodation good value and our reception team to be friendly. Hopefully the next time you are able to visit you can make use of the myriad of recreational facilities the hotel has to offer.

Thank you again and I wish you and your family a safe and prosperous New Year.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Spent the final two nights in Perth at Pier 21 (Executive 1-room apartment). I must say that it's the best decision we made.

Right after the booking online, I was contacted shortly by Pier 21 directly to confirm the booking. And upon arrival, the very friendly and warm staff assisted with the check-in most professionally and I really appreciated it especially after a long drive up from Margaret River.

I was allocated a river-view room on the 3rd level and the view was just splendid. Even my 2.5 year old son loved the room (parents with young children will understand and appreciate this). The room was clean, the fridge was well-stocked (not that we needed it), the sofa was nice to sit on, facilities in the room felt very new and very functional, and I could just go on and on.

Facilities-wise, though we didn't end up using them, the gym and pools (indoor and outdoor) were very well-maintained. For those who need a bit of work-out or dip in the pool, there's no need to step out of the apartment vicinity at all.

I'm an avid photographer and I managed to get some star-trail and sunrise shots from the balcony of the room. If you are willing to wake up early, you could view the lovely sunrise with the Swan River at the foreground from the balcony as well.

Highly recommended if you are looking at a place that's away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiawang31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Jiawang31,

Greetings from the team at Pier 21 and thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay. It's great to read that you thought choosing Pier 21 was the best decision you made.

I noted in your review that you are an avid photographer and if it’s not too much trouble would love to see some of your photos, the star trail images in particular sound amazing, my email is gm@pier21.com.au if you would be so kind.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

After struggling to find accommodation in Freo for one night, we were able to book in at pier 21. Although a little bit out of our budget price range, it was worth it. From the minute we checked in, we felt like valued customers. We walked into our room and found a hand written note in a welcoming card. The apartment had such a relaxed, calming feel as we overlooked the river. Family members made use of pools and spa. Sunday morning breakfast cooked in the restaurant for us by the chef, was a great way to finish off this delightful stay. The only problem we encountered was the tight fit in the car park, being from the country we have a large 4wd with roof rack it was very hard to squeeze into the bays.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Rat74,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Pier 21, it was certainly a pleasure to share it with the team who were more than delighted to receive such positive feedback. No doubt the highlight of the review for me though was the title 'loved the personalised service' this really sums up the experience we strive to provide for our guests and it was fantastic to learn that on this occasion we achieved our goal.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the car park, some of the undercover bays can be a little tight and would welcome an email from you the next time you stay so that we can reserve one of the larger bays for you (gm@pier21.com.au) Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor community and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Quite a small two roomed apartment. Lovely views across the marina. Helpful and friendly staff. Shower noise from rooms above was annoying. The location of this apartment was a short drive outside of the main eateries and main shopping areas, but had no trouble commuting and finding paid parking if we wanted to go anywhere. Our room had a shower over the bath which was quite slippery, especially difficult for my ageing mother, would request a walk in shower next time and on the upper floor.

Room Tip: An upper floor would mean less shower noise. Rooms on the marina have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear tizlizzie,

Greetings from the team at Pier 21 and a sincere thank you for sharing your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community. It's wonderful to read that you were able to enjoy the beautiful marina views and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I also noted your concerns regarding the noise from the shower above and apologise for any discomfort, if possible it would be a greatly appreciated if you could advise the room number so we could investigate. Thank you also for your feedback regarding your Mother as you rightly point out an open plan bathroom would be more suitable and would be only too delighted to offer this feature on your next stays.

Thank you again from myself and the team, we do sincerely appreciate the feedback and trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
1.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
2.3 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
44 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
213 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Address: 7-9 John St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: $136 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 21 Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the banks of the Swan River, the award winning Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in North Fremantle enjoys unrivaled views of both the river and adjacent marina. Comprising 47 premium apartments and luxurious Suites, every detail of our accommodation has been carefully designed to ensure you’re travelling pleasure. With every room completely refurbished in 2012, Pier 21 offers an unequaled mix of luxury and technology, whether it’s streaming movies to your 40 inch LCD television or enjoying the chic Biology amenities you will quickly discover that Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in Fremantle has left nothing to chance. With stunning rooms and vistas along with warm attentive service Pier 21 sets the standard for luxury apartment accommodation in Fremantle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 21 Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 21 Apartment Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing