We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pier 21 Hotel Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pier 21 Hotel Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed in the one of the rooms with view to the river, fantastic view ! The room was great because it actually had 2 separate rooms which I wasn't expecting, this is great for families that want to pay for one room but have kids to stay there too. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and the hotel in general was very peaceful and relaxing. Loved the indoor pool for my daughter in a cold night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the river, It is awesome and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejo_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Alejo_Melbourne,

Greetings from the team at Pier 21 and thank you sincerely for the very positve review of your recent stay, its great to read that you enjoyed the fantastic views and even posted a few lovely photos. Hopefully the next time your thinking of holidays you will again think of Pier 21. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    148
    37
    7
    10
See reviews for
106
162
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love coming to this wonderful hotel. The hotel is beautifully situated on the swan river. Always quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The staff are wonderful here too which is a credit to the management team. Always smiling and ready to help. The room are beautifully appointed with luxury fittings. The breakfast is amazing too. Defiantly a must if you stay here.

Look forward to coming back here next time. Thanks Pier21!

Room Tip: Must try the Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear VB,

Welcome back to Pier 21 and thank you sincerely for the lovely review. You have described perfectly the experience we strive to provide and it’s rewarding to know that on this occasion we achieved our goal.

It was certainly our pleasure to host you again and we look forward to the next time we may be of service.


Sincerely,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice before and decided being winter and as it has an inside pool this would be a good place to stay.The quality of all amenities is extremely high, staff are very helpfull, the only thing that lets it down is it is quite difficult to get dinner and general shopping.The road layout is a mix of the highways and oneway streets and is the last thing you need after a long drive.We under stand this is not the hotels fault, but when booking they could send a clear map of the streets.The view is lovely, but due to the trouble of getting dinner when you have had a long day of travel with kids we are not likely to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thommo051966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear thommo051966,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pier 21, its great to read that you were impressed be our range of amenities and found the staff to be very helpful.

I also noted your concern regarding the street layout and trouble navigating the area and thank you for the feedback. As no doubt you would appreciate hotel bookings can now be made over a myriad of different websites and other channels and for the most part we have little ability to add to the confirmation information, I would however recommend the use of our own website to make bookings which not only provides a map but also the best rates and packages guaranteed. We have also recently introduced our own complimentary map which details the local area including the Fremantle CBD and provide this to each guest on check in. Guests are also welcome to request one prior to arrival and we would be delighted to post one out in advance.

I do hope that your frustration with the local roads won’t put you off from returning and trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great hotel that is quiet, has good facilities, ok location - but car or cab needed, good clean rooms that are modern. Comfy bed.

No Foxtel - come on guys, really, every other hotel I stay in (about 200 nights per year) has Foxtel (pssst, it's kind of expected).

Internet costs $$ too, which is a shame.

arrived late'ish - 2030-2100hrs and couldn't get anything at hotel to eat

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Big J,

Greeting from the team at Pier 21 and thank you for your sharing your feedback with us. On the whole it sounds like you had an enjoyable trip although I do note a couple of concerns which I would like to address below.

As you point out the hotel does not currently feature Foxtel , which is for the most part due to very little demand and the very high cost of such a service which inevitably increases room rates, we are however continuing to look at its possible implementation and will certainly announce any updates on our Facebook page. Readers may be interested to know that the hotel does feature a sophisticated on demand movie system that offers all the latest films fresh from the cinema, most prior to DVD release. Each room also features the unique Guest Link system that allows anyone to simply connect their laptop or other device to the unit and display movies or other material directly on to the TV. In relation to the cost of internet, we took the decision to invest in a premium system that offers a genuine high speed service in lieu of most free systems which generally don't offer the speed or security that our guests demand, I would however like to suggest that for future visits that perhaps you consider one of our many rates that include internet for free. Regarding your last point although we are not currently opening our restaurant for dinner we do offer a range of gourmet meals and ice-creams as part of the mini bar and although not suitable for everyone they do offer a great alternative for many guests who simply prefer to stay in or arrive very late. There are also numerous restaurants that offer a reliable delivery service to the hotel that have proven very popular. I do trust that I have been able to respond adequately to your concerns and trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in a fabulous suite earlier this month for 4 nights with my partner and thoroughly enjoyed the luxury room and aspect fronting onto the Swan River. The views from our room were ideal for enjoying a lazy bottle of Pinot or two and encouraged morning walks. We had a hire car for our stay and I would recommend having a vehicle to more easily access other parts of Fremantle or wider Perth - not essential but makes the sites and restaurants more accessible. The room was a pleasure and clearly a considered approach to comfort and technology fit. The small tubs of ice cream in the larger than expected fridge were a welcome reward after each walk! We had breakfast at the hotel each morning and found the staff and chef to be most helpful and accommodating of requests. Poached eggs and omelette with sides was my staple and I visited the automatic pancake machine with a generous deposit of cream and maple syrup from the buffet too. Really a great stay and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Suite 10 ground floor - superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear PGerard,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Pier 21. It certainly sounds like you had an enjoyable four nights. I'm delighted to read that you were impressed by the mix of comfort and technology in our rooms, we certainly worked hard through our recent refurbishment process to ensure our guests were provided with unrivalled features and technology and it’s rewarding to know they have been warmly received.

I’m also please to read that you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating and have taken the liberty of passing on your feedback to the food and beverage team who were delighted to be recognised.

Thank you again for sparing us some of your valuable time and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pier 21 in the very near future.


Sincerely,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I came with my husband whilst he was on a work trip. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and the room clean and well furnished. The hotel is right on the edge of the river which made for lovely views.
Only things to keep in mind are the lack of close transport or restaurants, so if you plan to stay here it would be better to have a car. Also, I found it a little frustrating that we had to pay extra for internet, and movies cost $16 each through the hotel... A little steep I think....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taziara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Taziara,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Pier 21. On the whole it sounds like you really enjoyed the hotel and I'm delighted to read that you found your room to be clean and well furnished. I did note though that you expressed concern regarding the cost of the internet and movies and would like to suggest that you consider one of our packages that include both services for future stays.

Readers might also be interested to know that we have just upgraded our internet system to meet the demands of the corporate traveller and now offer the one of the fastest, most reliable services in the area.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is certainly highly valued and we look forward the next time we may be of service.


Sincerely,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel self contained apartment on the Swan river in north fremantle. Clean and secure with friendly staff. Self contained kitchen was great. There is a gym, tennis court , pool and small indoor heated pool for your leisure as well.

Peir 21 is located a good 25 minute walk from fremantle but it is manageable. There are bikes that you could hire in fremantle to get yourself around. A car is required for eating out at night or a taxi at least.

Overall good accomodation in a lovely peaceful location on the swan river.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindatimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear belindatimson,

Greeting from the team at Pier 21 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It certainly sounds like you had a great time and I'm delighted to read that you found the staff to be friendly and your room clean and secure. As you mention in your review bikes and scooters are available for hire in Fremantle and rentals can be arranged in advance. We are also looking at the possibility of offering bikes for guest use directly from the hotel and hope to have this service in place in the near future.

Thanks you again for you’re for your positive review and I trust we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to Pier 21 in the near future.


Sincerely,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Property: Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Address: 7-9 John St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 21 Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the banks of the Swan River, the award winning Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in North Fremantle enjoys unrivalled views of both the river and adjacent marina. Comprising 47 premium apartments and luxurious Suites, every detail of our accommodation has been carefully designed to ensure you’re travelling pleasure. With every room completely refurbished in 2012, Pier 21 offers an unequaled mix of luxury and technology, whether it’s streaming movies to your 40 inch LCD television or enjoying the chic Morrissey amenities you will quickly discover that Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in Fremantle has left nothing to chance. With stunning rooms and vistas along with warm attentive service Pier 21 sets the standard for luxury apartment accommodation in Fremantle and was recently awarded “Best Deluxe Accommodation” at the Western Australian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pier 21 Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 21 Apartment Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing