We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The first thing that struck me was how friendly the staff at Pier 21 were. Thanks for the confirmation booking call as I booked through wotif and to Rebekah for her warm handwritten welcome - it added a nice touch. Also thanks to the breakfast staff - Hands down the nicest pancake breakfast I've ever had! (Be careful with wotif as I had booked for 2 adults, 2 kids but the front office lady said the booking only showed for 2 adults.)

The hotel itself is in a good location - we chose it for its proximity to the Royal Show. Our 2brm ground floor apartment #9 was cosy and clean with a view of the pier and boats moored. The beds were large and comfy - my two toddlers slept soundly as did hubby and I.

A tiny thing where there is room for improvement is having a mini bar checklist with prices in order to check off items as they are consumed instead of having to rely on memory to tell the front office staff what was consumed. Also staff name badges would be good so I can know who to thank personally in reviews like this. Actually 1 more thing - not sure if this applies as my booking had only registered 2 adults but having a front door that also locks from the inside as my toddlers could have escaped by just turning the handle! Maybe other apartments have this safety feature?

We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear PerthLulu,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that you found Pier 21 to be your 'Home away from home' as I think this is one of the greatest compliments we could receive.

It's also great to read that you found the team to be warm and welcoming and know both our Chef Deo and receptionist Rebekah will be thrilled to have been mentioned in your review. It would seem Deo's pancakes and omlettes are proving very popular with our guests and as a small thank you we have placed several of Deo's receipes on our Facebook page and will add a new one each week. Please see link below.

http://www.facebook.com/Pier21ApartmentHotel

I have taken the liberty to check why your booking was missing your two children and it would appear to be a small glitch in the data transfer from Wotif to our system which should now be resolved and I thank you for highlighting this to us. Thank you also for your suggestion of a mini bar 'checklist' I think its a great idea and will put this in place in the coming weeks.

You mentioned that your door did not have an internal lock to prevent opening from the inside, its certainly a valid point and I will look into how we can incorporate such a feature in to our electronic door security system.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such an indepth review, you have provided some great feedback and will use it to continue improving the guest experience at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    151
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
110
166
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurieton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pier 21 was the highlight of a trip where we stayed in 4-5 star accommodation for a week. If the others were 4-5 stars, Pier 21 was a 6-7. The units were the cleanest we stayed in and although on the cosy side in size for a family of 4 their great design provided great comfort and privacy. And the view of the harbour, marina and both commerical and pleasure boats was wonderful. But the best thing by far was the staff, and not just one or two but everyone of we came into contact with. They were so nice and helpful and great smiles.The friendly chef cooking to order your breakfast out in the dining room was a great touch - our daughter delighted in her poached eggs on smoked salmon each morning. She is sadly back to reality this week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour and make sure you find time to have a relaxing breakfast o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreehouseRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear TreehouseRetreat,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Each morning I read through any reviews with the team and I know it made their day to be read your lovely comments.

To be rated 6-7 stars is a fantastic compliment and to know that we have the cleanest room you stayed a credit to the housekeeping team.

As you mention in your review it is the team that really makes the difference between an average and excellent stay and I was delighted to read that you found all the staff to be helpful and always smiling.

I have also passed on your review to our breakfast Chef Deo, who is always excited to read that our guests loved his breakfast, hopefully it wont be too long before your daughter can enjoy his poached eggs and salmon again.

Thank you again for you lovely review, it was certainly our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location but minuscule 1 bedroom appartment. Not very clean & microwave in room 32 had baked on cheese which looked as of it had been there a long time.Bins in room not emptied daily & bags of rubbish & cleaning gear left around lift area. Reception & breakfast staff @ location excellent but managemt should sharpen up cleaning staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Felicity,

Thank you for your review of Pier 21 Apartment Hotel. Firstly let me apologise for the microwave not being spotlessly clean, we do have extensive checks in place to ensure that all of our rooms are impeccably presented however it would seem that on this occassion we failed to complete those checks which is greatly regrettable. I have taken this opportunity to review our checks with the housekeeping team long with the other items mentioned in your review and thank you again for bringing them to our attention.

On a positive note I am delighted to read that you found the restaurant, reception staff and location to be excellent and hope that you will give us the priviledge to welcome you back again in the future.


Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everything at this hotel was fantastic from the great check in experience to the room to the wonderful breakfast (which was cooked to order by the very busy and helpful chef and was so tasty). The location is wonderful and right on the river with a roomy balcony to enjoy the view. The rooms are beautiful and modern fixtures and there is nothing that is overlooked, including things that are often missed in other locations (such as something so basic as salt and pepper shakers which most apartments do not provide). The location is a bit out of the busier part of Fremantle which provides a secluded getaway in the middle of the city. All in all, I loved my stay and will stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with lift access as it was a bit of a pain to lug my bags up and down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Helen T,

Thank you for taking the time to review Pier 21 Apartment Hotel. It's a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback from a seasoned traveller and to read you had a 'fantastic' experience at Pier 21 enjoying the small touches which often makes the difference between an average or exceptional stay.

We are very fortunate to have a great Chef in the Breakfast Lounge and its a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed his personalised service and I will pass on your reveiew to him.

Thank you again and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pier 21 in the near future.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Our group rented two rooms which we were all very impressed with, having all the most modern items including TV's. The rooms and beds were very good and the decor was great. Our pricing included a breakfast which was sensational, having a chef cook a hot meal the morning was just what we needed. Would diffinately recommend

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Classik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Classik H,

Thank you for the lovely review of Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to our Chef Deo who was really thrilled to be mentioned in your review. Thank you again and I trust we will have the privilege of welcoming you again to Pier 21 in the near future.

Best regards,

Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moora, WA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed over night in an executive one bed apartment. Haven't stayed before but we really enjoyed it and will probably book again. Balcony overlooking the river was lovely. The room was clean and welcoming. Got excited as there was even a tea pot ! Normally gets overlooked in hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woollysheeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Wollysheeep,

Thank you so much for your positive review of Pier 21 Apartment Hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful river views and you found the rooms to be clean and welcoming. I read in your review that you enjoy your tea and wanted to let you know that we have just upgraded the tea service to the exclusive T2 brand which will include a selection of silk tea bags in each room. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Pier 21 in the near future.

Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having to travel from the country to Perth often we have found the rates for accommodation in Perth have sky rocketed for all the wrong reasons. It was so great to find a property that was a great price and then what we found when we got there blew us away. This property has prime positon on the river front, the apartments are modern, clean and very comfortable and the breakfast and breakfast room are great
Being in the hospitality industry ourselves we would have no hesitate in recommending not only our friends but our own guests looking for accommodation in Perth to choose this property.
Our stay was only for one night but was excellent. We will be back, keep up the great work

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Debbie966,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, it certainly means alot coming from our industry peers. The team does take a lot of pride in the hotel and its great to hear that on this occassion we were able to surpass your expectations. I trust that this will be the first of many visits and I look forward to the next time we are able to welcome you back to Pier 21 Hotel.

Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Property: Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Address: 7-9 John St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 21 Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the banks of the Swan River, the award winning Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in North Fremantle enjoys unrivalled views of both the river and adjacent marina. Comprising 47 premium apartments and luxurious Suites, every detail of our accommodation has been carefully designed to ensure you’re travelling pleasure. With every room completely refurbished in 2012, Pier 21 offers an unequaled mix of luxury and technology, whether it’s streaming movies to your 40 inch LCD television or enjoying the chic Morrissey amenities you will quickly discover that Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in Fremantle has left nothing to chance. With stunning rooms and vistas along with warm attentive service Pier 21 sets the standard for luxury apartment accommodation in Fremantle and was recently awarded “Best Deluxe Accommodation” at the Western Australian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 21 Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 21 Apartment Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing