We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fothergills of Fremantle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fothergills of Fremantle
Ranked #6 of 22 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
perth
1 review
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

After an exhausting wedding day it was a breath of fresh air to come to Fothergills for our honeymoon. Not only was the accomodation absolutely beautiful and comfortable but the staff were warm, friendly and inviting. We were greeted as we arrived and our room which held a beautiful four poster carved bed with views overlooking the ocean and Fremantle was just perfect. We had all the privacy we needed and lots of room to relax and just enjoy. Breakfast was sooo good. We will definitely be returning to Fothergills in the future and wish to thank all the staff there for everything they did to make our stay both enjoyable and memorable. We have stayed many places before but can see that Fothergills will soon become our favourite. Thank you again. Matt and Lisa Clarke

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank saintlymattsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    39
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
95
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pusan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

I love travelling so this Feb, i travelled Perth and Fremantle with my husband for 8 days. My Korean friend recommended Fothergills of Fremantle to me. I wrote Suzy(manager) about my booking via e-mail and she replied very quickly and politely.

When my husband and i arrived at Fothergills, Suzy warmly welcomed us. Surprisingly, she greeted us saying hello in korean.

For 8 days, we stayed at the Samson room which was well decorated with fantastic paintings. The room was so comfortable that we slept everynight very well.

Suzy and Tasha cooked delicious breakfasts for us and Mr.Cooke(the owner) kindly showed us his art collection. It was awesome!

We really enjoyed staying at Fothergills and we are planning to stay Fothergills again within 2 years.

I would like to strongly recommend this B&B to travellers....

  • Liked — comfortable room, friendly staff, yummy breakfasts
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HyunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

Friendly and helpful staff and relaxed atmosphere. Clean and nicely decorated rooms. Nice breakfast. Good location with only five minutes to Fremantle city centre by foot.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Traffic noise from nearby road
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_and_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

“B&B” falls short at categorizing Fothergills. Both components are top notch, but the remainder of the place and people adds a good deal to that. I spent ten days there while on a tight conference schedule, and the place became a very welcome relaxing haven. My room (Samson) was very large, complete with sofa, armchairs, fireplace, and uncommon quality furniture. A westward terrace overlooking the city and the Indian Ocean afforded gorgeous sunsets, adding to the enjoyment of some of the few thousands (literally) books in a section of the proprietor’s library just outside my room, well stocked with local, travel, geography, and other genres. He (David) and his staff (Kyi, Suzie, and Tasha) were truly friendly and helpful throughout my stay, suffering my frequent nights at work when I took hold of the breakfast conservatory for max wifi link--my room was farthest from the access point and the link was somewhat weak. We enjoyed delightful chats and wine, and the other guests at the superb breakfast table were just as nice and, either seasoned travellers coming from all over the world or young couples on a weekend outing from the city, quite interesting as well. Almost as interesting were also the many art pieces (yes, originals) scattered all over the place, including the rooms and the garden, from David’s own collection. Indeed, staying there was, as others have commented, much like coming over and old friend’s home.
There was one single less-than-bright spot. It was not the distance to Fremantle’s center, which I found was basically no issue (a mere 10-minute walk to restaurants and shops at my stride), neither the tariff, which seemed good value to me in view of what was in it, and I got one night free because of a long stay. However, Ord Street appears to be a major commuter trunk and supports some traffic in early morning. Silence freaks or oversleepers may find Samson and another room on the terrace (O’Connor I believe) a bit noisy on weekdays, whereas the other two rooms face inland and may be quieter. Double glazing doesn’t seem to be as common in that latitude as it is in mine, but retrofitting it should certainly help subdue the road noise.
In my profession (science) it is common to travel often and far, although less so to return to more than a few chosen places around the world. But I should certainly try to add this one to that short list.

  • Liked — All
  • Disliked — Street
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Arctosouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

When I decided to reward myself with a short vacation, I wanted something different from the usual chain hotel that looks pretty much the same everywhere in the world. Fothergills is like a breath of fresh air in that it's more like staying with a close, caring friend than just a B&B. The owner put a lot of thought into all the smallest details, and the rooms are truly exquisite.

I came down with the flu on the second of my stay. To my surprise, the lady who was in charge (I think her name was Suzie..?) brought me breakfast in bed...along with some aspirin! She didn't have to do that, but it was a sweet and thoughtful gesture that worked like a miracle medicine, as I was back on my feet in record time.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels and have ordered more room service than I can remember, but this has to be the most special one of all. Nothing can compare to someone doing that little something extra for you when you're thousands of miles away from home. Keep up the good work, Fothergills! :-)

  • Liked — The personal touch, warmth and hospitality.
  • Disliked — Can't find anything I dislike!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gingerbread_genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

Having read the glowing reviews my expectations were high. The rooms are indeed beautiful, the location not bad.
However, the way I was treated by the staff goes beyond anything I have ever experienced before. I will not go into details, but I was insulted, treated extremely poorly and made to feel most unwelcome. I travel frequently and am usually happy with my surroundings. Not at Fothergills! I assume that they will attempt to characterise me as some kind of lunatic- I am a professional person with successful relationships and an extremely happy life. Unfortunately, my stay in Fremantle was spoiled by their lack of understanding of the concept of hospitality.

  • Liked — The physical environment is beautiful
  • Disliked — The staff ( excluding the charming breakfast lady)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fashmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FothergillsFremantle, Owner at Fothergills of Fremantle, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
It is disappointing to read such a review as it tells only half a story. There was indeed a difference of opinion with my manager as the guest appeared in the office very agitated about her inability to connect to our wirless internet. She interrupted whilst another guest was being attended to and was asked to wait a moment. She was understandably upset as she had an important lecture to give the following day and needed to bring her presentation up to date. Unfortunately it seemed that her laptop was not wireless capable. To calm her down I telephone a nearby restaurant and sent her off to supper (with the food and wine entirely at my expense) whilst I tried to sort her computing problem out. It is sad that this gesture which I thought quite generous is reported as being treated poorly and made unwelcome.
David Cooke, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

More than a B&B. Fothergills is like staying in a friend's home. The rooms and buildings are superbly decorated so that you feel both comfortable and aesthetically pleased!
The uniqueness of Fothergills is beyond description. My wife and I have traveled Asia and the US extensively and we know there will never be another stay quite to the level of Fothergills. We will be back!
D&M

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Clothes washing time limited
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dhcShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.0 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hamptons Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fothergills of Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fothergills of Fremantle

Property: Fothergills of Fremantle
Address: 18 - 22 Ord St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fothergills of Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning heritage 19C houses with spacious rooms all comfortably furnished and decorated with paintings and sculpture. Feast on our generous cooked and continental breakfast at modest cost. Watch the sunset over the ocean from our verandas. Enjoy the outdoor art in our peaceful flower-filled courtyards. A short walk from the centre of town, trains, ferries and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fothergills of Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing