We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just the best hostel so far !!!
Amazing rooms, lots of space, friendly people and really welcome.
U won't need anything as the sell beer, wine and tobacco, and is not possible to get bored, tennis table, cinema, tv, music, free Internet and football matches.
If u stay in Fremantle that's the best place !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for a week in February 2013 and really liked it, we loved that it had a girls only area with its own tv and kitchen area. It's good cos they have camera's in the kitchen to make sure its fair and everyone cleans up after themselves, we cooked in the kitchen loads. The hostel is in a great location and is close to the beaches and also shops, bars and restaurants. The only thing that I did notice is that everyone goes off in to different groups and don't really mix that much with each other i.e the Italian's will all sit together and so will the French and the British and Irish stick together. I didn't find it quite as friendly as other hostels I've stayed at but saying that I met some great prople there so don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What an amazing time I spent here. Arrived here not knowing what to expect but was quickly greeted by a very lovely German man. He showed me my room and all around the hostel. Everyone was so friendly and happy to help.

It is the life of fremantle and is most definitely the party place! Only thinking I would be here for a few weeks...6 months later I was so upset to leave! It is most definitely my home from home and has made my trip in Australia!

Would recommend anyone to stay here- it was the most amazing time ever!

Made some great friends here & the staff are more like friends always getting involved in what your up too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swansea111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everyone is very welcoming and make an effort to make sure I had everything I need. All the staff and guests get along really well and the atmosphere is fun and relaxed. There are hostel events several nights a week as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crissymichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Quite possibly the best time of my life, my first stint here lasted 8 months and missed it massively when i went to do my farmwork. Needless to say after i finished and 5 days in melbourne i was straight back on a plane to the Old Firestation. Friendly crowds, a massive and varied juke box, first rate kitchens with walk-in fridges open 24hours. Epic parties, more than helpful staff, cheap dominoes and movie nights. The place is cleaned from top to bottom every morning and a thorough room clean once a week. Alot of the small things covered here e.g. cuttelry, plates and glasses with your sheets and a big washbag. Why people go to northbridge when you have this spot of paradise available i will never know. located two minutes walk from the train and bus terminals. Quite simply put you have to be stark raving mad to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanuk1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I LOVE OFS!!! Its an amazingly beautiful place full of gorgeous people and staff you would happily give a reach around too any day of the week!! Right in the heart of Freo, 2mins to the beach and 2mins to the train/bus station. In this hostel is everything you could possibly want, free internet, big t.v with a hell of a lot of movies on the hard drive, pool table, ping pong, free jukebox, the biggest common areas known to man and the friendliest and most helpful staff you could ever wish for!! So if you do come to Freo and you don't stay in the OFS, your doing it wrong! Go home and re-think your life!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

As you arrive to OFS you feel like you're at home. People are nice and friendly, good parties but even moments on your own when you need it. I've met really good friends there, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.2 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
0.1 mi away
Fremantle Hostel Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Fremantle Prison YHA
Fremantle Prison YHA
#4 of 26 in Fremantle
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle

Address: 18 Phillimore St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range: $17 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fire Station it's the best and most iconic hostel in Fremantle. Come home to our funky, converted Firestation and become one of the many who just can't leave! With staff committed to providing helpful travel advice, job assistance and the latest info on events and attractions in and around Fremantle, it's no wonder this place sticks on people. Facilities include laundry, outdoor cinema (complete with Foxtel), Netflix, job board, job finding service, your own dish set and locker, and a 24-hour common area with a fully equipped kitchen, free internet access, free WiFi free play station 4, free pool table, free coffee & tea and free movies! But don't get caught inside and miss our awesome outdoor courtyard complete with over 20,000 songs on our self serve jukebox, a free BBQ, fussball table, ping pong and our famous monthly theme parties. Our female guests can even enjoy an exclusive common area, kitchen and shower facilities just for the ladies! If our endless amenities don't take up all your time, Fremantle city will! Whether you are after museums, beaches, markets, shopping or just a great coffee on a sunny afternoon, The Old Firestation is right around the corner. We are also only a three minute walk from the transit centre, making getting here or day tripping to Perth easy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Fire Station Backpackers Hotel Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing