We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundancer Backpackers Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ok, but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was large, friendly and had plenty of activities downstairs such as pool, ping pong, swimming pool. TVs, xbox, internet and a bar.
It was not very clean, rooms are old and daggy, bathroom had spiders.
There were mainly long term residents so not as many willing to make friends, and there was a large majority of men, so while I was in an all girls room, everywhere else it was very male dominated.
No free internet either.
The location is perfect, close to beach, town, info centre, train station.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_travller368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    10
    9
    18
See reviews for
2
10
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Great staff. Big lounge area with big couches and loads of TV and movie channels. They sell cheap drinks and have a free BBQ every Tues. There's a pool in the back, and a ping pong and a pool table out front. Fun fun fun!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaillinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Lived here for many months now & think the place is awesome! Very chilled, a brilliant laugh & the staff are are sound & friendly!! Its in a great place right in the heart of Fremantle where there are many bars & restaurants! Your guaranteed to have a brilliant time here!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean_Galloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Everything is in the title.

If you want to sleep, don t go overthere. But if you want to have a great time and if yuo zant to meet hips of crazy people, this is the perfect place for you.

the situation is good and you got a swimming pool.
You just have to book in advance because it s always full, and if you don t like french people, forget about it :D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kharamazof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I'll give credit for the great location. It's very accessible to shops and free bus services.

The hostel is very filthy overall: cockroaches roam around the kitchen floor and the couches in the common room are black-mouldy. The kitchen is under equipped and the fridge has little bug inhabitants at the bottom shelf. The hostel accommodates a high number of long term occupants, which results in rubbish (& items left by previous occupants) build up in the rooms.

The laundry is just as disgusting- people's uncollected clothes are dumped in a pile. Every morning, I witness the handling & washing of the linen and the blankets. It looks they've hired a hostel occupant to the job; he always works topless and he honestly looks like a drug addict. The other female worker works with a beer on one hand and a cigarette on the other. The laundry area where they do the job is twice as filthy and blankets are all left on the floor.

Totally inhabitable place unless you're a person with very low standards.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first & most probably our last try at a backpackers in Fremantle.
We called ahead to secure a room (double e suite) that was easy & fine. We arrived in the evening to another reception staff member who gave the really basic info & even when asking questions there was no useful answer other than ask the morning staff.
The room, oh my! This was grim, basic, depressing especially for $85 dollars plus $10 dollar key charge!
The double bed had a single bunk bed on top so you have the view of the decomposing mattress above. The once upon a time yellow wall was dirty with substances. The bin was still full from the previous occupants. The floor was dingy. The shower curtain didn't fulfil its duty flooding the bathroom floor. The door had a Yale lock that I could easily open without a key. Poor lighting. All adding to the depressing vibe.
Oh and someone did try coming into the room after midnight with his lady "friend". The boyfriend opening the door in just his undies may have been a mood killer - what a shame...
The next morning another member of staff about the free wifi advertised on the website which suddenly turned out to be not so free. Also mentioned how 2 randomers tried coming into our room - pointless really.

They did have free tea and coffee. This is when I found the sparkinling, clean & tidy kitchen - I wish!

Also had parking available on the website. When there we were told the car park is full. So on street parking we stayed until the 9am-5pm can only stay for 30min kicked in.

Otherwise this would be great to meet others & make connections in the large first floor layout that includes table tennis, pool table, game consoles & games, bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a great time here and met so many bloody cool ppl ... The staff are more than welcoming and there is never a dull moment here even at 5am when the night ends. Right in the heart of freo this is the best place to stay to meet ppl and then explore the scene ..... Also the bar and pool are a must

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundancer Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundancer Backpackers Resort

Property: Sundancer Backpackers Resort
Address: 80 High St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundancer Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This funky backpackers is located in a beautifully restored 110 year old heritage building situated in the heart of Fremantle. It's many features include large spacious rooms, SWIMMING POOL, cheap bar, 24 hour access, open plan kitchen with 4 separate cooking stations and numerous fridges, laundry, free pool tables and FREE WIFI. In the best cafe and entertainment area, close to all amenities, right near the famous Fremantle Markets, Bathers Beach, Maritime Museum & Sailing Boat Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Sundancer Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing