We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck - Stay away from this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundancer Backpackers Resort
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yuck - Stay away from this place!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here with my dad and partner for 1 night. We have stayed in some lovely backpackers hostels in the past that have been clean, basic and have had great amenities. This hostel though was disgusting. When you enter the foyer, the walls smell of old food. We were asked to collect a fluffy blanket (which hasnt been washed since the last guests) off the floor of the foyer on the way up to our room. The building is 3 storeys high with a nice big staircase... but the stairs are sticky and dont look like they have ever been washed. Our room had a double bed with a single bunk on top. The walls were covered in brown smears and there were old fitted sheets hung on the walls to cover up the boxed-in internal window. We had a very narrow window overlooking the rooftop below that was covered in wine bottles, and the flyscreen was ripped out and flapping in the breeze. We had a small ensuite bathroom which was so unclean we had to ask reception for a bottle of disinfectant to clean it ourselves. I have never felt so unclean and unhappy with somewhere to stay. Please dont stay here - it is so gross!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    10
    9
    18
See reviews for
2
10
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

had loads of fun at sundancers in 2010!! shame they kept a few idiots stay there! but overall really cool staff and good bar! good home feel, and has a swimming pool which is great for the really hot days! loved it and would recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is the worse hostel we have stayed thus far. Thank goodness we only stayed for 1 night back in March 2009. The shared kitchen and bathrooms were filthy! As if that wasn't bad enough, we couldn't sleep in peace the whole night because of the noise (there was no house rules to keep noise down in the hostel after hours.

The only good point is their location. It is just a 10 minutes walk from the hostel to Shed C, a jetty where you take a ferry ride to Rottnest Island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertaleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed with a few mates for a couple of nights in a dorm upstairs.
Centrally located in Fremantle.
I love cooking and eating with friends......they;ve got a big kitchen and long group tables outside for dining.
Hostel looks quite funky and colourful......a few spots need a touch up of paint but that's about the worst of it!
Basically good spot ot meet people and see Fremantle from.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianonhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed here for my first time in Australians hostels and what a pleasure it was. Greeted by a smiling face on reception was a great help as my partner had just flown back to England that morning. Everyone there was super friendly even when I asked for an extra blanket. Having free ping pong, Wii games, DVD player in a seperate area to the TV lounge is great. Free internet was an absolute bonus, it's not too fast but when your backpacking who worries about time!!!! The rooms & bathrooms were clean and spacious, A really good time was had and I would highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanrahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Great location, good staff, poor standards. Rooms are dirty, beds need replacing, kitchen is dirty and not enough storage.
This hostel has the potential to be great, it just needs a bit of work.
There are a lot of long term guests, so the place is very cliquey, so can be hard to meet people.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

this place is huge and feels a bit like an old boarding school, there are so many people living there. but it is well managed and the atmosphere is lively, hip, and fun. i wandered in off the street with my backpack and without booking, but was accommodated on the spot by cheery staff. there's a bar downstairs with reasonably priced drinks and a pool in the back. i was only there for one night so didn't get to partake in any of the activities, but i reckon the BBQs are probably quite fun. they have several fixed computer stations with free internet AND a free cable you can hook into your own laptop for free as well (which became crucial when i had a bit of emergency work i had to get done on the fly). if you're looking for an intimate place that is small and cozy, this isn't it, but if you're looking for more of a hustle and bustle scene with lots of other backpackers, a good social scene, and is still comfortable and clean to boot, then you've come to the right place. the location couldn't be better either, right off one of the main streets in freo and just steps away from the train station.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HibiscusByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Fremantle
Quest Fremantle
#4 of 26 in Fremantle
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fremantle Hostel
Fremantle Hostel
#5 of 26 in Fremantle
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundancer Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundancer Backpackers Resort

Property: Sundancer Backpackers Resort
Address: 80 High St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundancer Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This funky backpackers is located in a beautifully restored 110 year old heritage building situated in the heart of Fremantle. It's many features include large spacious rooms, SWIMMING POOL, cheap bar, 24 hour access, open plan kitchen with 4 separate cooking stations and numerous fridges, laundry, free pool tables and FREE WIFI. In the best cafe and entertainment area, close to all amenities, right near the famous Fremantle Markets, Bathers Beach, Maritime Museum & Sailing Boat Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sundancer Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing