We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Currently staying at this fab hotel. Second time in staying here. My partner been here since November. The staff have been very friendly towards us both and are making our stay here a very enjoyable one. A special thanks to a range of staff. Especially Paul Adams, Kylie, Meghan, Dasni, all the bar staff. And the rest of the staff who have been great. Also a very big thankyou to Sam. The room is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. Once again a fab hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LEAWILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

It is fantastic to read that our staff have impressed you and looked after you and your partner. I will defiantly pass on your thanks and praise to the staff you’ve mentioned here. I hope that you continue to enjoy your time in Fremantle; thank you for taking the time to review us.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

We chose this hotel because it belongs to the Rydges brand and so far our stays in this chain have been fantastic and we have their Priority Guest card. We needed a night's accommodation pre- cruise and so pre- purchased this option months in advance. At the time we thought it was very expensive compared to Rydges in New Zealand. So we had high expectations from the website photos and the cost that it would be a wow place to stay. It did not wow us!
The hotel was like a rabbit warren with very poor signage to assist you to your room and out of your room to the lobby. There was one small lift that barely took two people and suitcases. The corridors are long and bland-the carpet looked very tired and worn. Our room was functional and at least the bed was comfortable for a good nights sleep. The room had a balcony opening onto the central enclosed courtyard which meant it was quiet at night. A very standard hotel room that should be sold in the $150 a night rather than $250+ a night rate.
Reception on arrival was OK. Checkout was easy and it was great to be able to store our bags until it was time to board our cruise. The concierge ordered us a taxi very promptly.
A handy location to the downtown area and cruise port are this hotel's assets.

Room Tip: A room facing into the courtyard was very quiet on an otherwise noisy Saturday night in Fremantle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review; we welcome all types of feedback from our guests. I’m glad to read that you are part of the Rydges Priority Guest Rewards program which meant that you would have taken advantage of great discounts on your room and in our restaurants and bar. We try to keep our costs in line with the Perth market to remain competitive therefore a comparison to New Zealand prices will be quite different. It is disappointing to read that you were unable to follow the signage around the Hotel; I will take this on board and review. The lift you mention is just one lift of four in the Hotel, this one in particular takes you to our Southern Cross wing and is on the list of our ongoing upgrade program although the size is not an issue for most guests. Great to hear that your checkout process was smooth and that our concierge was helpful for you.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is my second stay at Esplanade; the previous one a long while ago. It is still looking pretty good. I had stayed in several Rydges around the world but Esplanade was great. Location is excellent- within walking distance to many landmarks, historic buildings and restaurants. Room is neat, spacious and regularly maintained even if room décor is a little dated. Staff at front counter, concierge, laundry, room service, housekeeping were helpful and made guest stays homewarming. There is always the cheerful smile. Attended a 2-day conference in the same venue, the logistics was fantastic. Business centre services are available to all free-of-charge. A somewhat small pool is available for a quick swim if one wishes, though surrounded within by the hotel buildings and watched by diners if you don't mind. The room is well-stocked and replenished; it would be better if toothbrushes are provided (I travel real light). I was asked a few times by the housekeeper if I needed anything else; felt pampered. This is a top block hotel - I highly recommend for family or for business trips to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

I’m glad to read that our Hotel and staff have impressed you and made you feel welcome during your business trip. I agree that the room décor was in need of an update and since your stay we have started a refurbishment program to modernise our accommodation rooms. I’m so happy to read that our staff share their cheerful and friendly personalities with you during your stay; we certainly have a great team. It’s a shame that you only found one of our pools as we have another larger resort pool just around the corner from the one you describe; perhaps when you stay next time you’ll give that a go. Also, next time please do not hesitate to ask the housekeeper for a toothbrush.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We rented two bikes for a week to go cycling daily. These were delivered to the hotel. The assistant manager and concierge were very helpful taking the bikes, looking after them and getting them out for us whenever we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble. It made the stay so easy and enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RosannePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

What a fantastic idea to hire bikes, Fremantle is a great place to cycle around with everything you could want within an easy distance. Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and I’m so glad to read that our team looked after your specific needs. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times but it has been some time since my last stay. I must say it is looking better than I remember it having had a good Renovation in the rooms. The halls still look interesting (coloured doors) but I was very impressed with my room.

The best part of this hotel is however it's location. It is so close to everything Fremantle has. Good places to eat or enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: Keep away from the road rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback and I’m so glad to read that as a regular you are enjoying the refurbishments that we have completed so far. The coloured doors in the corridors are a way to connect to the floating artwork in the atrium area of the Hotel lobby and bring some of the bright, fun, Fremantle festival atmosphere throughout the Hotel. Glad you enjoy the great location and I hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I always wanted to stay in Fremantle. I booked this hotel through Wotif after reading the reviews. And I have to say that this hotel deserves all those high marks. The facilities are very good. The room was well stocked, tea/coffee/milk available and replenished daily.
Great location. Close to everything. Lots of restaurants and boutique shops. Valet parking is expensive, but convenient. There is a possibility to park on the street for the fraction of the price.
Swimming pool, spa and sauna are great additions to the hotel facilities. Gym is a little bit outdated, but basic machines are available.
I would like to express my gratitude to the staff of the hotel and particularly the housekeeper, who was very helpful and highly professional in dealing with my unusual request. I forgot my private phone in the room safe almost three weeks ago. I contacted hotel last week and they managed to locate my phone (still in the safe) and post it to me. I received it yesterday.
Thank you so much for doing that. This is what I call great customer service.

Room Tip: The corridors are very long. Ask for a room close to reception. Noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Moorusha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

I’m so glad to read that we were able to locate your phone and return it to you safely. I certainly agree that we have a great team who are willing to help our guests wherever possible. Thank you so much for your great feedback and it’s great to know that our guests are enjoying all the facilities the Hotel provides but also getting out and about in this great city to experience the shopping and attractions. I agree with your sentiments regarding the gym and this is something that we are currently reviewing; I can assure you that it is on our upgrade plan. I hope that we will see you in Fremantle again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Since joining Rydges group we have stayed here more often to enjoy member benefits. Centrally located to everything we wish to do south of the river. Excellent buffet breakfasts and dinners. Great bar. Member discounts apply to rooms, meals and drinks. Love it.
A little pricy, but isn't everything in Perth/Fremantle? No complaints on amenities provided, especially WiFi and Valet parking.

Room Tip: We've stayed in many rooms. I like best the ones with balcony to outside world - but not on gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyWren6398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

It’s great to read that you've joined Rydges Priority Guest Rewards and are taking advantage of the great benefits. Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel in particular I’m glad you’re enjoying the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and the Marine Lounge Bar. As you've mentioned we try to keep our costs in line with the market to remain competitive and offer free WI-FI to everyone and the extra discounts for our Priority Guest Rewards members to provide extra value to our guests.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.4 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: $131 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing