We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reception!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a meeting in Fremantle, and it was our first trip to Perth. Quite tired when we arrived at the hotel, as we took an early flight. It was wonderful to meet with the staff at the reception, Dasni, who was so considerate and helpful. Well done, Dasni:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonder F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind note on Dasni at reception, she is a star on the front desk and we get many great comments that highlight her natural and sincere service approach; I am hopeful this is something that we will deliver with all the team with ongoing training..

Kind regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel end June 2014 n it's winter.stayed at room 119 with street view. Hotel exterior is a nice colonial building in white which is pretty and hard to miss.

Pros:
1. Excellent location, it's basically in the middle of everything, it's facing esplanade n short walk to harbour, also within walking distance to lots of restaurant, from Italian, pub, bar, Vietnam, Japanese etc, you will be spoilt for choice
2. Free wifi for all customer which is great! And their wifi connection is quite fast
3. Check in was fast n uneventful
4. Design of minibar is cool n the selection is very personalized to the hotel

Cons:
1. Freezing in the room, Max temperature is 23 degree n still freezing. We asked if there is any portable heater but were directed to buy from woolsworth.
2. Room door is not really soundproof so can basically hear what's going on in the room at the hotel corridor.
3. Coin operated laundry only open 6am-9pm, at many times we wanted to wash clothes at the end of the day but it's closed already.
4. Amenities in room are basic, only provide towel , soap,shampoo, sanitary bag and shower cap. Was expecting to provide toothbrush, toothpaste and comb.
5. International adapter is available for hire at $10
6. Be careful with bathtub, need adjust water on your own to prevent the water from flowing out as the bathtub does not have the holes to remove water when water level gets too high

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

I was pleased to read you enjoyed many of the services and facilities of the hotel including the very popular location in Fremantle. I was concerned to read your note that a staff member may have stated to get a portable heater from Woolworths, I am hoping this was a misunderstanding on their behalf as this would certainly not be the attitude I would expect from the front desk team. I understand there were some issues with the heating in certain rooms in the last month that the maintenance team were working on with the central boiler, I am advised this issue was resolved but will speak to them again to ensure this is the case. The reason there are time limits on the laundry use is to ensure guests in the neighbouring rooms do not get disturbed by the plant noise after 9pm. There are other amenities available for guests if required such as a toothbrush etc, these are kept at housekeeping and front desk should a guest forget any of these items when traveling.

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel and found it to be of a good 4 star standard. As they are only one of a few hotels in Fremantle they can really name their price which for me was nearly $300 a night then another $29 to park my car. Not good value for what you get in other major cities in Australia but you can't blame them if they can get away with it. The hotel itself is quite nice room is as per 4 star standard bordering on 4.5 star. I am staying in Fremantle a fair bit lately mostly with Fremantle Executive apartments which are good. I mentioned this as I have frequented The Esplanades bar on most Friday nights for their happy hour which is good middies of Pure Blonde $4 which is cheap for Fremantle. They opened a new bar at the front which also should be good when summer comes as it is outside and its cold here at the moment. Overall it is as good as most hotels with the same star rating I just reckon it is expensive to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

It was pleasing to see you generally enjoyed your stay at the hotel albeit not appreciating value for money. The hotel enjoys a great location in the heart of Fremantle; combined with its 4.5 star status, convention facilities and up market services compared to some of the competitors still maintains a very competitive rate in comparison to other hotels/low service apartments in the area. There are also specials published regularly that seasoned travelers take advantage of, in particular long stay guests who may want to enjoy a 24hr serviced hotel with resort swimming pools, room service and the food and beverage facilities over serviced apartments nearby. Pleasing to see you enjoy the happy hour discounts at Marine Lounge Bar; we will be looking forward to the corner pub the Ball & Chain re-opening in Sept.Oct this year..be amazing!

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a 10-day honeymoon in Perth and Fremantle was our first stop. Compared to the tourist precincts such as Margaret River and Perth City (as well as the other Australian cities like Melbourne and Sydney etc), Freo's service in general is truly the worst of the lot, unfortunately.

Subtle underlying tones of racial prejudice at the front desk upon check-in but we willed ourselves to ignore it so as not to ruin our holiday among other lapses in service. You just need to let things go. Hotel personnel just want to trudge through the day and get it over with. Hence, do not expect any form of friendliness but if you do get some friendly treatment, great!

The hotel retained colonial architecture on its exterior, which was an excellent idea as it makes the hotel blend in with the rest of picturesque Fremantle really nicely. On its interior, it is a normal layout and design with carpeted flooring, picture frames (but of Fremantle's history!) on the walls lining the corridors and a lift serving 4 floors of rooms.

But that is not what the Esplanade Fremantle is good for.

What gives you your money's worth is the hotel's location and wifi. It is a walking distance to all of the shopping and eating areas, market and cappuccino strip in Freo. Directly opposite the hotel are the harbours, Little Creatures (great for beer) and eateries by the ships and boats!
Very pretty suburban place with a lot of history, we say!

Wifi is very strong and stable. I was happily uploading pictures onto facebook every night without any interruption.

We rented a car for our 10-day trip and parking was extremely easy. Parking lots are more spacious than those in the city. We managed to get a lot just outside of the hotel every night. It is cheaper than using the hotel valet service, moreover, a great way to use up your coins! Free parking from 1am - 9am. Just make sure you do not have any valuables lying around visibly in your car and keep your GPS hidden as well. That should prevent your car from being targeted. After all, there is only so much one can do to prevent incidents when one does not want to pay for hotel parking, yes?

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klimblim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

I was deeply concerned to read your comments that the front desk showed any racial prejudice when you were checking in. The hotel has a broad variety of nationalities employed from all corners of the globe, including SE Asia, Africa, Sri Lanka, India, Europe to name a few, then this further expands when looking at other departments and caters for international clientele from all of these countries and more on a daily basis and I assure you that all the the team including the front office manager who has Asian decent are not in anyway racist in their attitude to guests or their fellow colleagues. The hotel has a zero tolerance for such behavior and takes such claims very seriously.

I am glad you enjoyed the use of the free hi speed WiFi and your stay in Fremantle. I wouldn't recommend parking your car out on the street to save a few dollars at night time as the hotel cannot take any responsibility if it is broken into and the inconvenience of stolen items as it may happen in any city; in particular rental cars that are usually targeted by thieves.

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is within 5 mins walk to Fremantle markets and they open late on Friday nights. We parked just beside the hotel and it was hourly parking until 1am. From 1am to 8am, parking is free. But the daytime hourly charges were higher. Wifi signal was good at this hotel. There were 7 of us including 2 elderly and 2 toddlers but there was no one to help us with our luggages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitsune_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

We have a great location in Fremantle, close walking distance to everything to enjoy especially with a family and walking around the city. There is usually at least 2 porter/valet on duty during off-peak and more during peak times, I am unsure why there wasn't anyone at the desk when you arrived other than they may have all been getting cars or assisting other guests at the time. The front desk would have been able to hold our luggage until they returned to assist on check in if you required this service. I hope this did not impact your stay and you were able to relax during your visit.

Kind regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

After arriving and given the room on the first floor next to the car park with window opening to a brick wall.we complained and we're moved to 3rd floor overlooking esplanade...Ah better we thought. .until we got out of the lift..you are hit with a wall of stench..damp..something off.deeply offensive....takes your breathe away. .but carries up the hallway. .Thankfully our room 303 doesn't smell. Decor is very tired and shabby..corridors remind me of a hostel...otherwise rest of hotel fine...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kimmykojak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Very sorry to see you encountered the damp smell issue on level 3 of the hotel; seeing the room you stayed in I understand the hotel did have a leak form the heavy rains about when you stayed with a storm water drain that failed. I have forwarded your comment onto maintenance and HK to ensure they have actioned this item, as it would seem the carpet may not have dried out completely before reselling the rooms near where you stayed. I assure you this is not a normal circumstance and do take the hygiene and cleanliness very seriously.

Kind regards

David Bornmann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Awesome place to stay. From our first experience of asking for a room it was all smiles and helpful advice we had a 4th floor room with balcony,great views,breakfast's were great. Beer was cold and the jazz on Sunday was pleasing to listen to.

Room Tip: Ask for 4 th floor with a balcony. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Glad you enjoyed the stay and the room you were allocated. The Jazz Shiraz Sunday's has been very popular and guests really take in the relation of being in a city by the harbour. 4th Floor facing the park has some good views of the Mariner and park, worthwhile asking if you can get one next stay..

Kind regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.4 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: $131 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing