We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Waite Park, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It worked for us.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was a member of an expedition team of 14 who stayed at the Esplanade before and after our sea voyage. Our rooms were fine. We had no difficulty with noise and everything was clean. The staff was courteous and helpful. The location is ideal, being close to seaside restaurants and the shopping strip. Like everything else we found in Perth and Fremantle, it was expensive. I guess that's the price of an economic boom (mining). For us it was a good location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larph_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Glad to hear you had a relaxing stay before your sea trip, the location is great for these types of activities and hopefully you were able to enjoy being near the cafe strip and the mariner areas. The costs are reviewed in the hotel regularly and we do try to keep them reasonable within the market. Appreciate you pointing this out however and we will constantly be looking at these items, the mining boom is over and I believe rates in hotels amongst other areas are showing signs of coming down in the WA area.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    653
    298
    91
    36
See reviews for
223
735
61
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were staying at hotel as part of a wedding party & reception being held at Rydges. There was a boxing tournament on so the place was packed. We found check in long and only 1 person attending to task. Although the room had been booked 6 months earlier and was part of a wedding deal when we arrived at our room it was not as booked. The bride had gone to great lengths to arrange it perfectly-the hotel had got more than 1 of the party's booking incorrect. The room was ok but for 4 star raring not so. The food and drinks, as all establishments in Western Australia, was expensive . Breakfast was good. Our biggest shock was parking fee $29 per night-which is way over the top!! We therefore had to park our hire car in a car park opposite. Hotel was clean & pleasant but we all felt it too expensive for what they offered.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool or esplanade-we ended up overlooking a roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themotherdingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
So sorry to hear that we messed up your reservation on the special occasion, it certainly can be frustrating when these small items can occur in a professional business that make such a big impact to the guest! Will definitely share this with the front office team to ensure they realise the importance of checking bookings more thoroughly. The secure valet parking rates are reasonable when in comparison to the inconvenience and restrictions of nearby parking to the hotel. We do try to keep these costs down however. Hopefully we will have you back with us again in the future, we are always doing our best to improve the product and experience for our valued guests in Fremantle!

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a well positioned hotel, great spot. Had an early check in and the lady said we had a nice quiet room.

Our troubles started when the people in the room next door started using their spa. Sounded like someone was drilling through the adjoining wall. Reception did not seem surprised. They rang the people and the noise stopped shortly thereafter, only to start again later on. We did not complain again, if there is a spa in your room, you should be able to use it.

The room was tired, hotel looks tired.

Was very noisy, we will not stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, the noise is like a building site when the spa starts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxD859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for raising the issue with what is thought to be the spa jet noise from next door, will investigate this phenomenon with the housekeeping and maintenance team as this has not come to my attention before. Sorry to see you wont be back with us again.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I travel quite a bit for work and every time our team flys to Perth, the Esplanade is our choice of property to stay at.

The rooms are large and always clean, location wise you can't go wrong with everything just mins walk away.

Buffet breakfast of a morning is great and I love that they have a juicer where you can make your own fresh vegetable juice.

Great hotel and staff have always been very accommodating. Look forward to our next return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheFlyingReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Nice - was really good to see the hotel location is ideal for your needs and the team and facilities bring you back as a welcome regular to the property...ensure you let us know if you need anything when here to make your stay more comfortable.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This a large hotel in the centre of Fremantle - great location walking distance to almost everything.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are quite small but no smaller than a standard hotel room I guess.
I would recommend to stay here mainly because of the great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Appreciate the review of the hotel and that you enjoyed the superior location we enjoy at the hotel. The rooms size do differ a little due to the age of the hotel and the number of additions it has had over the past 100 years, generally they are 25sqm plus, as per the AAA guidelines for a 4.5 star property. I am glad you found the stay enjoyable and hope we see you back again.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Dasni @ front reception was excellent, providing a warm smile and nothing was too difficult. All staff were extremely friendly, very genuine and always happy to help. The hotel is perfectly positioned across from parklands,a large ferris wheel and eateries by the sea.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dasni was the hotel rising star recipient last year, she is a great asset to the hotel and i use her example constantly to the other team to follow her lead in genuine guest service, glad you enjoyed her attitude and delivery and was very kind of you to recognise her...

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We picked this location as it is very central to Fremantle. We arrived to find a bouquet of flowers had been gifted by the manager as we were celebrating out anniversary. Everything went uphill from here on in, the staff were friendly and seemed to be happy in their working environment. The service was excellent, the cleanliness off the room and the rest of the hotel were of excellent standard. Overall we had a really nice experience and will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Was really good to see you were treated well and recognised for the special occasion, it is these small touches that can make such a difference to a stay..hope we see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
418 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
20 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing