We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Parking”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice motel but they don't tell you about parking the cost ,and that you can't get to your car as it hotel policy that they have to go to your car .my husband couldn't find his wallet so he asked for the keys to go find it and they told us no that they had to do it,when we came to finalise out account they charged $30.00 a day to park your car which we were not told about or given any other option it's a bit tough as parking is very difficult

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed and not the four poster we had to change rooms as I have a bad back ,four p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for bringing this item to our attention, the parking information is noted on our website and the valet team also should have mentioned this prior to taking the keys from you when you pulled up including the @9 fee that is charged, which is part of their procedures. I will bring this up with them again! The need to either escort guests to their car if needed or offer to retrieve items themselves is again purely a policy for security so we don't have no employees accessing the area where other guests have their cars and belongings. It is also a safety item as it is classed as a back of house area not for public access. I am sorry this was inconvenient for your husband and will pass on this for better communication for the valet team.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    639
    295
    90
    36
See reviews for
218
724
61
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

excelent staff and very helpful , beautiful lay out, great selection of foods on buffet and excelent resturant meals....... great pool. my car was looked after during the valet process as well, very inpressed overall, the price was good too. will be choosing the Esplanade for all my future visits to Fremantle..... My wife & myself love the place

Room Tip: choose the spa room..... excelent value and privacy to have a romantic escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanTurkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
So good you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and services of the hotel! Nice recommendations for other travellers and thoughtful tips as well! Hope we see you back again for a relaxing weekend away.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights of the Do Not Disturb Package. Our room overlooked the pool with balcony, the bed and linen was luxurious, the bathroom was very nice and large size. We enjoyed every aspect of the hotels facilities including the pool, spa, gym and restaurants. Sitting outside at the front of the hotel having a few drinks and watching the world go by was a highlight. The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing and casual however the staff are nothing but professional and motivated to provide excellent customer service. The food was excellent. We utilised valet parking and the car was brought around quicker than we could get from our room to the front foyer. The hotel location is perfect with attractions and stores within walking distance - The coffee strip is well worth a look as is The Fremantle Markets. We will return to The Esplanade Hotel in the near future - our holiday was so good, we can't resist the place.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 overlooking the pool and had no issue with noise, water pressure etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
How nice to see you enjoyed your holiday at the hotel and taking advantage of one our good value deals is the way to go! It was also pleasing to see you had good customer service and the team were able to provide the service to ensure you had a comfortable stay. I hope we have you back with again for your next trip away.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We are staying here tonight on a recommendation....sadly disappointing - no one to greet as we pulled up outside the hotel - concierge totally ignored us and we had to go to reception to get assistance with valet parking. Check in was uneventful. One tiny lift - slow and clunky. Level 5 very shabby old carpets, uninviting and a bit creepy - desperately in need of renovation. Room ok - amenities minimal and only 1 towel each - to top it off one cant sit in bed and watch the tv because the whopping great gilt edged mirror hanging on the wall above the bed prohibits you sitting up. Pretty much the only thing going for this place that i can see is the location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Can appreciate your views on the hotel with your arrival and the lack of attention you received, wiil certainly discuss this with the front office team. the valet guys are generally on the ball when they are down there, not like them not to meet and greet on arrival. The rooms are a work in progress and will be working on this moving forward as we complete other projects that need attention.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had a good room overlooking one of the pools. The room was clean and modern and close to the dining area. The hotel is that big that you could end up being a good couple of hundred metres away from the main foyer. During the stay my colleagues attempted to hire a conference room for a day. The price was that exorbitant that we didn't bother in the end. This was bit of a disappointment in an otherwise great experience with the hotel. The bar is great and has indoor and outdoor facilities. The location of the hotel is second to none. I would highly recommend the location. The breakfast in the dining area is good.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the foyer otherwise you will be doing lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Was disappointing you were not given more options for our function room requirements as I know the conference sales team will do their best to meet budget restraints. I am not sure who it was you spoke with, but I apologise for this inconvenience. I hope we have you back again and please contact conference sales or myself it you have any meeting needs.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hodnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We picked this Hotel whilst planning our trip in the UK. We were visiting Australia to follow the Ashes tour and decided to have a break near the sea between the Perth and Melbourne test. We were not disappointed with the Esplanade. It was in a perfect location for all the attractions of Freemantle and a couple minutes walk from the fishing harbour with all its choice of bars and restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean with a balcony overlooking the pool. I agree with other guests comments that the floors do need decorating as look tired, but i did notice that the first floor looked better, so i think they are in the process of redecorating. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and we joined the loyalty scheme, which was free to join and this gave us discount off wifi, food and drink so is really worth doing. On our last night we had the buffet dinner, which was quite expensive but was well worth it, the choice and quality were excellent. We were really pleased we picked this hotel as had a brilliant time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chantrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Sorry to see you were over from the UK for the Ashes tour, I am sure the English team will get better in the future to secure this again one day. It was a great season and hope you had time to enjoy your break in Australia. As you have noted the corridors are in the process of being given a facelift, there a number of these type of projects underway and have been so since taking over the hotel last year, it will look very good when finished and hope you return to enjoy it one day.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely looking hotel from the outside and marketing, so I had high expectations. Unfortunately these were not met. The room was nice enough; it was clean and we had a balcony, but the corridor areas were tired and shabby and felt a little institutional. Trays and plates and so on from room service were also outside rooms for a long period of time - two days in the case of one room opposite and another down the corridor. Signs and so on in the hotel were not always clear. From our room we could access the spa and pool area via a fire exit, but the signs stopped mid way between the stairs and the exit!

I would also echo others comments about the attitude of reception staff. On the three occasions I spoke with reception, I felt that all had better things to do with their time than deal with my queries, checking in or out or worse still, asking for a taxi to be booked which although was offered as a service, made me feel rude for asking!

The pool area was nice but one jacuzzi was broken and some gym equipment was not well maintained - one bike didn't work and another was temperamental.

We didn't eat here as seemed rather expensive and we were keen to explore the local area which was lovely and the hotel was well placed for this.

In summary, disappointing. It did not feel like a four star establishment and certainly sells itself as a much higher pitch than the reality. That said I would stay here again, but don't expect the luxury the marketing would lead you to believe.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny80_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Sorry you were unable to locate the pool at the hotel, there are two pools, the larger resort pool located centrally on the ground floor in the heart of the hotel normally is easy to locate and will review the new signage to ensure it is clear for everyone, It sounds like the gym equipment needs attention and have passed this onto the maintenance manager to ensure it being checked regularly. There have been a few comments regarding the reception personnel as you have noted that have been addressed, I would probably not generalise that this is common however is a concern that you have also needed to make note of this item and will get looked at with some more training with the staff in the area. I also would say the marketing and photos which have been recently taken are not misleading and show exactly how the hotel is currently with further work pending this year.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
411 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
11 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,509 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing